We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Walton Hotel, Bar & Restaurant

Traveller (106)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (12)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated in the historic Park area of the city of Nottingham, The Walton provides the perfect retreat. Built as a hunting lodge in the early 1800's, this unique residence has retained many of its original features whilst offering all of the conveniences of modern living. This prestigious and secluded location is amazingly just 10 minutes walk from the vibrant centre of Nottingham. Here you'll find a superb range of shops, bars, pubs, restaurants, theatres and the city's historic castle. Beautifully decorated throughout, The Walton offers 24 stunning double, superior and family rooms all with FREE WIFI, a lively bar and stylish restaurant serving a delicious menu. You can also relax on the spacious terrace and enjoy a cocktail or sample a selection of lighter bites from our seasonal menus. The Walton is also the perfect setting for private parties and functions, all tailor-made to meet your requirements.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
583Reviews
154Photos
4Q+A
84Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 267
  • 146
  • 77
  • 42
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Staff are an absolute wonder, couldn’t do enough to make my stay brilliant. Warm fires glowing in the lounge areas and there are loads. Fluffy blankets available to keep you warm, yay. Now the bit I don’t want to say, parking! I booked this place for the main reason hoping
Read more
Response from Customers27, Guest Relations Manager at The Walton Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments, I think there may be a little confusion regarding your stay, we do have a small car park and on street parking which is adjacent to the hotel, this is not guaranteed and is complimentary as part of your stay, most city hotels would not offer this and we feel that it is a benefit to the Walton, we are sorry that it did satisfy your requirements. We have an extensive drink menu ranging from soft drinks and house wine that are very reasonably priced, we also serve speciality drinks that come at a premium, we hope that this suits all of our guests taste and pockets? We are a small grade 2 listed building therefore the rooms will not be of a standard chain hotel, if you found this not to be of your liking we are very sorry. We are also in the unfortunate position of having to place a small notice in the rooms reminding our guests that our complimentary dressing gowns and Elemis toiletry dispensers will be charged if the are taken, and although they are securely attached they are taken regularly! We still want to provide these luxuries to our guests therefore have found the need to take these steps, not something we want to do and unfortunately for our honest residents this can be a little uncomfortable, once again our apologies if this is how it made you feel. Our public areas are still undergoing refurbishment. You may be confused regarding your pre auth on arrival, this is a hold put on your card for incidentals during your stay and is released by us on check out, normal practice for a hotel, it is not charged unless you authorise it to be used. Your bank releases the pre auth upon our request at check out. We hope this may explain some of your dissatisfaction. Kind Regards Guest Relations
Read more
Recently stayed at the Walton in Nottingham, which was a nightmare visit. Before arrival I had requested a couple of favours to make my girlfriends visit a magical one. I however after them ringing me to state they could not fulfil the request other than place presseco in the
Read more
Response from Sarah W, Guest Relations Manager at The Walton Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, We are extremely sorry that you felt our communication to you regarding additional charges were not clearly communicated to you, despite us informing you on two occasions before your arrival that sundries ordered to your room were chargeable. On booking.com it states that you are able to order wine and champagne to the room as we do not have mini bars, it also states that we have a large terrace that is available to residents. You requested chargeable items to your room which were there on your arrival, we realise that you had cancelled the said items, however this was not communicated correctly within the hotel, for this we take responsibility and apologise, however we would have happily removed them if requested upon check in or could have been left unconsumed by yourself. As you consumed the said items, you were charged on departure. The hotel uses a pre authorisation on your card upon check in which is clearly stated on the booking, this is normal practise for this type of business. This is not a charge placed on your card it is an amount held by your bank that is released as soon as you check out, therefore you are mistaking the amount on your final invoice, you were charged for your overnight accommodation and any sundries consumed during your stay. We do not appreciate verbal attacks made towards our staff or indeed insinuating that they are liars, at no point did our member of staff that you spoke to say they owned the hotel, not that should be any concern to yourself? We have staff available at reception 24 hours a day, and if there is nobody at the desk there is a bell that can be rang to raise the receptionist or night porter who will attend very quickly, there is also a telephone within the room that can be used. We are sorry that you found our hotel to your disliking and that you were confused about what was included in your £60.00 room rate. Regards
Read more
We had a pub meal in the bar closest to the main entrance and were fortunate to get a table near a roaring open fire. The food was great and the atmosphere was very cozy. Parking was easy to find on the public road just behind (to the south).
Read more
Response from Sarah W, Guest Relations Manager at The Walton Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed our lovely facilities and hope that we may welcome you back in the near future. Our beautiful terrace is very popular during the warmer months. Kind Regards
Read more
Stayed mid-week. Cool hotel and I stayed in one of the outbuildings. Probably more of a party hotel given the venue and the boutique style. Room was well furnished. Staff were friendly. Free parking. Would stay again :)
Read more
Response from Sarah W, Guest Relations Manager at The Walton Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent visit to The Walton, we are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and ambience. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards
Read more
Stayed on Tuesday whilst going to a concert at Rock City. Staff were brilliant, atmosphere was great and prices are reasonable. Few minor areas of freshening up required but I thought it was excellent and will highly recommend and return next time I’m on Notts . Only
Read more
Response from Sarah W, Guest Relations Manager at The Walton Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Responded 2 weeks ago
Many thanks for you review of The Walton, we are delighted that you found our staff helpful and pleasant and enjoyed the location.Your feedback is much appreciated. Kind Regards
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementThe Walton Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Superior Room - Annex
Room
PreviousNext
12345612
Yes. Its about 15 mins walk from the town centre.
2 votes
Show all answers
You posted under The Walton Bar and Restaurant not The Walton Hotel, they seem to have two on the go.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi, please could you contact us directly using the contact form on our website in order to discuss this issue. Many thanks.
-1 votes
"Dont trust their website pictures"
"the terrace has loud music playing during the evening - not sure when that was turned off as we were out."
"My room was quiet Watson Room."
"Back of the building"
"if you like to have a good full breakfast then this is not the place"
PreviousNext
12345617
PRICE RANGE
US$70 - US$229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
walton`s hotel and restaurantwaltons hotel nottingham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNottingham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing