No.1 By Guesthouse, York
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

No.1 By Guesthouse, York

Interesting main staircase
Traveller (618)
Margot loved the room!  So did we!!
Room & Suite (72)
Breakfast
Dining (34)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 53 hotels in York
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
A boutique hotel just a 10-minute walk from York Minster. The building is a Grade II Listed Regency townhouse with sash windows, high ceilings, a sweeping central staircase, and ivy around the door. Inside you’ll find pantr stocked full of treats, great restaurant food throughout the day, drinks from the bar and a spa centred on bespoke therapies. Each has its quirks courtesy of the building’s heritage detailing. The rooms feature a flat-screen Smart TV, tea/coffee making facilities, an iron and hairdryer in the wardrobe. The spa sits down in the arches of the cellar. It’s a cocooning world of bespoke wellbeing experiences. There are five treatment rooms, including a room for two. And a soothing space for post-treatment relaxation.No.1 is home to The Bootham Room, a private dining space, ideal for a larger family lunch, weekend get together or a celebratory event. A paid private car park is located on site.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Spa
24-hour security
Parking
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Romantic

Location

1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA England
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 86 out of 100
86
Leeds-Bradford Airport
Doncaster Sheffield Airport
34.1 mi
See all flights
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles606 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

No.1 By Guesthouse in York earns high marks for its stylish and quirky atmosphere, with guests often commending the comfortable rooms equipped with unique amenities like record players. Despite some noting the walls are thin, the noise level is generally found to be minimal. Its prime location makes exploring York's attractions a breeze, and travelers are consistently impressed by the hotel's cleanliness and the meticulous attention to detail. While opinions on value are mixed, the friendly and attentive staff receive widespread acclaim for their exceptional service.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Chic
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Noise level
Mixed
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Outstanding

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
606Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 558
  • 31
  • 8
  • 7
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Gastfreundschaft wrote a review Aug 2022
Southampton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A three day bank holiday stay was simply perfect at No 1, only 6 minutes from the st. Petergate wall, it has a perfect location. Conveniently, it has parking for more than a dozen cars. A stunning entrance hall welcomed us with a glass of fizz and a friendly checkin with Lizzie who was very helpful throughout our stay. . We were guided to our room by Neil, who seemed to be everywhere, a quick introduction to the pantry was a really nice touch, with cakes, icecream , sweets , crisps and popcorn on the house. The room was spacious, a quirky dollhouse , housing the kettle, nespresso machine etc. Good linen and towels, with bathrobes and nordic style, washable felt slippers. A DAB radio, good TV and a record player were a welcome addition , the vinyl being available just next to reception. We ate in the hotel the first night, good food although not cheap, was great quality. Breakfasts were in the same room, all very good. We ended each evening in the bar with its choo choo train encircling the room every 30 mins or so. A good selection of spirits, coktails and local bottled beers all served in a visually interesting and stimulating room decorated with arty porttraits and steam train theme. Our favourite room was the " Marmalade Lounge", a delightfully and sytlish lounge with comfy couches and bespoke artwork, this was good to simply read or take afternoon tea. We did not use the spa this time but will on our return when the winter nighst draw in the fires with be roaring.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Hunter, General Manager at No.1 By Guesthouse, York
Responded 3 Sept 2022
Hi Gastfreundschaft Thanks for taking time to leave such a detailed and glowing review. You are absolutely right, our location is perfect. Short walk into town, but just far enough out for peace and quiet, and that more luxury feeling. We stock our rooms with little touches that we feel add to the guest experience, and then 'the pantry' this is all about being us being generous and you being indulgent. Im glad to read this was a hit. My favourite rooms is also the Marmalade Lounge, simply stunning. Great to read that you will be returning, i hope it wont be too long until we can welcome you back. For the best rates dont hesitate to contact me directly. Regards, Paul Hunter General Manager paul.h@guesthousehotels.co.uk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thomas T wrote a review Dec 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my wife stay in York every Christmas, we decided to try the no.1 guesthouse this year following its recent refurbishment.

We was blown away, on our arrival we was presented with a glass of champagne each and made to feel very welcome from all the staff members.

