We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

4 - 5 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (321)
Room & Suite (197)
Dining (25)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 53 hotels in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Clementine's Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 27 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Clementine's Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Street parking
Public wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English

Location

4 - 5 Saint Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ England
Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
323Reviews6Q+A45Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 276
  • 24
  • 9
  • 7
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
mrsblatherskite wrote a review 17 Apr
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
This is a fabulous hotel. It's beautiful! Wonderful decor in every room, great breakfasts and the staff are probably the best we've ever come across - so friendly and helpful. We had 3 rooms. All varying in size but all very comfortable (the kitkats are nice extra touches) with lovely showers. It's also in a great location, an easy 10 minute walk into York (near the Minster) which is a fantastic place to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: You can park here too!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for such a fabulous 5* review and for mentioning our incredible team. We are so lucky to have each and every one of them! I am pleased to hear you all enjoyed your trip and we hope to host you again on your next get together. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie P wrote a review 10 Apr
Huddersfield, United Kingdom109 contributions65 helpful votes
Absolutely beautiful hotel, the decor is stunning! We stayed in the Chocolate Orange room with 4 poster bed and double jacuzzi, it was lovely! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed relaxing with a drink in the sumptuous lounge. Will definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for such a wonderful 5* review. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Chocolate Orange and thank you for mentioning our fabulous team. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Choc_eclaire wrote a review 7 Apr
Bracknell, United Kingdom91 contributions21 helpful votes
The hotel is in a quiet road about a 10 min walk to the city centre. Beautifully furnished with good breakfasts. Parking is a bit of a lottery. They have limited parking at £15 per day. However you can park on the road for free overnight (and all day Sunday) and it’s not a through road. Don’t stay in room 14. NO WINDOWS!! We didn’t notice when we checked in as it was after dark. I think this double room should offer a discount as having no windows is very poor and it was not indicated on website or by the receptionist. Staying for 3 nights with no windows - maybe OK for 1 night, but not 3
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t stay in room 14. Don’t worry too much about the parking. Was plenty of on road parking for...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am so pleased to hear you appreciated our beautiful décor and delicious Yorkshire breakfasts. I am sorry you were disappointed with your room. This is the only room we offer without a window and it is priced lower than the size and facilities on offer would ordinarily go for to accommodate for this. I am sorry you did not bring your concerns to our attention as we would have happily arranged you an alternative room for the remainder of your stay. I hope this will not stop you from visiting us again in the future. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gem B wrote a review 6 Apr
3 contributions
We came to York for a short mid-week break away from London. This hotel is wonderful and the decor is so lovely and quirky. We were greeted and informed that we had been upgraded to a four poster bed suite. The room was beautiful, bed was comfy and the bathroom was luxurious! We were able to leave our bags in reception on our last day which was so nice and we were able to spend some more time around the city before heading home. We enjoyed a nice cup of tea in the lounge area and some time with Teddy the hotel cat, before catching our train home. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for such a fabulous 5* review. I am so pleased to hear we were able to offer you an upgrade and that you enjoyed one of our beautiful Four Poster rooms. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Charlie P wrote a review 4 Apr
Birmingham, United Kingdom43 contributions41 helpful votes
Clementine's was a lovely hotel and the decor is amazing, the room and bathroom were both gorgeous. The facilities in the room were great, with a comfortable bed and a nice selection of hot drinks. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. It was great to have parking available, and being able to park on site was definitely worth the price for the convenience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for such a lovely 5* review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed our gorgeous hotel and that our team made you feel welcome. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
zAndy1uk wrote a review Mar 2024
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom135 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
Just got back from a 2 night stay at this lovely town house hotel , we usually stay at another guest house but it wasn't available on this occasion so having read the great reviews of the Clemetines we decided to stay here. I would say overall it lived up to the reviews but there were a couple of things really that spoilt the experience slightly. First of all the positives, lovely decor , very friendly staff , great sized room (deluxe double) , location (10 mins walk into the centre), parking (at an extra cost of £15 per night here but which is free at the usual place we stay but nice to have the option nonetheless). The main gripe I (and my wife) had was the bed really, for one thing it's very high which makes getting into and out of it harder than it should be but also the mattress was really soft. We have a very hard mattress at home and much prefer that, with this one you sank into it and when one person moved or got out of bed it affected the other person. We both found it really uncomfortable to be honest and I'm surprised it hasn't been mentioned more in reviews. Personally it was bad enough to put me off booking this place again which is a shame but it can literally come down to things like this sometimes whether you decide to go back to the same place again and I get that it's very subjective. I have no idea what the beds are like in the other rooms but if they have the same mattress then for us that would be a deal breaker I'm afraid. It's a very subjective thing, some people like soft mattresses and some hate them , unfortunately both me and my wife fall into the latter category. The bathroom was lovely although there was some paper peeling off the wall which could do with putting right and the shower pressure was a bit on the low side but it was usable. The breakfast overall was very good , good quality juices (orange , apple and cranberry). There was no granola and yoghurt out but you could ask for it and it was very nice as well. The toast was really good, good quality bread and toasted to perfection. I have to say I was a bit disappointed with the full English, when you're paying £15 for breakfast (I'll get onto that) I don't think it's too much to expect 2 sausages. I found the sausage to be tough and lacking in flavour a bit, it didn't strike me as a particularly good quality sausage. The scrambled egg was nice but again the portion size was disappointing, a very small amount of scrambled egg , could have done with twice the amount at least really. Needless to say I went for something else the 2nd morning , bacon and tomato omelette and credit where it's due that was really nice. Overall though I have to say I didn't feel the breakfast was very good value for money really at £15pp and if I stayed here again I'd probably walk into the city and get one there for a lot less. If you want the convenience of breakfast in the hotel though and don't mind paying £15pp for that then there are some good options here, my wife said the eggs Benedict was very nice and as I said the omelette was lovely , I just found the full english disappointing in portion size and quality and I think the £15pp was a tad on the high side for what was on offer but this is York and apart from Wetherspoons nothing is cheap lol. Overall there's a lot to like here , the room decor is lovely, the location is great but there were enough niggles to put me off booking again, compared to the usual place we stay this fell a bit short but the 2 main things I had a grievance with could be very easily addressed (2 sausages and more scrambled egg with the full English and a harder mattress). If you don't mind a soft mattress (and very high bed) fill your boots , there's a lot to like here but we'll probably go back to our usual York accomodation in future (just need to be more organised and book earlier).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our team made your feel welcome. For your future reference we offer a number of different mattress types to cater to varying tastes and if you have a specific preference please do not hesitate to speak to our team prior to arrival and we can allocate you the one we believe you will be most comfortable. I hope this would not stop you from staying with us again. I am sorry to hear you felt our breakfast was overpriced. This £15 charge does included unlimited tea & coffee, fresh juices, cereal, pastries, yogurts and your choice of a main dish. These days you would be hard pushed to find better within York. I do wish you had spoken to our team at the time as we would have been more than happy to provide a larger portion/ build your own style breakfast. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stephen N wrote a review Mar 2024
Hengoed, United Kingdom83 contributions52 helpful votes
This was the second time in 3 years we had stayed over on our visit to York. Clean, good staff, nice rooms, super breakfast, booked with Booking.Com great value for money. Car park although at a price of £15 a day expensive much better than parking in the residents only street and getting a parking ticket as we saw the following day, "welcome to York"!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with and hope to welcome you again soon for a 3rd visit. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Thedon152 wrote a review Mar 2024
15 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed here a few times now and this time thought we would stay in the suite. Was a little worried this time of year it would be a little cold but that couldn’t be further from the truth. It was clean, warm and everything we had hoped for. Shame the York weather wasn’t great so we could sit outside but that’s the weather for you. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for such a lovely 5* review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed our garden suite. It is indeed a cosy, warm retreat. Hopefully you can visit again when the weather is more accommodating and enjoy our beautiful garden. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LisaFryklund wrote a review Mar 2024
Alameda, California71 contributions29 helpful votes
+1
What a delightful hotel. It's a decorators dream and it certainly has given me dreams of what I can do with my home. I did not want to say goodbye. Room is well appointed and very clean. Quiet too. I was so happy to have taken the option for breakfast. I ordered the full English and cleaned the plate bare. I had to compliment the cook. There is a bar and lounge which would be fun for friends to get together. Location is within ease of the train station and the city walls. Very much worth it. Glad to have found it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Each room seems to be it's own unique experience.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for such an amazing 5* review. Like you I am always taking inspiration from our beautiful décor here at Clementine's, hoping to one day create something similar at home. We are always delighted to see empty plates after breakfast and will pass on your compliments to our wonderful chef. We hope to see you again. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sharon M wrote a review Mar 2024
5 contributions
From when we arrived the hotel staff were really lovely and even allowed us to check into our room early. Sylvia was exceptional and clearly ensured rooms and hotel were to 4star standard. We stayed in double room which was beautifully decorated and bathroom walk in shower was amazing. The Breakfast was to a high standard and great choice thanks to chef. The location of hotel was perfect and a 10 min walk to Bootham York wall gate with really nice restaurants within easy walking distance. Definitely will return Thank you xx
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Johnson, General Manager at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for an amazing 5* review. Silvia is an absolute superstar and we are very lucky to have her, I will pass on your wonderful compliments. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best Wishes, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the York area.
PRICE RANGE
£74 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marmadukes york, marmadukes hotel york
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLEMENTINE'S TOWN HOUSE HOTEL, BW PREMIER COLLECTION - Updated 2024 (York)

Frequently Asked Questions about Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection?
Nearby attractions include Bootham Crescent (0.2 miles) and Tripbuddy (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and facilities for disabled guests.
Which room amenities are available at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pearly Cow York, Cakes d'Licious, and The Ivy Brasserie Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (1.3 miles), Holy Trinity Church (0.6 miles), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (0.8 miles).
Is Clementine's Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.