We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

No.1 By GuestHouse, York

avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (535)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (27)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 52 hotels in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2023 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
A boutique hotel in the heart of York just a 10-minute walk from York Minster. The building is a Grade II Listed Regency townhouse with sash windows, high ceilings, a sweeping central staircase, and ivy around the door. Inside you’ll find pantries stocked full of treats, great restaurant food throughout the day, drinks from the bar and a spa centred on bespoke therapies. There’s 39 bedrooms, including three suites that are dotted around the building’s three floors. Each one has its quirks courtesy of the building’s heritage detailing. The rooms feature a flat-screen Smart TV, tea/coffee making facilities, an iron and hairdryer in the wardrobe. The spa sits down in the arches of the cellar. It’s a cocooning world of bespoke wellbeing experiences. There are five treatment rooms, including a room for two. And a soothing space for post-treatment relaxation. And the chefs craft dishes from breakfast through to supper and the bar team serves all day. GuestHouse are passionate about creating special experiences and for those wanting to book a larger space, No.1 is home to The Bootham Room, a private dining space, ideal for a larger family lunch, weekend get together with a dozen friends, or a celebratory event. A paid private car park is located on site. York Railway Station can be reached in 15 minutes by foot.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Spa
Newspaper
Parking
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Business
544Reviews3Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 500
  • 29
  • 7
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Conor M wrote a review 27 Feb
11 contributions1 helpful vote
This is a truely lovely hotel. My wife and myself stayed here last Sunday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Its located only a 10/15 minute walk to the city centre so perfect location. On site parking available. The rooms itself was lovely, gigantic bed, nice little quirks like doll house and record player, also under floor heating in the bathroom. The addition of the pantry full of goodies is also excellent. Would defintely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking available but must book in advance
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bebeblubelle wrote a review 24 Feb
Scotland14 contributions1 helpful vote
After a pants start to the year and having never been to York. We found this place and loved it. Super friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere (not at all stuffy!) The room was amazing and found a lovely handwritten personal note on the bed with a treat. Super comfy bed and pillows too. The lovely quirky small touches made such a difference to our two nights. Within a stones throw from the city and an easy walk. We both had an amazing massage in the beautiful spa downstairs. Absolute Bliss. Food was great too!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: For an alternative walk into the city follow the road down at the side of No 1 and to the river -...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Suzanne Newman, Other at No.1 By GuestHouse, York
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Bebeblubelle Many thanks for your kind comments - much appreciated! So sorry to hear about the rough start to your year, we very much hope it continues to improve. Best wishes Suzanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jo1234873 wrote a review 18 Feb
Valencia, Spain2 contributions
We stayed at No.1 to celebrate our wedding with family. We couldn't fault the hotel at all. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating, decor and rooms are amazing and food is great. Would recommend and looking forward to trying some of their other locations! We didn't try the spa area but it looked lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Hunter, General Manager at No.1 By GuestHouse, York
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jo Thanks for the 5 star review and wonderful feedback. Its great to see reviews like this where guests have celebrated weddings with us. We are very proud to be part of your special day. Hoping it wont be too long before we see you again. For the best rates dont hesitate to contact me directly. Best wishes, Paul Hunter General Manager paul@guesthousehotels.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kara M wrote a review 18 Feb
7 contributions
My husband and I lived in York for about a year and #1 was literally our favorite place not only for dinner but just for an evening with drinks. We went there regularly after playing golf or tennis when it was always on the way. We had to go away for a while for work, but when we returned to York, I decided that this was the first place I definitely needed to go to after the break. But when I went with a friend for a few cocktails this evening, we were met with absolute rudeness. Before ordering drinks, my friend and I decided to take a couple of photos with my handheld camera, which is not a professional one, after taking just a few shots, a girl who apparently works at the hotel comes up to us and, without introducing herself, asks us about other visitors who are also sat in this room, but at the other end they did not get into our frame, to which we replied that yes, of course, the camera is aimed in the other direction from them and if you doubt it, we can show you the photos, but interrupting me, a woman of about 45 at the next table began to assert aggressively and in a raised tone that, in principle, the flash was bothering her and that this was happening, although the camera was manual and the flash was the same as on a phone. But seeing how the guest is literally spitting saliva from aggression, and the girl administrator looks terribly confused and clearly feels uncomfortable, although I would like her to intervene and calm the unbalanced person a little, but no, we were simply asked to stop filming and wait until they will leave. Although we did not break any rules and were ready to make concessions, we simply had to leave with a disgusting mood and a ruined day, as if we had broken some kind of law. Thank you for a wonderful evening and a wonderful return to York!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Hunter, General Manager at No.1 By GuestHouse, York
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Reviewer I am disappointed that in your frustration you felt it necessary to post a 1 star review of our hotel, considering you didn't actually stay at the hotel, or experience our restaurant? A real shame, considering you mention we was previously your favourite place. It does seem rather odd to me that you would go to such great lengths to ridicule us, and accuse my staff of being rude, when i am certain this was not the case. What i understand to have actually happened is, you entered the hotel, and proceeded to start taking photos in the lounge with a flash, which was disturbing paying guests who were dining, you was asked to stop by the guests as it was disrupting them, and you didnt. My colleague who you refer to as rude, is anything but rude, and i totally disagree with this comment. She is a genuinely kind and caring individual who goes the extra mile to make our guests and customers feel at ease. Additionally, I'm not sure how you can rate our location as of 1/5 - its a real shame that TripAdvisor are unable to remove this review, and see it for what it really is. For all other users of TripAdvisor - I hope you can now see on reflection that this review is somewhat unfair and unjust considering we as a business did very little wrong in this situation, and the reviewer, specifically made an account to leave this feedback.. Yours, Paul Hunter General Manager paul@guesthousehotels.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Beth L wrote a review 17 Feb
1 contribution
+1
Beautiful hotel and staff couldn’t be more helpful and friendly! Every detail is so well thought out to make this the most relaxing and best hotel experience I’ve ever had. We used the bag pick up service from the station which was on time and efficient (great idea so you can explore York straight away). When we got to the hotel we were met with a friendly welcome and a thorough talk about our stay (they really do go the extra mile here). We’d booked to celebrate Valentine’s Day and our anniversary and found a complimentary bottle of fizz in our room. I’d read some reviews about it being noisy in the rooms by the pantry to I’d requested a quiet room - which they were happy to organise for us. The room itself was beautiful and clean. Huge comfy bed, record player, coffee machine, gorgeous free standing bath tub and waterfall shower and lovely toiletries. We chose to have breakfast in bed ordered from the pearly cow (which was dreamy). My one issue was with the eggs Benedict as the Hollandaise sauce was far too lemony which meant they were not enjoyable (luckily you get a lot of other elements for breakfast). I made full use of our late check out and booked a spa treatment - the relaxing atmosphere in the spa is to die for and the massage therapist was friendly. We will definitely be returning to this hotel as it is by far my new favourite in the UK.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Hunter, General Manager at No.1 By GuestHouse, York
Responded 1 week ago
Wow, that is high praise! - Thank you for the wonderful review! We thoroughly look forward to welcoming you back again. And remember for the best rates dont hesitate to contact me directly. Best wishes, Paul Hunter General Manager paul@guesthousehotels.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rob D wrote a review 17 Feb
2 contributions1 helpful vote
An hotel with character with excellent customer service and a welcoming feeling. Food in The Pearly Cow is to a high standard. The location was ideal as only 10 minute walk to The Minster. Overall good value for money. Park up in the hotels car park and enjoy the walk!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Hunter, General Manager at No.1 By GuestHouse, York
Responded 1 week ago
Hi there Thanks for the 5 star review! I do love the title, what is not to like! I must say, thats great to read! Im glad that we helped you have a great stay, and i hope we can welcome you back soon. Remember for the best rates dont hesitate to get in touch. Yours, Paul Hunter General Manager paul@guesthousehotels.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lesleyjf18 wrote a review 12 Feb
Liverpool, United Kingdom20 contributions48 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel with friendly staff in a great location just 10 minutes walk from York centre. We stayed in one of the Guest Rooms, larger than expected and exactly as seen in the photos, bright and airy with sumptuous bedding and pillows, there was even a large free-standing bath in the en-suite, as well as a large shower! Breakfast in the Pearly Cow was delicious and definitely worth the £20 cost! Would recommend afternoon tea in the Marmalade lounge if you want a real treat, not cheap but worth it just to sit in such beautiful surroundings. Also a cocktail in the bar is a must! Would highly recommend this hotel if you want a little bit of luxury!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Suzanne Newman, Other at No.1 By GuestHouse, York
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Lesleyjf18 Many thanks for wonderful recommendation! So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Suzanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NickyPHughenden wrote a review 10 Feb
Maidenhead, United Kingdom364 contributions184 helpful votes
Perfect location and great staff I chose this hotel as we like boutique hotels and the location was great. We had room 40… the bedroom was nice a little small but I requested a bath and the bathroom was lovely. Beds super comfortable. Had dinner in the pearly cow which was really nice… and both breakfasts were excellent. Love the little quirky things.. a train set above the bar. The pantry! Where you can help yourself to crisps, drinks, sweets and cake. We had a lovely stay..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking at the back but you need to book
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Hunter, General Manager at No.1 By GuestHouse, York
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Nicky Thanks for the 5 star review! It really makes my day reading our guest feedback! Im glad you enjoyed your experience across the hotel and the restaurant. For the best rates on future stays dont hesitate to contact me directly. Hoping we can welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Paul Hunter General Manager paul@guesthousehotels.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ian C wrote a review 9 Feb
2 contributions
We loved this hotel. It's been tastefully designed and decorated with extremely friendly staff. The food is nice and provided by the Pearly Cow restaurant which is attached to the hotel. There is a great bar and a comfortable sitting room where afternoon tea can be taken. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a kettle and coffee machine and there is a pantry where guests can help themselves to cake, fruit, sweets or crisps if they get peckish during the day. They also provide umbrellas if it rains and some bikes for those who wish to explore on two wheels. In summary, its friendly, fun and good value.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Hunter, General Manager at No.1 By GuestHouse, York
Responded 1 week ago
Dear iancP4056EZ Thanks for taking time to review your stay with us, and for the 5 stars! Its great to read you had a lovely time in both the hotel and the restaurant, Pearly Cow. I hope we can welcome you back soon. For the best rates on future stays dont hesitate to contact me directly. Best wishes, Paul Hunter General Manager paul@guesthousehotels.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Georgina wrote a review 5 Feb
3 contributions
+1
The most gorgeous hotel we've stayed in. So warm and welcoming and very relaxing. The whole place felt luxurious and calm. We went to celebrate our 10th anniversary and to relax before our second baby arrives and it couldn't have been any better. In the perfect location to explore York too. Would highly recommend. I also used the Spa and experienced the best pregnancy massage in the converted wine cellars - the most relaxed I've ever been!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Hunter, General Manager at No.1 By GuestHouse, York
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Georgina, Thanks for taking time to review your stay with us. Its great to see you had a 5 star stay, and that you chose us to celebrate your special occassions. I hope we can welcome you back soon. For the best rates on future stays dont hesitate to contact me directly. Best wishes, Paul Hunter General Manager paul@guesthousehotels.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the York area.
PRICE RANGE
£115 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NO.1 BY GUESTHOUSE, YORK - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about No.1 By GuestHouse, York
Which popular attractions are close to No.1 By GuestHouse, York?
Nearby attractions include Treasure Hunt York (0.3 miles), Sore Thumb Retro Games (0.3 miles), and York Art Gallery (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at No.1 By GuestHouse, York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at No.1 By GuestHouse, York?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at No.1 By GuestHouse, York?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at No.1 By GuestHouse, York?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to No.1 By GuestHouse, York?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe No.8 Bistro, Love Cheese, and TAAS Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at No.1 By GuestHouse, York?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at No.1 By GuestHouse, York?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to No.1 By GuestHouse, York?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (1.2 miles), Holy Trinity Church (0.5 miles), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (0.7 miles).
Is No.1 By GuestHouse, York accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.