We sat and had drinks in the bar which with its open fire, nice back ground music and again welcoming staff we didn’t even end up venturing out for the night.

After drinks we enjoyed a gorgeous meal in the candle lit restaurant, all the food was amazing and very well priced.

The room was lovely, very spacious with some lovely attention to detail right down to the dolls house with the in built coffee machine and dimmable led light to create a nice ambiance light to complete the evening.

We will 100% be booking again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Hunter, General Manager at No.1 By Guesthouse, York
Responded 27 Dec 2021
Dear Thomas, Thanks for the awesome 5 star review! A comp glass of English fizz on arrival is one of the many perks of booking direct! Not to mention, later check out, and 10% off at dinner. Im pleased you liked our restaurant lighting, we feel its really important in setting the scene. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Paul
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Harry09 wrote a review Dec 2022
Doncaster, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely!

We stayed for a night whilst visiting friends, when we checked in the receptionist was so welcoming and helpful instantly making us feel at ease, and made us feel nothing was too much trouble.

The room was beautiful, the bed nice and big and comfy, absolutely loved that we had a record player in the room, and could help ourselves to records from reception, to and radio were also in the room. The bathroom was nice and spacious, and the entire room was spotless.

This hotel has all the little touches that just add to the experience, along with the record player mentioned, the tea and coffee facilities were in a little dolls house lit up which was lovely. Having use of the pantry was also a nice touch been able to just go help ourselves to drinks and snacks whenever, which isn’t something I’ve ever had in a hotel before.

Would definitely go back, and try the food and spa! Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Yasmin Myler, Guest Services / Front Office at No.1 By Guesthouse, York
Responded 4 Jan 2023
Thank you so much for your lovely review, top tip for you keep an eye on our website as we often have some great packages which include Spa and dining experience's or just contact me personally as I will always look after our beautiful returning guests. Happy New Year. Kindest regards Yasmin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
YorkWoody wrote a review Apr 2022
York, United Kingdom
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I decided to book this venue to host a very special surprise afternoon tea for a very dear colleague who was retiring, after looking at its website and reviews.
After being in contact with the events manager all sounded wonderful. She made me feel at ease, asking in great detail about my colleague ( full name, place of work she's retiring from, and number of years )
Then when we were finalising numbers , she ended the conversation by asking me if I'd like to be presented with the bill. I thought this sounded odd, but said yes. Then to my surprise on the confirmation email at the end it stated that I would be presented with the outstanding balance ( £250 ish) . I had presumed that each person would be able to pay individually as I've done this on many occasions at other venues. This sat very uneasy with me . I was asked to collect the money from the guests prior to attending, as they'd only be able to take one payment on the day! Leading up to and during the event I felt so uneasy and this did put a damper on this special occasion for me.
When the day arrived I expected to see some sort of display with the information I had been asked for on the retiree ,on the room entrance, but nothing was displayed.
The afternoon tea was booked for 1:30 and again on the email it stated we had until 3:30. The young weekend staff brought out the hot drinks , then it was nearly 2 pm until any of the food appeared. The cakes did look amazing, however the sandwiches were dry around the edges . The people with special dietary needs got beautiful afternoon tea served on traditional stands , whilst the others had platters.
Everyone was amazed by the interior of the hotel and grandeur. Lovely location too
Once time was up I approached the reception desk and asked if it was possible for everyone to pay individually, and to my surprise she very happily replied YES!!! OMG I'd had weeks of feeling so uncomfortable and stressed. This is one of the main reasons why I will definitely not be recommending and returning ( unless I'm just paying for myself !)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Hunter, General Manager at No.1 By Guesthouse, York
Responded 15 Apr 2022
Hi YorkWoody Thanks for reviewing your recent Group Afternoon tea booking with us - really disappointing to only receive 3 stars on the Hotels TripAdvisor page.. Im sorry to read you didnt think it was right to pay up front for such a large group booking. I believe this to be quite a common practise when a group is taking over 50% of the seating capacity in our afternoon tea lounge.. Apologies, that you didnt have a special display for the retiree, had this been requested we would have loved to have organised something, but as you did not request nor was it an exclusive use event we wouldn't do this. As some guests dont like to have their retirement announced to everyone in the hotel, and we always respect guests privacy! In regards to the platters, due to the numbers in your group, we felt this the best way to cater to everyone, having seen the photos, it all looked beautiful, so I'm sorry that you didnt feel this was to your liking, but it was done to make it easier for your group due to your numbers. As you know we are beautiful old building, and we try our best to cater to large groups so having 10 afternoon tea stands wouldn't have been a very good use of space, and would have made it much more difficult for you to enjoy the space. Similarly, you said the sandwiches were dry which is surprising, as they are all made fresh upon the arrival of the guests.. Its a shame that for these reasons you will not be returning, i know how popular our hotel has become since opening, and how wonderful the feedback has been, so i wish you all the best and a wonderful Easter. Paul Hunter General Manager Paul.h@guesthousehotels.co.uk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucy-May wrote a review Feb 2023
United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Went here for 2 nights with my sisters for a birthday treat. This hotel is fabulous! From the warm welcome when we arrived, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, every member of staff we encountered were warm and welcoming. This hotel is a wonderful location for exploring York- within walking distance to main attractions. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated, the rooms that we stayed in were clean, very comfortable beds, loved the dollhouse where tea/coffee/ etc were stored. Great touches, the radio, the record player with a huge selection of albums to choose from. We had cocktails, dinner and breakfast at the hotel, all were excellent, food choice was really good, well presented and yummy cocktails. The pantry was fun, with a big choice of things to choose from should you feel peckish, a great touch.
Neither myself nor my sisters have anything negative to say, it’s just a wonderful hotel! One of the the most welcoming I have ever stayed at. We will definitely stay here again !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Yasmin Myler, Guest Services / Front Office at No.1 By Guesthouse, York
Responded 12 Feb 2023
Thank you Lucy-May for a fabulous review , an absolute joy to read , for once I'm lost for words as you've said it all. Thank you so much. Kindest regards Yasmin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adele J wrote a review May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night on a Saturday with another couple. Loved the fact that they collect your bags from the train station and take them back to your room so you can spend the day wandering around York.

A very beautiful building with great and interesting décor. The four poster bed with drapes, sash windows, the dolls house with coffee bags (my favourite), Yorkshire Gold team, water and shortbread. A Roberts radio and a record player with records for you to swap downstairs by reception.

The pantry is a really great idea with drinks, snacks and ice cream for you to help yourself to. However our rooms were pretty much opposite the pantry which meant that we had the noise of people and coming to help themselves into the night. The rooms were also quite warm and our friends heard traffic noise from the main road outside with their bathroom window open.

Wasn't a fan of the bathrooms. The shower over the plastic type bath just did not seem in-keeping with the hotel design at all. That and the size of the bathroom in comparison to the room as disappointing.

We ate in the restaurant which had a good concise selection of dishes which were really well made. Great wine list and cocktails too. Service on the evening was also great.

Breakfast was a let down. We were asked when checking in what time we wanted breakfast however when we went down at our chosen time there were no tables for us. Tables were being cleared and people immediately sat down at them without them being properly cleaned, reset and jams/sauces restocked. We had tea, coffee and pastries in the bar whilst waiting for our table but then when we were sat down the two carafes of orange juice on the continental selection area sat empty, there were no bowls for cereal / fruit and whilst they took our order, they did not offer any toast. I had French toast with bacon which was small; one piece of French toast cut into two. My husbands full Yorkshire breakfast had the tiniest pot of beans I've every seen.

For the price that we paid and compared to other hotels that we have stayed in around Yorkshire at a similar price point; we felt that there were some things that could be worked on. It has potential to be a truly super hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Hunter, General Manager at No.1 By Guesthouse, York
Responded 1 Jun 2022
Dear Adele, Thank you for taking time to discuss your feedback on the phone with me today. Its really great to receive such detailed feedback from you, and also im pleased that your stay was a positive one. As you mentioned you feel we have real potential to be a super hotel. I totally agree, and feel that the weekend in question was a one off, and we can make the changes to get this right. As for the bathroom itself, we are putting a plan together to refurb some of our original bathrooms, and are hoping that will happen early next year. As mentioned, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours, Paul Hunter General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fizzy L wrote a review Mar 2022
Skipton, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Highly recommend this hotel without hesitation. It offers a modern stay with a tasteful nod to York's heritage. Excellent staff with a genuine warm and friendly welcome.

Everything about this hotel experience was wonderful—and the extra touches to make the guest experience are thoughtful, unique and often a fun surprise. For example, a turntable in your room and a vinyl library in the lobby. A communal pantry - thank goodness I only discovered the complimentary ice-cream fridge on the morning of departure!

Stayed on a work visit, wifi strength was excellent throughout the hotel, perfect water pressure in the shower (despite it being an old building), cosy bar, lounge and the restaurant / food is recommended.

Really throughtful touches throughout, lead by a great management style to make this by far my favourite hotel experience in a long time, and I've have travelled a fair amount over the years.

Go to York, stay at No 1 Guesthouse . Just like it's name, it isn't what you expect at all, and you're in for a very special treat!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Hunter, General Manager at No.1 By Guesthouse, York
Responded 19 Mar 2022
Hi Fizzy L Thanks for the awesome 5 star review Great to receive compliments on so many aspects but especially the team here at No.1 We hope to welcome you back soon, and when you do want to return, hopefully this time on a leisure trip, just send me an email and we'll ensure you are offered a welcome back rate! Paul Hunter General Manager Paul.h@guesthousehotels.co.uk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roy Hopwood wrote a review Jul 2022
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our second visit since the wonderful transformation which has retained all of its interesting heritage whilst the contemporary and somewhat eclectic collections complement the decor. Without a doubt being greeted by the staff is a lovely, welcoming experience and there were some newer ones since our last visit. As you can see from the photo of our room a thoughtful ‘welcome back’ surprise awaited us. Despite the number of times over the years we have visited our stay is always wonderful, friendly and relaxing. Our room, which was tastefully furnished and had everything we needed, was kept immaculately clean by the housekeeping team and nothing was too much trouble for them. This I must add can also be said in respect of all of the staff. Breakfast was perfect with superb choices of dishes, cereals, toast and croissants - the service was seamless. We were able to sit comfortably in The Marmalade Lounge, which provides a great place to just relax, or to meet with friends for a coffee, drinks, snacks or just a chat. The bar has a railway theme, complete with a working model train, is vibrant, well stocked and welcoming. The hotel is ideally located for walking into the City of York to explore its many places of interest. We look forward to our next visit, which is already booked, and would like thank everyone at No 1 for a brilliant weeks’ stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Hunter, General Manager at No.1 By Guesthouse, York
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Dear Mr and Mrs Hopwood, How lovely it was to meet you on you first return back to No.1, and a shame i missed you on your last! I was on annual leave and out of the country. We do love welcoming back friends from old, and i know how much it means to original team here to see you when you return. I hope you are both keeping well, and have some nice plans this summer. Thank you for the lovely review and photos! We look forward to seeing you again soon, Paul and the team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CPSBangkok wrote a review Aug 2022
Exmouth, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 4 nights here over our 19th wedding anniversary, and just loved this boutique hotel. The staff are incredible, so welcoming, friendly and ready to provide information. Communication from the moment we made the booking and throughout the stay was excellent. Food in the restaurant was excellent (would be nice to have a different menu at lunch and dinner, given the limited offerings) and the wine list in the bar/restaurant was varied with a real spread of wines from around the world - Crete, Hungary, Georgia, Australia, France, Italy...I could go on...Massive shout out to Lilly in the bar who really engaged with us chatting, whilst often working alone. The room was very comfortable and light, very cool to have a record player in the room with a super choice of LP's in the room and available in the lobby.

Amenities are great, the cosy tea room for a quieter drink or afternoon tea was delightful if the bar is busy, and the location just 5 minutes from Mary's Gate means you are close to everything without being amidst the hustle and bustle.

Thanks so much to Diego, Paul, Yas, Lilly and all the team that made us so welcome. We look forward to returning and visiting others in this new group's portfolio.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Book meals through reception to get a discount.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rachel Smith, Marketing at No.1 By Guesthouse, York
Responded 23 Aug 2022
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know all about your recent stay at No.1, York. All feedback is so useful to us, so we are extremely thankful when our guests tell us about all areas of their stay. We are so happy to hear that our team where helpful and friendly through your stay and that you enjoyed the little GuestHouse touches like the record players and vinyl library. I have also passed on your comments on the restaurant menu to the kitchen team. We hope to be able to welcome you to York again soon. All the best, Rachel Marketing Manager at No.1, York
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christine H wrote a review Mar 2023
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at No 1 GuestHouse York recently, situated within walking distance of the city centre and all its attractions, staff were very accommodating and made us feel special. Our room boasted a Queen size bed with lovely white linen and fluffy pillows ensured we had a good nights sleep, our bathroom included a giant free standing bath with a separate spacious shower unit with quality toiletries, everything spotlessly fresh and clean. The record player with the old 78 record collection provided a throwback to years gone by listening to Frank Sinatra.
The pantry on the landing was quite a unique feature and welcomed by us all, and well worth a visit.
The highlight of our stay has to be our evening meal in the refurbished Pearly Cow Restaurant, which was absolutely superb, each course was superbly presented and thoroughly enjoyed, possibly one of our best ever meals.
Very well done to all who looked after and served us at No 1 GuestHouse, York.
We are already planning our next visit!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Suzanne Newman, Other at No.1 By Guesthouse, York
Responded 24 Mar 2023
Hello Many thanks for your amazing comments! Really pleased to hear you enjoyed Pearly Cow - we are so proud of it. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, but do register for GuestBest to access the best rates. Kind regards Suzanne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
annet asked a question Oct 2023
merseyside810 contributions168 helpful votes
Is there a lift available in the property? Husband struggles with stairs
Answer from Suzanne N
Good morning Many thanks for getting in touch. We have two lifts - one from the lower ground (car park, spa and guest loos) to the ground floor (reception, bar, Marmalade Lounge and Pearly Cow). And one from the ground to the second floor. As there are also steps and stairs, please request a level access room if required when making your reservation. We look forward to welcoming you. Kind regards Suzanne
Answer from Caroline K
Chargeable Parking is available but there are limited spaces so would advise booking
MA22 asked a question Jan 2023
England, United Kingdom89 contributions46 helpful votes
Wondered what toiletries are provided in the rooms? Helpful to know for packing
Answer from louise b
1 contribution
Good quality shampoo, conditioner, body wash and bubble bath. Plus liquid hand soap and moisturiser.
sharon m wrote a tip 13 Jul
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The “ small double” is very small so if you like your space choose a bigger room. However bed was very comfortable"
Read full review
Fran C wrote a tip 8 Jul
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Easy 10 to 25 min walk to York Minster, and all York shops and restaurants. "
Read full review
WelshJimJon wrote a tip 1 Jul
London, United Kingdom9 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to book dinner on the weekend as the good restaurants fill up!!"
Read full review
Claire wrote a tip Jun 2024
9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking available Centrally located within walking distance to all major sites A drink in the bar a must"
Read full review
Victoria20 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Sunderland, United Kingdom17 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Note that some of the front rooms do look out to the main road, if you don’t like loud traffic noises to speak to the staff- they’ll help"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the York area.
PRICE RANGE
£143 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NO.1 BY GUESTHOUSE, YORK - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about No.1 By Guesthouse, York
Which popular attractions are close to No.1 By Guesthouse, York?
Nearby attractions include Treasure Hunt York (0.3 miles), Sore Thumb Retro Games (0.3 miles), and York Art Gallery (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at No.1 By Guesthouse, York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at No.1 By Guesthouse, York?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at No.1 By Guesthouse, York?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at No.1 By Guesthouse, York?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to No.1 By Guesthouse, York?
Conveniently located restaurants include Roots York, The Minster Inn, and Pearly Cow York.
Are any cleaning services offered at No.1 By Guesthouse, York?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at No.1 By Guesthouse, York?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to No.1 By Guesthouse, York?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (1.2 miles), Merchant Adventurers' Hall (0.7 miles), and Holy Trinity Church (0.6 miles).
Is No.1 By Guesthouse, York accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All York HotelsYork Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in YorkHotels near No.1 By Guesthouse, York
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire