Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (176)
Room & Suite (123)
Dining (16)

View prices for your travel dates

£55
Save more with IHG One Rewards
£61
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#15 of 27 hotels in Northampton
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value

A modern Northampton hotel within easy reach of the town centre, with a smart restaurant and excellent event facilities.

Holiday Inn® Northampton hotel is less than 10 minutes drive from central Northampton and well situated for exploring the surrounding countryside. The M1 is an eight-minute drive away, and it is less than three miles to Northampton Railway Station. You can reach London Luton Airport (LTN) and Birmingham Airport (BHX) in less than an hour by car. Buses stop just steps from the hotel and parking is free for all guests.

Pop into Northampton to browse its shops, eateries and cultural spots such as Northampton Museum and Art Gallery. Within half an hour by car from the hotel, you can explore the gardens at Woburn Abbey, tour Althorp Estate or watch motor racing at Silverstone.

If you're here on business, you can host an event for up to 70 delegates in the hotel's four well-equipped meeting rooms. Planning a wedding?

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
687Reviews2Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 188
  • 210
  • 172
  • 76
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Eimear wrote a review Mar 2020
8 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
At best an average hotel & stay.
Two visits for two nights each on two consecutive months has confirmed my initial thoughts.
Room is spacious, clean & comfortable, shower is nice although prone to flooding the bathroom.
Heating system noisy. Second room noise from road quite obvious - windows not great.
Reception team on both occasions efficient but not overly friendly.
Tried the food/bar last time, fairly lacking in atmosphere, food was OK but expensive for what it was. Breakfast standard fare. Second visit during a renovation was advised if I wanted food they suggest room service, no mention of the replacement bar until I asked.
No information on other facilities.
So apart from noise room quite nice, rest of the experience I wouldn't rate, not a cheap hotel for the standard I've experienced, if it wasn't convenient for meeting would not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Justine S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Dear Eimearhumphreys85, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at our Hotel. My apologies if we were unable to to reach your expectations. I take every feedback on board and for that I would like to thank you. I would like to inform you that we are currently updating or lounge/lobby, so if you do stay with us again in the future I hope you can see our improved hotel. Kind Regards Tiago Rosa Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian S - Newcastle wrote a review Feb 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom60 contributions70 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stay in a lot of UK hotels through work and do tend to use the IHG brand!

This hotel is no more than adequate, the rooms are decent enough and obviously clean, and the staff are generally helpful.

Food however is not up to standard, given the price it is poor value for money.

Very limited menu if your on a rate that includes dinner, so ended up paying extra for full menu.

I won’t detail the quality issues but suffice to say if I stay again I will eat out.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicole207cds wrote a review Feb 2024
Jersey, United Kingdom224 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Room lovely and comfortable
Katie an excellent member of staff who works very hard
No TV control in room when we got there but this was quickly rectified by management
Reception member, a foreign long blonde hair lady extremely helpful but other lady not very welcoming.
Had to wait a long time to be served in the restaurant but then I found out that it was only Katie on duties in both restaurant and bar!! My complaint was quickly rectified with free drinks which was great.
I consider Katie to be an excellent member of staff who deserves recognition for the hard work she does always with a smile
I found that £16.95 for a cooked breakfast was very expensive (compared to £9.95 for everything at Premier Inns)
Car park amazing with camera.
Very clean except skirting board near doorway not cleaned and very dusty
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room value very good but expensive food
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew C wrote a review Mar 2021
18 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Using this hotel consistently for work. The office is in Wellingborough but the dual carriageway makes the trip and easy 10 minute drive as opposed to the Holiday Inn Express in Kettering while bieng the same distance takes twice as long.
Even with COVID restrictions in place the rooms are cleaned every day and breakfast is delivered to the room or can be picked up.
The staff are always accomodating and friendly
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Justine Sindall, Owner at Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel
Responded 24 Mar 2021
Hi Andrew C, We are so pleased we are able to ensuer you not only feel safe, but also continue to have a great experience when staying with us. Your positive comments are most appreciated by everyone in my hard working and dedicated Team. Many Thanks Chris Dutton Business Excellance Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul wrote a review Feb 2020
9 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I checked in and could hardly hear the receptionist over the downstairs bar/pub. Not really my scene with all that noise at 7.30pm so I thought I would eat in my room. Half the menu is light bites and sandwiches so I ventured downstairs hoping the bar calmed down. Plus the menu appeared covered in something sticky.

Shown to a table promptly and order taken, the bar next to the restaurant was still loud so I asked for starter and main together, I didn't want to spend too long down there. A large glass of water, Flat breads and dip, with fish and chips shouldn't take long. 45mins later I get an apology. Followed by starter. Followed by another sorry. Followed by do I want my main now. Followed by an apology and an offer of a complimentary drink. Followed by someone asking if everything was ok?

Oh and no water.

If you want to be ignored for 45mins followed by a stream of people for 10mins go for it.

From now on I'm asking work to avoid this place.

Food ain't great. Room is ok. Staff are useless.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mark55S wrote a review Mar 2020
Chatham, United Kingdom21 contributions27 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Met colleagues for dinner. Bought a coke (small bottle) £3.80. Even central London hotels don’t charge that much. A small glass of wine was £9.00. This place is a little out of the way and consequently they exploit guests.
Dinner was nice but £15 plus service charge for a pie and chips with the smallest portion of mushy peas (served in a tiny ramekin dish) was very over-priced.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Justine S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Dear mark55S, Thank you for your feedback. My apologies you felt our food and beverage offer was overpriced. It's not to exploit guests has you put it, but is in line of what the hotels in the area charge. Please feel free to email me if I can be of any further assistance on fom.hinorthampton@kewgreen.co.uk Kind Regards Tiago Rosa Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mollie wrote a review Aug 2020
Beeston, United Kingdom1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed here a night as we were attending a meeting near by. At first glance the room was nice and clean, but the mattress was filthy (although came with mattress topper). Our air conditioning unit didn’t work, but the person at the front desk was able to come and fix this.

We went on to have 2 drinks and a wrap from their bar, which was extortionately priced! We were served by a lady who went on the shout at the kitchen staff that she was ‘going home now’ so didn’t want to bring our food. The pint wasn’t filled to the top which was also disappointing.

We both ended up having a poor nights sleep, as the mattress was lumpy and the air conditioning unit was so loud (we couldn’t open the windows). Overall a very poor night stay and wouldn’t recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel
Responded 7 Sept 2020
Hello mollie123455, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. While I am glad that the hotel staff was responsive to the concerns raised, I am sorry to learn that the in-room air-conditioning system and mattress fell below expectations. Along with what you shared about your experience at the hotel bar, I have shared your comments with the hotel management. I trust that the actions that will be taken will make your next stays with us better than the last. I hope you stay with us again! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fiona F wrote a review Sept 2021
10 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Travelled here with my 2 elderly parents. On arrival reception staff didn't inform us of basic info such as breakfast times etc.juat handed us keys and left to find way to rooms ourselves. The window handle in one of bedrooms was broken and as such window would not close. That evening overnight some local youths seemed to be using the carpark outside my bedroom as a place to park their cars whilst playing loud music with windows open. When I rang reception. Overnight duty manager came and tried to fix the window, unsuccessfully by applying silicon gel to the frame and pushing window closed which failed to work and so the rest of the night wS spent in a cold room overlooking a noisy carpark. When I told duty manager at 1130pm that this was not acceptable he replied " well there's nothing else I can do at this time of night*. The next day our room keys wouldn't work, a problem shared by other guests. Our rooms still hadn't been cleaned the next day by 430pm. After leaving and returning home we later noticed we had been double charged the stay. I then had to ring hotel 3 times to finally be able to receive a refund. All in all terrible hotel. Stay were over worked. General hotel manager was the breakfast cook as so short staffed. Girl working the bar on the Saturday evening didn't know if a cognac wS a spirit or lager for entering it into the till (no word of a lie!). If your after a pleasant relaxing hassle free stay definatly avoid staying here!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete W wrote a review Feb 2020
Cardiff, United Kingdom30 contributions36 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Winters night and you have 2 choices for sleep - none or none. Air con unit to heat the room is so loud you can’t possibly sleep, or turn it off and not sleep because you’re cold; and that’s in an executive room.
Meal in restaurant, starter okay, but literally as they take the plate away they serve the main course immediately. Not a chance to try and digest the starter. Main course supposedly had crushed root vegetables. They were boiled down so much that then were just mush, with all the flavour boiled out.
After finishing main course, then sat waiting for someone to provide a menu for dessert. This never appeared. In the end I gave up and had to walk to the bar to get the bill. The cheek is that as I told the waiter my complaint, he still tried to put a service charge on the bill. Should have been a refund.
Overpriced and poor
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Justine S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Dear 159petew, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. It's disappointing to read that on this occasion we were unable to provide you with a good experience, either being in our Restaurant and our room. We pride ourselves on the consistent good service we provide and we appreciate all feedback from our guests. If you have any questions please reach out to me directly on fom.hinorthampton@kewgreen.co.uk Hope to welcome you back to the Hotel and show you that we can improve and provide you an excellent stay. Kind Regards Tiago Rosa Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard A wrote a review Sept 2021
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
They cancelled my booking with less than two weeks notice , and now I can’t book a reasonable priced hotel near an event I’m going to.

The hotel is due to house Afghan Refugees and the hotel closed down quickly and cancelled all bookings. If I had cancelled I would be charged a cancellation cost of the night I had paid for!! As they cancelled, no apology, no alternative offered, call centre useless and tried to then offer hotel some 40 miles away!

Bad form for hotel group to treat customers this way.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel
Responded 8 Oct 2021
Hello Richard A, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to read about the cancellation of your reservation. I completely understand your disappointment. We appreciate you letting us know about your experience. Trust that your comments are all taken into account and shared with the hotel management as a reference for the necessary improvements. I also sent you a private message to further reach out to you. We hope that your future travel plans will continue to include IHG Hotels and Resorts! Many thanks, Jonathan A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Tiago Rosa
Hi Tasha, Yes, there is a security deposit the hotel holds, that is £50 on top of what you are paying for the room. This deposit, or a pre authorisation, is released on the day of check out and depending on the bank, it will be back in your account same day or in max 5 working days. Please feel free to search for pre authorisation on a search engine to find out more. A credit card pre-authorization is much like any other charge to a credit card, except instead of actually debiting funds from the cardholder you just put a temporary "hold" on the funds.
Answer from Scott R
Northampton, United Kingdom1 contribution
Hello Sabina, I hope you are well? I have just received this request and just wanted to know it was for our hotel. We are the Holiday Inn Northampton in the United Kingdom. I just wanted to check as the questions you are asking don't really relate to our property. Please let me know if I can still be of assistance. Many thanks Scott Randall General Manager
JestersDead wrote a tip Mar 2024
Liverpool, United Kingdom38 contributions27 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't go, there is better"
Read full review
Lee W wrote a tip Mar 2024
7 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go somewhere else"
Read full review
Nicole207cds wrote a tip Feb 2024
Jersey, United Kingdom224 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room value very good but expensive food"
Read full review
Jamie M wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Air con seems to be an issue. "
Read full review
LeicaUser wrote a tip Aug 2021
Northwich, United Kingdom179 contributions87 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try somewhere else. Nice staff, but that’s not enough."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Northampton area.
PRICE RANGE
£53 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn northampton hotel northampton, northampton holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Courtyard
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNorthamptonshireNorthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN NORTHAMPTON, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Pinnacle Climbing Centre (1.8 miles), Trapp'd Billing (2.3 miles), and Trapp'd Northampton (1.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Playhouse Northampton, The Shed Cafe, and Turtle Bay Northampton.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Battle of Naseby Obelisk (3.5 miles) and Little Houghton Stocks (1.7 miles).
Is Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Northampton HotelsNorthampton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NorthamptonHotels near Holiday Inn Northampton, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire