We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bloomsbury

Traveller (163)
Room & Suite (74)
Dining (18)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
An elegant Victorian Guest House, sympathetically restored to its former grandeur in a leafy part of York, within easy walking distance of the centre. Tastefully decorated with quality furnishings. All rooms have flat screen TVs with freeview. With a 4* Silver rating, a Breakfast Award and hosts Tricia and Steve doing all they can to enhance your stay. You are assured of a great time at The Bloomsbury. Free parking and free high speed internet access. The Bloomsbury is proud winner of the 2016 Visit York B&B of the Year Award.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Internet
Free parking
Spa
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Non-smoking hotel
Paid Internet
Paid Wifi
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Business
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
67Somewhat walkable
Grade: 67 out of 100
75Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
18Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
967Reviews
194Photos
5Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 919
  • 45
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is our second visit to The Bloomsbury and we wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else in York now. Tricia and Steve are wonderful hosts and go out of their way to help with any little detail of your visit, recommending trips, walks, restaurants and buses. This was a much
Read more
Property's Favourite Review
The Bloomsbury is the Rolls Royce of guesthouses. Steve and Tricia are the most welcoming hosts. Breakfast is always cooked to perfection and the buffet options would satisfy even the most fussy eater. Special diet requirements are met on request as nothing here is too much
Read more
Response from TheBloomsbury, Owner at The Bloomsbury
Responded 21 Nov 2018
Hi Dragonlady901! Thanks again for such a lovely review, it's really appreciated. With so many repeat guests who book directly to keep the costs down (who don't normally review us) it's nice that you realise that the TripAdvisor reviews are important to us. We know who you really are, but after what must be at least 20 visits to us in the last 9 years I'd expect us to ;) We truly value repeat guests (sorry, friends!) - it says we're doing something right! After a few years out of the business (enjoying our belated gap year!) it's lovely to start back and see familiar faces from the start. We're proud to be involved with the wedding next year, and we'll do all that we can to make it a truly memorable occasion for you all. We look forward to seeing you and Dave again in February! Tricia and Steve
Read more
We stayed at the Bloomsbury, a spotlessly clean, newly refurbished and very comfortable B&B run by Tricia and Steve who were the perfect hosts. The room was cosy and comfortable with it's own shower room and toilet and a sitting area to relax and read and enjoy the complementary
Read more
Myself and my wife stayed in early March 2019 and had an excellent experience. The guesthouse has many period features and is decorated with sympathetic pieces which compliment the property. What sets this guesthouse apart is the warm and friendly atmosphere created by the hosts
Read more
Response from TheBloomsbury, Owner at The Bloomsbury
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks Dominic and Lisa for a lovely review. We're happy that we could help you both in getting away for a short break, and we children were pleased to see you when you got home! All the very best, and until next time take care.
Read more
My wife and I spent four days at the Bloomsbury and each day just seemed to get better. We enjoyed a very comfortable room, with superb WIFI and very nice amenities. Breakfast was very tasty and filling, leaving us to spend our day sightseeing rather than worrying about
Read more
Response from TheBloomsbury, Owner at The Bloomsbury
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to write the review Chris - Tricia and I appreciate the demands on one's time these days, and it was great to see that you'd enjoyed your stay. It's always a bit stressful when other Guest House Owners stay so it was especially great to see this review. We hope to see you over in Maine in the next few years when we can explore that part of North America at a more leisurely pace than last time we were there!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Photo provided by managementThe Bloomsbury
Lily
Photo provided by managementThe Bloomsbury
The large Magnolia room
View from my window
View from our room
PreviousNext
12345615
Hi, is the a lounge or sitting room to sit and have a drink in the evening
I don’t think so. They have the dining room for the (superb) breakfasts, which is set up each evening for the next morning, which I don’t think is available for guests to use in the evening, so you’d have to use your room. But there is a pub just a short walk away.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi, is there a bar in the B and B Lynda
No. Most B & B's don't have a bar.
0 votes
Show all answers
how far are you from the railway station? Is city center in walking distance?
Hi there Marcia, Many thanks for your enquiry. We are about a 15-20 minute walk from the railway station (1.3 miles) or a 5 minute taxi ride, we are also a 12 minute walk to York Minster in the centre of the city (less than 1 mile). Many thanks, Matthew
2 votes
Show all answers
Hi Grace, Unfortunately we don't have both of those nights available. However, we do have the Sunday and Monday nights available (13th and 14th). For two nights based on two people sharing it would be £150 for a standard double and £170 for a superior double room. Prices include breakfast.
0 votes
Hi Giuseppe, Many thanks for your enquiry, We do currently have availability during those dates but unfortunately we don't have a family room. All our rooms are doubles but we can provide single occupancy, so could offer you two rooms. We are a pleasant 15-20 minute walk from the rail station via the river, though, if you have heavy luggage, I would recommend getting a taxi (costs approx £6) or the green line/number 2 Park and Ride bus (stops are detailed on the attached map) though this service does finish at around 7pm. If you have any further questions, or wish to book, please don't hesitate to email us directly. Kind regards, Paul
0 votes
"Wisteria was a nice room"
"There are rooms at the front and back of guest house. But there is full double glazing, so no bothersome noise."
"All rooms are beautiful."
"Rooms at rear of guesthouse are very quiet. No lifts though the ever helpful Matt and Paul would offer to assist you with luggage"
"If difficulty with stairs, request a room on the lower floor."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the bloomsbury hotel york
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing