We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Royal Oak

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Royal Oak
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 113: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Good location within easy walking distance of the main street. Room looks a little tired, but clean and comfortable. Husband and wife Managers are engaging and eager to please. Very enjoyable breakfast (plus had good evening meal in the pub as well). On-site parking at the rear is limited, so suggest early check-in before the locals settle in for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Revival
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Well situated hotel just a couple of hundred yards from the main high street. Parking is available though a little limited. The room I stayed in was number 1 and is directly over the bar so there was some noise until the bar closed, not terrible but if you wanted peace and quiet the other room is probably better. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
RoyalOakBurford, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies regarding the shower in your room.As you have advised we were not made aware of this issue so we were unable to rectify it during your stay.The shower has now been fixed & is in good working order.

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Lovely place to stay , Burford is amazing like stepping back in time. Room was comfortable, at the back so no noise. Easy to park. Really friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. Food superb the pies were lovely. Stayed for two nights and it was a perfect base to tour around. Highly recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julieterry2016
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

This property is in a good location. No frills. One major caveat, we missed breakfast as they only serve between 8&9am which is ridiculous. We had to leave for the airport at 7.45 and they refused to serve earlier but charged us all the same! Very unaccommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Emmalizi
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Had a lovely nights stay here.Our room was quite big, was well heated and had all the mod cons. We ate in the restaurant with our daughter at night which was lovely. The pies are very well recommended and the service brilliant. In the morning we had the breakfast which was 10/10 and the overall stay was very good value...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris S
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

We booked here from Sunday to Tuesday starting off with a fabulously Sunday lunch. There's a relaxed feel when you walk in and the service is all you can wish for. The only reason I gave it 4 out of 5 is the bathroom could do with updating. I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim P
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Friendly welcome and nice meal in the evening, had to leave to early for breakfast so they made me a BLT to take with me, next time I will make sure I can try the breakfast as well. Room a little cold in the morning but an extra heater in the room soon sorted that out.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard W
Plymouth, UK.
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We needed somewhere to stay on our last night in the Witney area and my wife found this place. The Royal Oak has a great little bar and the barman is very friendly with bags of local knowledge. If you are new to this area then he can point you in the right direction for some must see sights. As...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank catoliver
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our visit. Lovely rooms and we had an evening meal on one of the nights. We both had pies and they were very good indeed with really rich red wine gravy. When we dined out of the town we came back to the bar so we could have a drink. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RinaRogers
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Very pleasant stay at this BnB. Only 2 rooms available,so you'd need to book early, especially during the summer season. John is a friendly and helpful host. Our room was large with adequate storage. We were in the Cotswolds for 4 nights to attend a wedding and the large room was very welcome. The room was clean. There was always...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eleni38

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
444 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Tree Hotel
Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Oak is a traditional British Inn, offering freshly prepared food, great real ales and bed and breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: Witney Street, Burford OX18 4SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Price Range: £54 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Oak 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Burford
The Royal Oak Burford, Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Oak staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Probably room 2 as its not above the bar”
 of 5 bubbles 697ianm, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the larger of the two.”
 of 5 bubbles chrissV177JG, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The room to the right at the top of the stairs is the biggest!”
 of 5 bubbles seastar209, 27 May 2015 | Read review
“There are only two rooms, so getting in is hit or miss, book ahead”
 of 5 bubbles kelandchez, 22 May 2015 | Read review
“There are only two rooms at this pub which are reached by an outside staircase.”
 of 5 bubbles G7444OOangelad, 16 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay