We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (490)
Room & Suite (143)
Dining (31)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#24 of 45 hotels in Oxford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated in the heart of the historic university city of Oxford, this beautiful 17th-century coaching-inn looks over the Examination Halls and Magdalen Tower. The convenient central location allows guests to easily discover Oxford's most iconic landmarks. City sightseeing tours are available in the area, making this a great base for guests who want to explore. The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms which are perfectly equipped to accommodate individuals, couples and families. In line with local government recommendations, at the moment, our restaurant is open with limited opening hours and we are providing grab and go breakfast options for guests. The hotel boasts a choice of rooms including classic and privilege options. Those looking for an extra special trip should consider the deluxe suite, which overlooks Oxford High Street and offers luxurious extras including a coffee machine and robe.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Greek and 2 more
1,868Review17Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 611
  • 626
  • 389
  • 151
  • 91
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Henri C wrote a review 19 Apr
La-Celle-Saint-Cloud, France5 contributions4 helpful votes
Very poor value for the price we paid. Some problems with the room (shower, tub, smaller than expected)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
7Marilyn wrote a review 6 Apr
Wirral, United Kingdom8 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
The only good thing about this hotel is the location. Just spent two nights at The Mercure Eastgate and were very disappointed with many aspects. We paid £170 per night. The bedrooms and corridors are in need of refurbishment. Quite frankly we have never seen such dull, badly lit and poorly decorated corridors. Our bedroom was a reasonable size but badly needed refurbishment - paintwork on the doors, doorframes, windows and walls was chipped and scruffy. The window frames look as though they haven’t been cleaned for years. The furniture and wardrobe doors were marked, chipped and scuffed. The air conditioning did not work and the windows could only be opened a couple of inches. The bed needs replacing and the quality of the duvet, pillows and bedding were the cheapest we have ever experienced in any hotel we have ever stayed at. We requested different pillows which were supplied for night 2. One of the towels was frayed. Now to breakfast! The so-called continental breakfast was very poor - the small selection of cold meats and cheese were dry (probably because the selection had been displayed for an hour or more and uncovered), the minimal selection of croissant and ‘pastry’ had either been baked the night before or very early that morning. Stogey and dry! The ‘hot’ breakast was extremely poor due to the fact that none of it was hot!!!!! The scrambled egg was rubbery, congealed and cold. We left it after two mouthfuls! We complained to the restaurant manager who assured us that our breakfast the next morning would be cooked to order. However this didn’t go exactly to plan as no one came to take our order, but instead plated up full breakfasts suddenly arrived. Unfortunately most of the breakfast items were left because once again it was not hot enough. No staff approached us to check if we were satisfied. We had given up by this time. We checked out and sat for a short while in the lounge area. We attempted to use the toilets in this area only to find the door had not been unlocked by staff. We then had to ask reception to unlock the toilet door. Staff appear to be disinterested and untrained. In all we were extremely disappointed with the hotel facilities and staff. We definitely would not recommend the hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Very very disappointing
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason General Manager, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Marilyn, I am disappointed to read your review and for not having had the opportunity to discuss your stay with you in person. It is certainly not our aim to fail to meet our guest expectations. We do have a programme of planned maintenance which we conduct and we are working through all our rooms continuously. I am sorry that on this occasion breakfast was not as you would expect and we are working on improving our display and equipment for our hot items, this is one of our priorities. I am sure if you did return your experience would demonstrate an improvement. Kind regards Jason General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laurent315945 wrote a review 3 Apr
Heathfield, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
Accommodation is very expensive in Oxford (we stay often). This hotel was the best value we found. Well located at end of High Street, and our room overlooked Merton College. Smallish room, but had everything we needed incl fridge and was quiet considering the location - just off the High Street, We booked room only and had breakfast on the first morning at the Queens Lane Coffee House over the road. Was expensive so for the 2 other days we had breakfast in the hotel. Food and coffee was not very hot, but perfectly adequate, and there was plenty on offer. Our room was on the second floor and we appreciated the lift. Staff were at all times efficient and polite. We didn’t try bringing the car into Oxford - we know the problems - so always use Park and Ride, Queens Lane stop is handy for this hotel, overall a good stay, and would book here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason General Manager, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Laurent, Thank you for taking time to post a review. Glad that you found us to be good value for your stay in Oxford. Thank for the positive comments in regard to location and breakfast. Great to see you had a good stay and that you would choose to stay with us again. Hope to see you soon. Kind regards Jason General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nd55 wrote a review Mar 2024
Oviedo, Spain101 contributions39 helpful votes
Great location in the High Street. It has three floors with lift only to the second floor. This implies you have to carry your luggage by the steep stairs without help. The single room with a large desk and a small but well used bathroom. It has a small closet where the coffee maker and cups are located, so there is little space to hang clothes. The breakfast is expensive (12) considering the food variety. Unfortunately the cleanliness is deficient. I found the bathroom litter with the last guest's things and a hair in the shower. Disgusting and unacceptable. I travelled a lot in several continents but this is the first time I faced this issue in a hotel of that category. I also realized the lower sheet was not correctly ironed. Well, this is what I prefer to think..... The receptionist told me that they would clean the room, implying that they did not plan to do so if I had not said anything. The sheet was not changed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Many cheaper breakfast option near the hotel. Not worth it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason General Manager, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear nd55, Thank you for taking time to post a review of your stay. Due to the age and restriction of the building the lift does only service the first and second floors. I am pleased that the facilities provided matched your expectations, however I am sorry that the room was not to the required standard upon your arrival. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to resolve this for you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on this occasion and hope that you would consider us again. Kind regards Jason General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DavidT0001 wrote a review Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom23 contributions20 helpful votes
Nice room, good breakfast and excellent location. Only problem is difficulty of accessing by car, there are no instructions on the website and reception was unable to help over the phone! Ended up parking 10 minuts away and walking.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason General Manager, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear David, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We only have minimal parking at the hotel, am sorry that the information on our website is lacking, we will look into this and update our info. Glad that overall you had a good stay. Kind regards Jason
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Yas52 wrote a review Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom471 contributions149 helpful votes
My daughter treated me to a birthday stay here. We had stayed previously and really liked it. Masood and Keval really looked after us and gave us an upgrade to a premium room. It was very comfortable and the breakfast was also very generous and delicious witha range of continental and cooked options. The hotel is just off the High Street, so is very central. Great team and a perfect stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason General Manager, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Yas, Thank you very much for your review and 5 out of 5 rating. So pleased you had a lovely birthday stay and thanks for choosing us for this special occasion. Hope you will stay with us again. Kind regards Jason
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
epp8yi155r wrote a review Mar 2024
Dorset, United Kingdom1 contribution
Staircase to high rooms with luggage was difficult Unanswered email requesting lower floor with a lift . Heating not working Bar closed way before expected on a Friday might . Many reviews on this hotel seem good but unfortunately my experience was pretty bad .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason General Manager, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear epp8yi155r, I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. We would always endeavour to meet any room requests and i am sorry that we did not see your email. I am not aware of any issues with our heating system, however I am sure a member of the team may have been able to assist. Thank you for choosing us for your visit to Oxford. Kind regards Jason
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anna W wrote a review Feb 2024
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom88 contributions72 helpful votes
We had the half board option which was the same price as room only, and very good value given that it included plenty of drinks as well as meals. Breakfast was a well-stocked buffet that was replenished constantly, evening meals were standard crowd-pleasing options. The room was nice and toiletries smelled lovely. Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
paul2024theonlyone wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Friendly staff, good service, very good location ! Value for money. they gave me a big room with nespresso machine and filled fridge. Close to the center of town, a good restaurant and very friendly staff. I mentioned this already but I need to type at least 200 characters to get the review posted ;-)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
rachel b wrote a review Feb 2024
5 contributions4 helpful votes
Spacious rooms all very clean and up together with everything one could need including a coffee machine and a very comfortable bed. Great city centre location and useful to have car parking on site too. Very helpful staff - nothing was too much trouble and a good breakfast.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Oxford area.
PRICE RANGE
£135 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure eastgate oxford hotel oxford, accor eastgate oxford, mercure oxford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandOxfordshireOxford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
81
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MERCURE OXFORD EASTGATE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bodleian Library (0.3 miles), New College (0.2 miles), and Magdalen College (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include All Bar One Oxford, Delhish Vegan Kitchen, and Vaults & Garden Cafe.
Is Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Oxford.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Polish, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bodleian Library (0.3 miles), Oxford Castle & Prison (0.6 miles), and Christ Church (0.3 miles).
Is Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.