We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,889 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,791: English reviews
Birmingham, England
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked this hotel primarily because of it's proximity to the New Theatre. The parking, though expensive worked incredibly well. We pulled up on the loading zone outside the main entrance and immediately the Concierge staff took our luggage, and transferred the car into the car park. Check in was friendly and efficient and our room was immaculate and well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Disneyfreak56
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I had another splendid stay at The Randolph a few days ago. Where better to spend a significant birthday? Once again I found breakfast to be considerably better than the one Giles Coren had described in alarming detail just three months ago. My tomato was nicely cooked and the same was the case with my sausage and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
Columbus, OH
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Love this elegant and refined old hotel in the heart of Oxford! Wuthin easy walking distance to great shopping and eateries. Excellent afternoon tea in the dining room. I drop in here every time I get to Oxford!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EpicureanLawyer
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I visited with my family for one night we booked a room for 2 adults and 2 young children the hotel very kindly upgraded us to a signature suite which was very nice, as we came out of the lift it was obvious the floor we were staying on was been renovated there was scaffolding in the stairwell from top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyp1234567
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and I am sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. We strive to offer the highest levels of service and cuisine throughout the hotel and I am sorry we have not lived up to this ideal. We are doing the final stages of renovation work at the hotel after a...

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staff unfriendly, some rude and some arrogant. Tone aggressive on phone. My wife on a special vegan diet but restaurant staff not too bothered. Huge bill for just a slice of gluten free bread! Will never return. Classics 5 stars hotel but noisy. We had to sleep with ear plugs when the air was on. Please avoid staying in September.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nigelgarage123
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I am presuming you stayed at the hotel back in September 2016. At the hotel we regularly cater for guests' special dietary needs and have a range of products and food to facilitate this. The team are trained at booking stage to prompt guests...

Jerusalem
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived. Receptionist tells me i'll have to switch rooms between nights because my room types are different (made 2 different reservations), despite an email from the staff assuring me I could stay in 1 room. Showed her the email, took some time, finally worked it out. Come down the next morning after not getting enough hot water for shower. Inform...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yhakak
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I was extremely sorry to learn of the communication problems and the issue with the hot water in your bedroom. I will be speaking to the team as clearly this has not been addressed correctly when you initially raised the issue. Please accept my apologies for this. We have...

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Our family booked a couple of nights at The Randolph for my husbands 60th Birthday present. Our son dropped us off so we didn't have to pay the very expensive parking charges and was greeted by the lovely doorman who took our bags and stored them until our room was ready. The Reception staff where equally helpful and our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karan B
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Can't praise this hotel enough. Wonderful location in a wonderful city. The staff are all exceptional and nothing is too much trouble. William on concierge is a legend and cannot do enough for you. And Shaun Thomas in particular made our stay very special. We will be back very soon. Thank you so much!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmaGinger18
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My partner and I got married on 23rd December 2016 and we held our wedding reception at The Randolph after our church ceremony - we chose The Randolph, as we have alwasy lived in Oxford and it is so iconic and we have always loved going there! I cannot express enough as to how professional, helpful, pro-active, friendly, informative and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophiematon
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Can't compliment this hotel enough. Excellent in all ways some decorating on stairs but not done during daytime. All staff were magnificent . The manageress of the restaurant was the least friendly at breakfast. We stayed in an executive suite absolutely beautiful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne J

710 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (401)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (194)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (298)
Viewed
Amenities (63)
Viewed
Classic Suite (32)
Viewed
Executive Room (32)
Viewed
Modern Executive Room (30)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Single Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,092 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
De Vere Oxford Thames
#5 of 44 in Oxford
975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: £133 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Randolph Hotel staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
surrey
3 months ago
Jerusalem
1 month ago
Chicago
2 months ago
La Jolla, California
3 months ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Randolph Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a back facing room”
 of 5 bubbles Raymushka, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rom 023 was large and has view onto the street and Ashmolean Museum opposite.”
 of 5 bubbles kjtravelbug_12, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view!”
  • Lovely view from room (there's a spire there, if you look carefully), overlooking the bins, too!
 of 5 bubbles EMT64, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms only have viewed of brick walls so best to ensure when booking you have an outside room with a street view”
 of 5 bubbles engineerjim, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't book a room around the delivery area as cold and draughty”
 of 5 bubbles MazSurrey, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay