We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Old Bank Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (463)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (312)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 45 hotels in Oxford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens. This Georgian, stone building has forty three luxury bedrooms, including a rooftop bedroom and terrace, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and stimulating twentieth century paintings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Electric vehicle charging station
Paid private parking nearby
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Walking tours
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese and 1 more
1,622Review19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,138
  • 361
  • 81
  • 29
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
sallymac32017 wrote a review 2 Apr
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
Fantastic hotel !! Stayed for 2 nights for my husband's 60th birthday. We had a classic double room which was spacious with a large double bed , mini bar , tea/ coffee, hair dryer and plenty of storage for cases and hanging space for clothes. Absolutely spotlessly clean , lovely bathroom with big fluffy towels. Fresh milk and a large bottle of still water were left each day , and a suprise on my husband's birthday when we returned from our day out to a selection of cakes which was lovely. The food was good and the service from all the staff was exceptional. Easy to walk in to town and also great having secure reserved parking at the hotel . We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again , well done to The old bank you're doing a great job,!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Klara Antal, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Bank Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Old Bank Hotel for your husband's birthday celebration. We're delighted to hear you had a fantastic 5-star experience. We strive to make every stay special, and the birthday surprise with cakes is a lovely example of our team's attentiveness. We appreciate you mentioning the comfortable room, delicious food, and exceptional service. We will be sure to share your kind words with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kindest regards, Klara Antal Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
2012RAW wrote a review Mar 2024
Littleport, United Kingdom180 contributions59 helpful votes
Return visit, we enjoy staying here, the location is perfect, plus there is parking (no extra charge), and the staff all nice & polite. Our room was nice & spacious, beautiful view , clean & tidy. As it was my birthday we were gifted a couple of cocktails on the bar, which was lovely so thank you. Breakfast has a good choice, all freshly made to order. The only thing I would say is, it would be nice if there was more of a separate bar area to just enjoy drinks. Overall the hotel is lovely, and hopefully next time we will get to enjoy the library area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Klara Antal, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Bank Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review following your return visit to our hotel. It's fantastic to know that the location, complimentary parking, and our friendly staff continue to impress you. We take great pride in ensuring our rooms are spacious, clean, and offer beautiful views for our guests to relax in. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the cocktails on the bar – a small token of our appreciation for celebrating your birthday with us. Regarding your suggestion for a separate bar area, we truly appreciate your feedback. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the guest experience, and your input is valuable. We will certainly consider this suggestion as we explore future enhancements. In the meantime, we hope you'll get the chance to enjoy the library area on your next visit. Thank you again for choosing the Old Bank Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards, Klara Antal Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael M wrote a review Feb 2024
5 contributions
Wow. What a lovely hotel. Special mention to the team (especially Catia, who looked after us throughout our stay, apologies if it's the incorrect spelling!!) on the front desk, who answered all our questions about parking/breakfast/anything in between and seemed to be able to do 1000 things at once. Really comfortable rooms, excellent location, and such a warm atmosphere. Would definitely recommend and will be staying again the next time we're in Oxford :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The breakfast is delicious, try it if you can!! Staff accommodate any allergies too.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Klara Antal, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Bank Hotel
Responded 2 Mar 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be lovely. It is truly rewarding to know that our team, especially Catia (whose spelling is correct!), made such a positive impact on your experience. We strive to create a warm and welcoming atmosphere for all our guests, and your kind words affirm that we are achieving our goal. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon, and in the meantime, please feel free to reach out to us directly if you have any questions or require assistance planning your next stay. Kindest regards, Klara Antal Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nick C wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Staff was rude and unhelpful. We were told we had an early check in but when we arrived we had to to wait till 3 pm. We had to report for work by then so I did not get to my room until after 11 at night. Then they refused to allow a late check out at noon instead of 11 even thought we were told the day before that noon check out was fine. On top of that the staff had a holier than thou attitude and were just unkind. I would never stay here again. For the last three weeks we have stayed at 10 different 4 and 5 star hotels in the Uk and all the others could not have been nicer or more welcoming. When you are in a service industry the way your guests are treated is paramount. Do not stay here if that is at all important to you. If constant rudeness and being treated like you are not welcome is what you are after, then this is the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Klara Antal, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Bank Hotel
Responded 1 Mar 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We take all guest feedback seriously and appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention. While we strive to accommodate special requests whenever possible, it's important to clarify our policies as well as to address the specific points you raised in your review, as they do not accurately reflect the standard of service we strive to provide. As per our hotel policy, early check-in is subject to availability and cannot be guaranteed. While we may have discussed the possibility of an early check-in upon your initial inquiry, this was not confirmed at the time. Similarly, late check-out is also subject to availability and requires confirmation on the day of the departure. While we understand that a departure at noon would have been convenient, this could not be accommodated on your specific date due to pre-existing reservations. Our policies are readily available on our website as well as on our online booking platforms, however if you require further explanation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly via reception@oldbankhotel.co.uk. Regarding your comments about staff behaviour, we pride ourselves on providing excellent service and we are deeply disappointed to hear that you perceived our staff as rude or dismissive. We hold our team members to the highest standards of professionalism and courtesy, so we will now initiate a thorough investigation into this matter to understand the specific details of your interactions with them. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and please do not hesitate to reach out in case you require further clarification. Best wishes, Klara Antal Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
c11ffc wrote a review Jan 2024
Worthing, United Kingdom69 contributions107 helpful votes
The Old Bank Hotel was a great find. Located in the centre of Oxford with its own car park, it is so easy to drive up and stay. The hotel is beautifully designed and decorated. We stayed in a small double room but it was well designed so didn’t feel small. The bathroom felt spacious too with a lovely rainfall shower. The room was spotless and well equipped with everything you’d need. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with our parking arrangements. Our booking included breakfast which was very nice. Will be returning as soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking available
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Klara Antal, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Bank Hotel
Responded 26 Feb 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide our guests with a 5-star experience, and it's truly rewarding to know that we succeeded in your case. We are incredibly grateful for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to the Old Bank Hotel soon, perhaps for an other birthday celebration. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly if there's anything we can do to make your next stay even more memorable. Kindest regards, Klara Antal Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Smileydeb wrote a review Jan 2024
Firsdown, United Kingdom324 contributions118 helpful votes
A special birthday weekend. Reception greeting was welcoming. Room was clean and well appointed. No real noise from the road outside. Location is excellent. Loved the artwork & purposely walked down the 3 flights of stairs to view it. The turn down service & tidying/bathroom cleaning in the evening was great & very welcome. Beds were comfortable. We had twin beds and, as with most hotels, single quilts which tend to fall off in the night. We much prefer a double quilt. Good choice of breakfast & loved the ambience. The first morning I was surprised the be served my fruit & cooked breakfast at the same time! A second cup of coffee was not offered but was provided on request. We ate in the Quod restaurant our first night & loved it. Service, food all excellent. And free cocktails & champagne! What’s not to like. I would recommend staying in this lovely hotel if in Oxford.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check your route in if driving to avoid a fine.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Klara Antal, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Bank Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your birthday weekend experience. We appreciate your kind words about our reception team, the room's cleanliness, location, and artwork. Regarding the bed quilts, we apologise for the inconvenience with the single covers. We'll certainly consider offering double quilts as an option in the future. Furthermore, we're happy to know you enjoyed the breakfast selection and ambience. While we strive for a seamless service, it appears there was a lapse in serving your courses simultaneously. We will address this with our staff to ensure a more refined experience. Thank you again for recommending our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay. Best wishes, Klara Antal Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dave W wrote a review Jan 2024
Warrington, United Kingdom58 contributions18 helpful votes
We have now stayed at the Old Bank Hotel on several occasions and each time has been a fabulous experience! All of the staff deserve a big mention as they look after us so well - from Aysima & Mel who were on the front desk for our recent stay, to the porters, the top rate restaurant staff and all of those that looked after our room - a big thank you all. A superb hotel which we look forward to returning to.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: A room on the front of the hotel, particularly higher up offers great views over some iconic...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Klara Antal, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Bank Hotel
Responded 19 Jan 2024
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Old Bank Hotel on multiple occasions, and that each one has been a fabulous experience. We are committed to providing exceptional service and creating unforgettable memories for our guests, so your kind words about our team truly resonate with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another fabulous stay! In the meantime, please don't hesitate to reach out if you have any requests for your future visits. Best wishes, Klara Antal Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maddy D wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom12 contributions5 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel. Lovely bed and bathroom. Some nice touches like a box of chocolates on check in. Breakfast was a little bit in a let down. The menu in the room asks you to specify how many people I specified 2 however they still only brought 1 glass of orange juice and 1 pastry.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Klara Antal, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Bank Hotel
Responded 19 Jan 2024
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We're thrilled that you found our accommodations beautiful, with a lovely bed and bathroom, and we're especially delighted you appreciated the welcoming touch of the chocolates upon your arrival. Furthermore, we are sorry to hear that your breakfast experience fell short of your expectations and we sincerely apologise for the oversight with the missing glass of orange juice and pastry. We're always looking for ways to improve and exceed our guests' expectations and your feedback means a lot to us. Thank you again for choosing us, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kindest regards, Klara Antal Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrew C wrote a review Nov 2023
Lowestoft, United Kingdom32 contributions14 helpful votes
Wonderful place, gorgeous room. Amazing view Yes it’s expensive but is worth it. And free parking! And that in itself must make it unique in Oxford Lovely breakfasts, and lovely lively bar and restaurant. Was wonderful to be in centre of Oxford, meaning we were able to just pop back for 30 mins or so
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Contact reception to reserve car parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Klara Antal, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Bank Hotel
Responded 10 Dec 2023
Thank you for this 5/5 review! It is such a pleasure to read your stay exceeded your expectation in every aspect. I truly look forward to passing on these kind words to the rest of the team. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back time and time again. Kind regards, Klara Antal Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
splaydog wrote a review Nov 2023
London, United Kingdom52 contributions45 helpful votes
Love everything about this hotel and having stayed here many times I can say it is as good as ever. Efficient housekeeping, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms. Excellent breakfast and a relaxed all- day dining space. Very good location.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Klara Antal, Guest Services / Front Office at Old Bank Hotel
Responded 10 Dec 2023
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely complimentary review. It is so wonderful to read about all the aspects of the stay that you enjoyed so much, especially commenting on the consistent level of service which we are most proud of. We look forward to welcoming you back time and time again. Kind regards, Klara Antal Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Oxford area.
PRICE RANGE
£251 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
old bank oxford, hotel old bank
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandOxfordshireOxford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OLD BANK HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Oxford)

Frequently Asked Questions about Old Bank Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Old Bank Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bodleian Library (0.1 miles), New College (0.2 miles), and Magdalen College (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Old Bank Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Old Bank Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Old Bank Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Old Bank Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Old Bank Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include All Bar One Oxford, Sartorelli’s Pizza, and Ben's Cookies.
Is Old Bank Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Oxford.
Are any cleaning services offered at Old Bank Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Old Bank Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Old Bank Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, and Vietnamese.
Are there any historical sites close to Old Bank Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bodleian Library (0.1 miles), Oxford Castle & Prison (0.4 miles), and Christ Church (0.2 miles).