We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,425 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,416: English reviews
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had to stay in York overnight on a business trip and client booked me into Marmadukes. Certainly wasn't disappointed. Hotel located in a very quiet side street only a 10 minute walk from the Minster and offers on site parking. Hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are very helpful indeed. Prices are very reasonable compared with other City Centre...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SimoJH
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous 5-star review for Marmadukes Town House Hotel. We are really pleased that firstly your company found you here to stay amongst all of the competition in York, hopefully they will place us on their preferred York hotel list for when you next have to work in York. Thank you for mentioning our excellent location being...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent just the one night here and chose a four poster bedroom to make our romantic trip a little more special. I was a little disappointed with the size of the room as the four poster rooms on their website are much bigger and our bed was certainly not a traditional four poster although it was lovely. Huge bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Janice N
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing Marmadukes Town House Hotel. All of our bedrooms regardless of category do vary in shape and size and our Four Poster bedrooms can be either a half-tester bed or Four Poster bed, hopefully all unique and beautiful in their own way. Again bathroom size can vary dependent on which bedroom you are...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a fantastic time at the Marmadukes hotel and made to feel very welcome. Within walking distance to the cathedral. Breakfast was of high quality and wish we had stayed longer to book for the tasting dinner. Room was cosy with a modern bathroom but unfortunately with a view of a car park and a creaky bed. Nevertheless, still enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathryn G
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found breakfast of ‘high quality’. I am happy you found your room cosy and liked the bathroom. We hope to welcome you back soon and hopefully next time you can book to dine in our fantastic restaurant. Kind Regards Adrian

Blackpool
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice staff helped with luggage as we were on top floor. Excellent room . Good breakfast .Bar expensive Good 10 minutes walk to Minster. We were there for Xmas weekend and staff couldn't do enough for you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale B
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Being a lovely Victorian Town House we don’t unfortunately have a lift, however as you mentioned we do have ‘nice staff’ who are always available and happy to help with luggage. I am pleased you found your room excellent and had a good breakfast. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Adrian

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel because my mother in law was transferred from Harrogate to York for an operation following a stroke.The staff were absolutely wonderful during our stay. Very accommodating and helpful all fine with a very friendly and caring attitude. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast good. The atmosphere was quiet and relaxed and, under the circumstances...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie F
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent 5* review. Firstly, I am sorry to hear about your mother in law, we do wish her a speedy recovery. I am pleased to read you found the staff wonderful, accommodating and helpful also I am happy you found your room comfortable and our breakfast good. We hope to see you again in the future,...

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

York is one of my favourite cities in the UK and Marmadukes is definitely one of my favourite hotels. Great location and service, lovely rooms with great period features, good parking and a great breakfast. We'll definitely be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ruttiger_fm
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic 5* review. We are pleased Marmadukes is one of your favourite hotels in York. We are in I think in a fantastic location also, just a 10 – minute walk to the city centre. I am happy you enjoyed your room and our great breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Adrian

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic hotel, very attentive staff and an easy walk into the heart of York. Enjoyed the Park restaurant on New Year's Eve with a special tasting menu. Stayed in the annex, which is literally 10 yards from the main part of the hotel and just as good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peterneil62
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your brilliant 5* review. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to read you had a lovely New Year Eve dinner in The Park Restaurant. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Adrian

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is conveniently placed for visiting York, being about a ten minute walk from the nearest gate. It's an interesting big old house, probably Victorian, and looks great from the outside. We had booked a deluxe room for four nights. To me, deluxe says that it will be a cut above your standard room. It was bigger, but that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichardLing-Williams
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review for our Victorian Town House. The Deluxe Double you booked is effectively our standard room, at £100 a night I honestly cannot think what more you would have wanted in there. However, we will take your points on board. All our rooms are decorated with lovely antiques which we feel add plenty of character to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked Marmadukes as a birthday treat for my wife. It didn't disappoint! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was lovely and the taster menu in the restaurant was fantastic. Much more character than the chain hotels in the City and an easy walk from the centre. A definite recommendation from me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic 5* review. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. All the staff here are lovely and always try to be as helpful as possible so it is great that this gets noticed. I am pleased you enjoyed The Park Restaurants fantastic tasting menu which is available Tuesday – Saturday. We hope to...

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very good place to stay, as it is near enough to the city centre for parking and walking. Wonderful lounges. Good breakfast. Romm a bit small, but good en suite. Staff helpful. The annex (where we stayed) felt as if a bit of tlc would not go amiss.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have onsite parking available which we do advise guests prebook at an additional £7 per night. We are glad you enjoyed the lounge décor, they have just been refurbished. We are now in the process of refurbishing the annex so hopefully when you...

569 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (237)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (225)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Red Room (29)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Toile de Jouy Room (22)
Viewed
Four-Poster Bed Room (22)
Viewed
Four-Poster Bed Room with Balcony (19)
Viewed
Loft Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Single Room (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (107)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
926 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#15 of 46 in York
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 46 in York
842 reviews
2.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: £68 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marmadukes Town House Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Marmadukes Town House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In the main part”
 of 5 bubbles 616iank, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you can stay in the loft suite I would recommend it.”
 of 5 bubbles michellepQ9923ZX, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Nowhere near the kitchen!!”
 of 5 bubbles ColleenC768, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best Room - Loft Suite!”
 of 5 bubbles jjakja, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you're tall, let them know so you can have a room with a suitable bed.”
 of 5 bubbles FlashmanandKate, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay