We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
05/11/2017 06/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Hotel 53

    53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    05/11/2017Check In 06/11/2017Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Savings alert: 22% below average rate

    The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    US$105
    US$85
    SAVE US$20
    US$88
    US$85
    Traveller (203)
    Room & Suite (113)
    Dining (14)
    Overview
    • Excellent30%
    • Very good40%
    • Average19%
    • Poor7%
    • Terrible4%
    Travellers talk about
    “car park” (168 reviews)
    “city centre” (145 reviews)
    “walk in shower” (54 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast Buffet
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Bar/Lounge
    Multilingual Staff
    Wheelchair access
    Meeting Rooms
    Dry Cleaning
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    5 Nov6 Nov
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$85
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$88
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$85
      View Deal
    View all 24 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (1,833)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 1,796 reviews

    Reviewed 2 days ago

    We stayed one night while on a tour of England, Scotland and Wales. Our room was clean and large but there was no drawer space at all. the bed was rock hard with thin pillows. The closet consisted of two pegs that were mounted to...More

    Thank TRIPSTER077
    Reviewed 5 days ago

    We stayed at this hotel last week and it was great. The staff are friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They are also very knowledgable and gave us great advice on the best places to eat. We will stay here again when...More

    Thank Henrystravels
    Response from Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53Responded yesterday

    Dear Henrystravels, Thank you for your recent review of hotel53. I look forward to passing on your kind comments to the team. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, kind regards, Laura Eyles

    Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

    Organised an anniversary break . Unfortunately our four week old granddaughter was diagnosed with a tumour a week before our break. I contacted them and explained our situation and asked if we could cancel and get a refund. They came back to me explaining that...More

    Thank TheLegend66
    Response from Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53Responded yesterday

    Dear TheLegend66, I'm sorry to see that you were not satisfied with your reservation. However, the terms and conditions of your booking does state non-refundable, had your booking been a standard reservation with the cancellation policy then we would of been able to refund you....More

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    Hi I booked a room last minute at the hotel and got a great price explained I need slightly bigger room and quiet as was for 3 people and I got just as I asked. Room clean and lots of space .2 twin beds and...More

    1  Thank AshleyJM-32
    Response from Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53Responded yesterday

    Dear AshleyJM-32, Thank you for your recent review of your experience at hotel 53. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and i look forward to sharing them with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    I have stayed at Hotel 53 a number of times and always come back because of the location, the food and the friendly and efficient staff. Having recently stayed in the hotel, I was disappointed to find out that the restaurant was closed in the...More

    Thank tar25zebra
    Response from Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53Responded yesterday

    Dear Tar25zebra, Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel53. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and service that we provide as well as our location. The hotel has closed the restaurant due to not being as busy, but as stated...More

    The Grand Hotel & Spa
    4,010 reviews
    #6 of 47 hotels in York
     
    Hampton by Hilton York
    2,510 reviews
    #9 of 47 hotels in York
     
    Park Inn by Radisson York
    2,087 reviews
    #27 of 47 hotels in York
     
    The Parisi Hotel
    651 reviews
    #1 of 47 hotels in York
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Room Service
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Laundry Service
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$90 - US$264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 100
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Yorkshire >
    • North Yorkshire >
    • York
    • Also Known As
    • Quality Inn York ,
    • 53 Hotel York
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (203)
    Room & Suite (113)
    Dining (14)
    Hotel & Grounds (149)
    Bathroom (28)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
    Nearby
    The Parisi Hotel
    651 reviews
    .12 miles away
     
    Hampton by Hilton York
    2,510 reviews
    .59 miles away
     
    Park Inn by Radisson York
    2,087 reviews
    .43 miles away
     
    The Grand Hotel & Spa
    4,010 reviews
    .56 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Barbakan
    876 reviews
    .14 miles away
    Khao San Rd
    842 reviews
    .14 miles away
    The Pheasant
    14 reviews
    .03 miles away
    Bicis y Mas
    302 reviews
    .13 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Malt Shovel, Oswaldkirk
    34 reviews
    .18 miles away
    York Castle Museum
    7,242 reviews
    .07 miles away
    Merchant Adventurers' Hall
    500 reviews
    .22 miles away
    Jorvik Viking Centre
    4,375 reviews
    .23 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Shazzyt
    10 April 2017|
    Answer
    Response from twixtthepennines | Reviewed this property |
    You should contact the hotel directly re. a room request. You can do so on the contact form which is on their website, or telephone 01904 559000.
    1
    Vote
    Ruffleduck
    7 April 2017|
    AnswerShow all 5 answers
    Response from twixtthepennines | Reviewed this property |
    Hi, Yes, we had tea/coffee/milk and biscuits, and there was a hair dryer in a desk drawer. There are also bathroom toiletries.
    1
    Vote
    andrew w
    1 January 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Hotel53YorkCentre | Property representative |
    Hi Andrew, As above, we have parking across the road for £10 per night. It is on a first come first served allocation basis, you just need to ask at Reception when you arrive and they will arrange this for you. Please note... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "ask for a room facing the front of the hotel as this is quieter than the back which faces the pubs"
    Read review
    "Do not stay here."
    Read review
    "upper floor"
    Read review
    "We stayed on high floor so suppose it was quieter"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing