Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (77)
Room & Suite (54)
Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#4 of 27 hotels in Northampton
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located just seconds from the M1, the Holiday Inn Express® Northampton - South offers a handy base for business and leisure travel. Drive to Birmingham Airport and Luton Airport in under an hour. Catch trains from Northampton station, five miles away, or head on the nearby M1 if you've got the car. On-site parking is free for guests. Watch British Motor Racing events at Silverstone Circuit, a 20-minute drive away, or cheer on Northampton FC at Sixfields Stadium. For a change of pace, explore the beautiful gardens of Woburn Abbey or visit the Grade 1 listed Althorp Estate, 10 miles from the hotel. Discover a variety of shops and rich local history in Northampton town centre. Fancy a show? Grab tickets for the Royal and Derngate Theatre. Get down to business at major companies in Brackmills Industrial Estate and Moulton Park Industrial Estate, close to the hotel. Book events for up to 70 people with our seven air-conditioned meeting rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Snack bar
Meeting rooms
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Telephone
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

Loake Close Grange Park, Northampton NN4 5EZ England
623Reviews6Q+A79Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 277
  • 242
  • 72
  • 19
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Slobba wrote a review May 2023
East Midlands58 contributions56 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the first time I have used this particular hotel in 2 years following a poor experience and I have to say it has improved enormously since.

The initial communications were excellent confirming my room request and advising me of a major road closure. On booking in the staff were friendly, the process efficient and quick.

The room was well presented, clean and well equipped. Breakfast was plentiful and included a reasonable choice.

All in all I am glad I gave this hotel another chance and I take my hat of to those that helped make it a pleasant experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Manager, Marketing at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 May 2023
Slobba, thanks for your top marks! We're thrilled you had a fab time in our hotel! It is great to see we have improved since your previous visit 2 years ago. Thanks for choosing our hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon. All the best, Louise - Hotel Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Slobba wrote a review Jul 2020
East Midlands58 contributions56 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The last time I stayed at this hotel I was very complimentary about the staff, accommodation, location and food. Much of that still stands.

However, the decision to change breakfast from a hot buffet style to a so called 'grab and go' breakfast is a retrograde step. For many travellers, a great cooked breakfast is amongst the top priorities for a great experience and a good start to the day. The Holiday Inn changes have removed that and in my opinion this is a massive mistake and suggests they really don't understand their customers or simply don't care.

Over the years I have spent literally thousands of nights in hotels in different countries and with wide-ranging budgets. I know a little about what a traveller wants when he or she is away from home.

I don't know if this change is a consequence of Covid 19 measures but if it is, it is still unacceptable, because most hotels have simply moved from a buffet style to table service.

The only hot part of the breakfast was, in reality, a lukewarm 'breakfast roll' with undercooked bacon which had a consistency akin to soft plastic.

I hadn't realised that there had been a change to the cooked breakfast service. If I had, then I most certainly wouldn't have booked and I will not be staying here again. This is a very poor show Holiday Inn and I would suggest you spend a little more time speaking with your clientele before making such a fundamental change.

As for travellers to Northampton, there are many other options in and around the town, and I for one will be looking for an alternative next time I visit. Perhaps you should consider the same? If you are not worried about a decent breakfast, then it's still a good place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rhys Brown, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 24 Jul 2020
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, Slobba. It's great to hear from our returning guests and appreciate the super 5/5 you've scored us for cleanliness and service. The changes you've seen in our breakfast service are an outcome of adhering to Government regulations due to COVID-19. We put the safety of our guests and team at the top of our list, hopefully one day in the near future we can once again open our breakfast buffet. Sorry to hear that you weren't aware of these changes, we've worked tirelessly to include these updates across all our websites. Stay Safe! Rhys B
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TheCBs wrote a review Apr 2022
Saint-Germain de Belves, France321 contributions175 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We usually stay in a hotel next to this one , which is cheaper, when we have commitments family or business in the area but this was fully booked. We have a dog and Holiday inn is one of the few chains that still allow dogs. We were given a very spacious room that was clean and fresh ( often when you travel with your pets your room smells like dog ) The hotel was quiet, we had a great nights sleep
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynnette G wrote a review Mar 2020
20 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A friendly and helpful hotel, being able to take dogs in the rooms was a real bonis and even better that the dogs were aloud in the bar area. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The breakfast was great and they even provided paper bags so you could make your bacon butty and take it with you
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GemmaG741, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful and long feedback on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to see we have met your expectations and made your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Northampton-South memorable and enjoyable. Of course we are a pet friendly hotel. We would love to have you back when you are next in the area. Look forward welcoming you soon in the near future. Kind Regards/Claude/Team Leader
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Empcom wrote a review Jan 2020
Luston, United Kingdom433 contributions418 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stopped here for one night whilst returning from a new year visit to friends. The receptionist on arrival (Chantelle) was extremely friendly and helpful and acknowledged my IHG membership. In fact all the staff we met were very friendly. The room was good with a nice high pressure hot shower, though the positioning of electrical sockets could be improved. Breakfast in the morning was basic but tasty and one of the hottest buffets I have ever had. Overall a very good stay for a bargain price of £38!. I would have no hesitation in staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlotte W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Jan 2020
ear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Northampton – South. Thank you for giving us 5/5. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for your kind comments. Many thanks, Sarah. Guest Service Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Basil423 wrote a review Oct 2020
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom19 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Holiday Inn Express need to be applauded for their excellent efforts in these difficult Covid-19 circumstances. The check in and reception experience was super with a lovely warm welcome. Lots of hand sanitiser points. The room and bathroom were immaculate. Breakfast was excellent and very well thought out in these challenging times with every single item individually wrapped. Lovely hot bacon and sausage rolls in soft white baps, choice of wholemeal and other breads to toast and croissants all individually wrapped. Individual porridge pots and cereal pots and safe milk dispenser. A lot of thought has gone into the breakfast and it works! Will return!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claude Kularatnam, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 21 Oct 2020
Good Morning Basil423, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Northampton. I am delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. Look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Kind Regards/Claude/Team Leader
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jamie and Megan wrote a review Feb 2022
Halstead, United Kingdom161 contributions38 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
So I arrived early as my car was having some work done at EBC 5 miles Down the road and was greeted by Lisa W. She was extremely polite and welcomed me in to wait for my room to be ready as check in isn’t till 1600.

I was in the room by half 2 which was a touch because I managed to get some sleep in the afternoon. The room was clean and well presented with 2 kettles, tea and coffee and ironing setup ready to be used.

The bathroom is fairly small but the toilet is closed off by the door nicely while someone else uses the shower, into the shower low pressure and didn’t heat up well at all. The hairdryer is housed opposite the bed next to the mirror.

The bed was very comfortable and I managed a full nights sleep but before I slept I got comfy on the sofa and watched TV.

A decent sized desk and chair are also available.

Breakfast left me a bit disappointed, it was all relatively nice but the eggs were horrible powdered things and tasted tank.

Overall I would recommend a stay here for a short term but if you in for the long haul the breakfast would become boring by day 2
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Izaskun Olarreaga, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Feb 2022
Thank you for your very kind words, JamieandMooz! We try hard to make our guests feel at home and well taken care of. It is because of customers like you that we continued to improve as a business. Our priority is customer service and we're over the moon that we met that mark! We're glad to hear you were impressed with the modern facilities. We're sorry to hear about the shower issue. We've located your room number so will pass this to our maintenance team to fix it. We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future! Best regards, Izaskun
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amie W wrote a review Sept 2020
United Kingdom6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in this hotel as part of a roadtrip, and found the bedroom was as expected: clean, convenient, good shower, and a good nights sleep overall.

However, Breakfast was poor. We understand it’s during COVID, and appreciate the “grab and go” idea (with everything in convenient paper bags), but we found the breakfast baps were all put in a warm “incubator” where they dried out and the bread was rock solid because of this. Also everyone was touching the same milk dispenser for cereal/tea/coffee etc which really defeats the objective of having food in separate bags. Also there wasn’t the option for toast which is disappointing. Could they maybe put the bread in Separate paper bags and had people using the toaster one at a time to avoid transmitting virus?
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ann C wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
So i visit this hotel often to help out a friend and usually its okay. They are always very accommodating of my assistance dog and things go smoothly and the price isnt terrible.

This time i called to book a double disables access room and initially was told the price for the night was £65. I said no and went to end the call to which they said actually its £55 now! That is so cheeky its unreal especially considering what ive paid in the past. Anyway i went ahead and booked it but didnt get a confirmation email,no biggie i thought. Until i arrived and i have not been given the disabled access room and it had a single bed in which is not suitable for me due to my disabilities.

I went downstairs and the poor receptionist and maintenance man had to rush around to find a ground floor room and ended up giving me one that was out of order as thats all they had and i was going to have to make the 100 mile trip home that night if they couldnt sort anything.

I really appreciate what they did and its not their fault at all but the room wasn't disabled access as requested,it was dusty,had dead flies on the bed and the aircon squeeked. All not a problem i can live with it but for the amount i paid for the night i would expect this and it means i cannot have a shower or anything until i get home due to the lack of handles if my joints play up.

Very sad as i usually love staying at this hotel and all the staff are perfect with my assistance dog. I may have to look elsewhere now as a result of this as i asked 3 times over the phone to confirm the room type and why and it still didnt happen.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claude Kularatnam, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 Apr 2021
Dear N1142BHannc, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay here with us at The Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South. I am pleased to hear that the team tried there best to accommodate your needs. Upon checking your booking we did not have any accessible rooms or double rooms available hence the reason the central reservations team had booked it as a standard room which will be allocated on availability however this should have been clearly communicated to you. . Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience this has caused you, we highly appreciate your feedback as this will help us improve our services better. We hope for the opportunity serve you again in the near future, and we thank you for your continued support.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ifty1987 wrote a review Oct 2023
Cambridge, United Kingdom551 contributions436 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for 1 night on a Saturday at the end of October having booked a room via booking.com. The hotel is easy to find with sat-nav and has plenty of parking. There is a Harvester directly opposite the hotel. The location is on the outskirts of Northampton and takes about 15 mins to drive into the centre. You need to register your vehicle registration via the QR code at reception to avoid parking fines. Check-in was smooth and simple and the friendly receptionist explained breakfast times, how to sort the parking and how to get to my room. I was in room 17 on the ground floor which was a twin room (for some reason this was cheaper than booking a double room for a solo stay).
The room itself was clean and had the usual facilities you would expect like TV, tea/coffee making facilities and hangers. The iron & iron board was a welcome plus. The bed was comfortable with alternative hard / soft pillow options available. There weren't any plug sockets next to the bed which was annoying. The bathroom did have a strange smell on arrival but this disappeared after a few hours. The TV has basic Freeview. There is air con and you can also open the window for fresh air (only opens a few inches).
Breakfast is served from 7am to 10am. I found it very busy at 9am and the selection is quite poor compared to Premier Inn breakfasts for example. There were no eggs which I found weird for a breakfast buffet and the baps were stale.
Another negative for me was that the tap in the bathroom would only produce hot / warm water no matter which side you turned it to. This was particularly annoying if you wanted cold water for drinking. I had to walk over to reception at 1am in the morning to buy bottled water. The cooler / fridge was broken so the water was not even cold. 3 bottles cost me almost £6.

Overall, I found this to be quite an average hotel and I would say the quality is not as good as Premier Inn but better than Travelodge. It's a good budget option for a stay near Northampton.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Responded 31 Oct 2023
Thanks for your review, Ifty! We're glad to have you as a customer. We would not be able to grow and improve without feedback like yours. We are sorry to see you had issues with the bathroom tap. Please know that our team are available 24/7 to help with any issues that might happen during your stay. We hope your next stay is just around the corner. All the best, Louise - Hotel Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janine W asked a question May 2021
Newchapel, United Kingdom
How is breakfast being served to guests.
Answer from Slobba
East Midlands58 contributions56 helpful votes
It is self service and consists of bacon or sausages in a bun. There is coffee making facilities, fruit juice and cereals. But if you are looking for a cooked breakfast, I would give it a miss! Regards
Ched17 asked a question May 2019
County Durham, United Kingdom1 contribution
Hairdryers in rooms ????
Answer from ashish g
Pune, India95 contributions77 helpful votes
yes they have.
bonavigo asked a question May 2017
London, United Kingdom6 contributions11 helpful votes
what time is checkout available to
Answer from Gemma
Northampton, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
Hello, Our check out time is by 12 noon. If I can help any further please do let me know. Kind Regards Gemma Acting General Manager
Answer from nrg162
Luneburg, Germany101 contributions70 helpful votes
Sorry cant help u there, but Taxis are available.
jamie W wrote a tip Feb 2024
Bury, United Kingdom247 contributions77 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Location. Just of the m1"
Read full review
piacornwall wrote a tip Dec 2023
Penzance, United Kingdom43 contributions30 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"if you expect fried eggs with a cooked breakfast go elsewhere"
Read full review
Haych wrote a tip May 2023
6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have a blue light card, book on that app you get a discount !"
Read full review
Dawn B wrote a tip Jan 2023
Padstow, United Kingdom68 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good for parking, Haverster next door. Easy to get to from M1 Junction 15 "
Read full review
lolly l wrote a tip Dec 2022
New Malden, United Kingdom113 contributions127 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
" Choose to stay at this friendly hotel You are made to feel so welcome Also If you forget any toiletries, etc complimentary ones are available from reception."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Northampton area.
PRICE RANGE
£49 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express northampton m1, jct 15 hotel northampton, holiday inn northampton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNorthamptonshireNorthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
126
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS NORTHAMPTON - SOUTH, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Grange Inn, Northampton (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wig & Walnut, Ashiana, and The Wooden walls of Old England.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Canal Museum (3.2 miles), Little Houghton Stocks (4.1 miles), and The Old Stoke Bruerne Railway Station (3.2 miles).
Is Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Northampton HotelsNorthampton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NorthamptonHotels near Holiday Inn Express Northampton - South, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire