We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St James Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
St James Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 555: English reviews
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our room was very good,but the long dark corridor leading to it was not impressive . No evening meal in the hotel so we went to a Indian only 5mins walk around the corner that was out of this world,the food and they way we were looked after was just 5 star. Back to the hotel with friends for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kateellery40
Derby
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good Value, Easy to Find. Easy to park (if a little expensive but Multi Storey option may be cheaper) Comfortable rooms recently refurbished. (View was limited but in a City Centre hotel this is inevitable) Walking Distance to central area's. Self Service Breakfast which has lots of Choice. Good Wi-Fi Happy to recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrevorM434
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went for our work Christmas party, for £40 the food was poor (were the roasts frozen?!) and didn't appear freshly prepared. Would have been acceptable in your local pub. The DJ was average but with a poor set-up. Staff were good but let down by poor food and lack of thought in overall execution. Can't recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GreatrExpectations
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good location in Nottingham for castle and center.. very easy to walk from so a good base for exploring. Room was fine, bathroom very small. Nice touch in room was the sleep spray, not sure it helps but nice idea. Bar was fine too but didn't have ingredients for some of the cocktails. Breakfast was good, although sausage was standard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marco B Thank you for your review of St James Hotel. I will look at some of the points raised with the hotel management team and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards

Consett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for four nights with a couple of friends. The reception area was lovely, spacious with the most beautiful flower arrangement in the foyer. We were welcomed and booked in by the friendly and efficient staff. Our rooms on the sixth floor were clean and comfortable, we did have to ask for the heated towel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martin1096734
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear martin1096734 Thank you for your review of St James Hotel. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the city. Kindest regards

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Last night was our annual Christmas party. We will not be returning next year. Paid a lot for the pleasure of cold food, no red wine that I ordered, out of order card machine and to top it all! A Disco that finished at 00:30 when advertised until 01:00. Staff all obviously Xmas temps with little catering experience. Very poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poppypoopants
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Poppypoopants Thank you for your review. My apologies you did not enjoy the party this weekend. The party nights conclude at 1am however the bar closes at 12:45 and we do advise last orders 20 minutes prior. I am sorry to read you found the food cold, the nutloaf main course is served warm and our experience is if...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I've been there for four nights! The hotel is pretty good, nice breakfast and room, very clean as well! The location is good too. Only one thing needs a note, no bottle of water and no mini bar in the room.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mario C
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mario C Thank you for your review of St James Hotel. I am delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and we have complimentary bottled water in all our rooms again now, my apologies this wasn't in your room during your stay. Kindest regards

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here when at conference at Nottingham Uni which was a 10 minute walk away. Very central next to Nottingham Castle. 5 mins from Christmas Market. Smart rooms and restaurant area. I had a crash pad which is a small room just for one so perfect for business travellers although still had a double bed etc. I'd have happily stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn_T149
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lyn_T149 Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with fellow travellers. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and found our crash pad rooms met your requirements. I will pass your kind comments on to Bastian who will be happy to be personally mentioned. Kind regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Good. The location is great for most Nottingham sights, near the Castle. The public areas are well decorated, funky as you would expect from a boutique hotel. Bad. Well average.......... we booked two nights. The room was small. Sooo small we had to move the desk chair to get round the bed. Ugly. The bathroom............. this is not 4 star....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colin B
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Colin B Thank you for your review and taking time to leave feedback. I will review the points you have made with my management team to make the necessary improvements. Once again thank you for your comments. Kindest regards

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

we came here to Nottingham last week for the Christmas markets and stayed at The St James hotel. we were impressed by the foyer and cleanliness of the hotel. the receptionist wasn't too helpful as she looked bored but this may be because her English wasn't that good, same with the waiter in the bar in the evening but they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernadettecollins76
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bernadettecollins76 Thank you for your review and taking the time to share your experience with fellow travellers. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and would recommend the hotel, I do hope we welcome you back again soon. Warmest regards

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#13 of 54 in Nottingham
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#10 of 54 in Nottingham
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in a quiet area of Nottingham city centre adjacent to Nottingham Castle, the St James Hotel is just a 10 minute walk from Nottingham train station and within a short drive of the M1 making the hotel a perfect choice for business and leisure travellers.Guest facilities include complimentary WIFI and onsite parking. Additional parking is available in the adjacent NCP car park. We operate a non smoking hotel policy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St James Hotel

Address: 1 Rutland Street, Nottingham NG1 6FL, England (Formerly Rutland Square Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Price Range: £49 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St James Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your St James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Square Nottingham
Hotel Rutland Square
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St James Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Bath, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Dudley, United Kingdom

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from St James Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure each time we have stayed,nice room,no view but as its near the park ask!”
 of 5 bubbles kateellery40, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms overlook Multi Storey Car Park”
 of 5 bubbles TrevorM434, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room on the sixth floor was extremely quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles martin1096734, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Top floors to see over the rooftops. Not the corner rooms as apparently they were draughty.”
 of 5 bubbles Lyn_T149, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“6th floor very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 271rogerd, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay