We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Principal York

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (2611)
Room & Suite (474)
Dining (193)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#43 of 53 hotels in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Principal York, steps from the train station, is the perfect base from which to discover the historic city of York. Blending the grandeur of late-Victorian architecture with the comforts of modern travel, Principal York offers its guests the warmest welcome this side of the Pennines. Award-winning interior architects Goddard Littlefair have refurbished and restored the hotel's rooms and public spaces to create 155 elegant, comfortable bedrooms and suites in balanced, neutral tones that offer more than just a place to sleep. Free, superfast Wi-Fi with a maximum bandwidth of 100Mb is available throughout the hotel and if you decide to visit us by car, the hotel provides a car park for guests' use at a charge of £19.00 for 24 hours.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
3,383Reviews101Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,670
  • 737
  • 474
  • 260
  • 242
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Mia Rowson wrote a review 16 Apr
Stafford, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
Paid for my and my partner to go away for a long weekend and I’m really disappointed for how much I paid. First impression of the hotel was really good and staff were friendly but when we entered our room it was a shock. It was ridiculously hot and our air-con was out of order but luckily we were given a fan otherwise the room would’ve been unbearable to sleep in, the walls, ceiling, carpet and curtains had marks all over them and the paper is peeling revealing a load of mould behind, the windows are filthy, the pillows are poor quality, the room was stupidly dark and for some reason the tvs don’t allow you to view normal channels or use the streaming services. We had breakfast included in our stay which was nice and seemed to be good quality but many items weren’t being replenished even with a few hours still left until breakfast ended. It is in a really good location can’t be more than an 10 minute walk to the actual town but that still doesn’t justify the price for me.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Principal York
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Mia_XOXX, Thank you for choosing the Principal for your stay in York. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay. We are however sorry to read that you found the room not to your expectations. Our Head Housekeeper has been made aware. Due to the age of the building it is difficult to regulate the temperature in the rooms. You will be please to know we are in the process of installing air-cons in all bedrooms. Breakfast is a busy operation and the Principal we work hard to ensure all our guest’s expectations are met and we are sorry to read that this wasn’t the case. We do however hope to welcome you again soon on a much more pleasant occasion. Kind regards, Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Henry A wrote a review 15 Apr
3 contributions
My friends and I had a lovely time in The Refectory restaurant. Despite not staying in the hotel, we were made to feel brilliantly welcome by Oliver, Alex and the rest of the team. The food was absolutely delicious, and accompanied by two lovely bottles of wine. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Principal York
Responded 2 days ago
Dear henryaA5706P, Thank you for your fantastic 5* review! We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the service in the Refectory Restaurant and our team contributed to a memorable one. We cannot wait to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DLW99 wrote a review 13 Apr
Wigan, United Kingdom28 contributions16 helpful votes
My son booked this hotel as a Christmas present and would never tell him the hotel was nowhere near the price he paid for the 2nught break. We had such a dark room, the lighting was awful, windows and surfaces had not been cleaned properly, and the bathroom was woefully small. Unsure if this is the standard of rooms across the hotel or just those booked via secret escapes. The breakfast was just OK but had to ask both morning for bread, plates and bowls that hadn't been replenished. From a distance the lounge area looked nice but we had to move 3 rimes to find a chair that didn't have obvious stains and one of the doors from a communal area had so much grime and marks which highlighted the hotel could really benefit gor a thorough deepclean
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Principal York
Responded 2 days ago
Dear DLW99, Thank you for choosing the Principal for your stay in York and taking the time to send us you feedback. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay and the room was not to your expectations. At the Principal we work hard to ensure all our guest’s expectations are met and we are sorry to read that this wasn’t the case. We do however hope to welcome you again soon on a much more pleasant occasion. Kind regards, Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
FarAway600671 wrote a review 13 Apr
Darwen, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
We booked a superior king . Very dark dreary room with a view of nothing but roofs concrete and pipes. We could not wait to get out of the room. No toilet roll , i shouldn’t have to ask . could not use pool until after 5pm due to lessons . Had to pay to park , not specified well on website. Breakfast. Spectacularly bad from all areas . Had to queue for over 20 mins to make toast by which time food had run out so by time replenished toast cold. Tea like stew Asked for gluten free toasted for my daughter waited almost half an hour . Overall the most miserable of experiences totally ruined my planned break . Def not returning
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Just avoid
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Principal York
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing the Principal for your stay in York. We are sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay. The hotel is located close to the station and the busy main roads. We do have the option to book Garden View rooms online. Toiletries are provided in all our bedrooms and any extra on request too. We have passed on your comment to our Head Housekeeper. Breakfast is a busy operation and we work hard to ensure all our guest’s expectations are met and we are sorry to read that this wasn’t the case. Please be advised that we do charge for car park due to our central location and in line with the current parking rates in the City of York . This is advertised on our website and all third parties, so our guests are aware at the time of booking. We do hope to welcome you again soon when your journeys bring you back to York. Kind regards, Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris C wrote a review 9 Apr
Wellingborough, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
What a beautiful hotel. My wife and I came away for our 60th Anniversary. Walking in we were greeted by the lovely Laura. Who upgraded our room to a superior king and nothing was too much for her . She took our bags to the room and was so welcoming . The building inside is spectacular, and is a must see. Our room was lovely , on the third floor , very spacious, they only downside was there weren’t any coat hangers but that was soon rectified . Breakfast was a bit manic, with not many staff, and some in a hurry to not help us , but we soon got over that. Maybe in the future there should be more of a system for breakfast. On our second night we decided to go to the bar, there was a bit of a mix up on our bill, so took to reception to speak about it . Again it was Laura who was on and she kindly gave us a drinks voucher as an apology and for our anniversary. Thank you!!! The hotel is beautiful and so central and we will definitely be returning . Obvious that some people love their jobs and want to make a difference to peoples stays . The principal have made an old couple very happy
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Principal York
Responded 1 week ago
Dear E8055Flchrisc, Dear Chris C, Thank you for choosing the Principal for your stay in York and for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent experience. We are pleased to read our team contributed to making your stay a pleasant one-specially Laura on front desk. We will pass on your appreciation to her. She is indeed very helpful and welcoming. At the Principal we work hard to ensure our guest's a pleasant stay and we do hope you visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards, Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marc Ava Rebecc... G wrote a review 9 Apr
Lincoln, United Kingdom90 contributions39 helpful votes
Service was good and there are well maintained public areas however the fitness/spa area and rooms are very tired. It felt like a hotel trading on previous glory days and requires significant investment. The location is prime for the train station and access to key attractions. We are a vegan couple and did not find ourselves able to enjoy the restaurant for any meals.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Principal York
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Marc Ava Rebecc...G, Thank you for choosing the Principal for your stay in York. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay. We are however sorry to read that you found the room and the Spa not to your expectations. At the Principal we work hard to ensure all our guest’s expectations are met and we are sorry to read that this wasn’t the case. We do however hope to welcome you again soon on a much more pleasant occasion. Kind regards, Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karl H wrote a review 7 Apr
1 contribution
Welcoming and helpful staff in all departments we went to. We definitely were made to feel like wanted guests, and not an inconvenience in any way. Room was great, bar service was great, breakfast was great... It was just a great experience, we would definitely be using this hotel next time we visit York
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Principal York
Responded 1 week ago
Dear KarlhR264BW, Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic feedback with us. Your comments are invaluable to us and we are pleased to read that you had such a great stay and our staff looked after you well. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Guest Services Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MonkeyM112 wrote a review 7 Apr
London, United Kingdom9 contributions6 helpful votes
Beautiful architecture, lovely rooms, luxury at a reasonable price and generally well worth it. Massive rooms, lovely bathroom. Superb location for the station and York in general. Staff polite and helpful, breakfast was good. Will stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Principal York
Responded 1 week ago
Dear MonkeyM112, Thank you for your amazing review! It is with great pleasure to read your comments following your recent stay and your comments have been shared with our team. Should your journeys bring you back to York we would be most happy to welcome you again. Kind regards, Guest Services Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Claire T wrote a review 6 Apr
8 contributions4 helpful votes
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. What a nice place to stay. Lovely room in a beautiful hotel with original features and history. Staff were Professional and a lovely leisurely breakfast. We stayed at the Grand last year and we’re disappointed. We would return to the Principal and highly recommend it. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Principal York
Responded 1 week ago
Dear X8807CYclairet, Thank you for your fantastic 5* review! We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and our team contributed to a memorable stay in York. We cannot wait to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Guest Services Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sarah b wrote a review 5 Apr
Newton Aycliffe1 contribution
Worst hotel I’ve stayed in Beauty building reception……. However our room was not in the main building but a separate building towards the back walk to the room smelt of drains and was via an emergency stair case We also had disruptive guests in the room next door which I understand the hotel cannot help, however did nothing to help with during the night the next day they did say they spoke to those causing the disruption however this did not happen staff came down but were witnessed not doing anything they thanked myself for reporting the issue then walked away without doing anything they later said they had spoke with those involved and when questioned over them walking away without stated they must have called….. why would you come down walk away then ring they didn’t do anything!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Principal York
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sarah, Thank you for choosing the Principal for your stay in York and thank you for taking the time to provide your honest feedback about your recent experience. I have reviewed your booking, and would like to inform you that you booked one of our sidings double rooms, as advertised on the agent's website; hence the room's location. Upon review of CCTV, call logs, and meeting with the staff who dealt with the matter, I can confirm that the guests next door were called on two occasions and warned regarding noise levels which were noted by our staff from the corridor. The corridor was then re-evaluated during the night's staff's security walks and found to be satisfactory following this communication. Your feedback has been shared with our Senior Management team. Once again, thank you for sharing your comments, and we do hope to welcome you again on your next visit and restore your faith towards the Principal. Sincerely, Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the York area.
PRICE RANGE
£96 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal york hotel grand victorian, royal york hotel york
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Royal York Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
155
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PRINCIPAL YORK - Updated 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison

Frequently Asked Questions about Principal York
Which popular attractions are close to Principal York?
Nearby attractions include National Railway Museum (0.2 miles), Locked In Games York (0.3 miles), and Treasure Hunt York (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Principal York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Principal York?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Principal York?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Principal York?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Brazilian Rodizio, Karoo Bar & Kitchen, and Cocoa Joe's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Principal York?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Principal York located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of York.
Are any cleaning services offered at Principal York?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Principal York offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Principal York?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (1.0 miles), Holy Trinity Church (0.5 miles), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (0.5 miles).
Does Principal York have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.