We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Great Expectations Hotel & Bar

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 193: English reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Stayed in the Great Expectations hotel over Christmas this year and was very pleasantly surprised. The staff went above and beyond for us. They were super friendly and had a great sense of humour - fantastic bunch. The rooms had everything you might need and the bed in the large suite was unbelievably comfortable. Best night's sleep ever!! The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review ,we hope you chose to stay with us again soon.

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

I stayed at Great Expectations for 3 weeks, and I could have happily stayed another week or so. I can't comment on the price of the rooms as my room was paid for by my work, but my room was a good size with lovely double bed, a nice TV, and a decent shower and bathroom. For breakfast you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackrackhamup
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review.we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.our food is home cooked so l'm pleased you found it the best you 'd had . We look forward to welcoming you back ,hopefully in the near future.

Borders, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

This is not the Hilton or indeed the Ritz. Having spent most of my working life travelling or being away from home, the standard business hotel with fine dining and very polite staff after a while loses it charm. I found the hotel by mistake, when looking for a room at short notice. The secret of this hotel is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Intheborders
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.We're so pleased you enjoyed a great steak cooked by our chef Paul and your boiled egg!.we look forward to welcoming you back if you are working back near Reading again .

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

A group of us went there for a pre arranged buffet lunch. Dreadful. Some of our party informed me that the food we were eating was all from Iceland. Music was depressing, dark dingy atmosphere, as I stood with my plate in hand saying 'Please Sir, can I have some more' I think the staff realised the music needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janiemac24
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

So sorry you didn't enjoy our Buffett .it was actually all especially prepared for you even to the extent of making our own burger buns for our mini home made burgers and vegetation options as requested .as all the remaining food was taken away in boxes by the rest of your party l presume they enjoyed it more you.our pub...

Dortmund, Germany
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Everything is shabby. My room was small and you don't want to know what the stains are on the dirty carpet. The bathroom was not cleaned in my 3 day stay, the soap not replaced on the third day, the toilet paper not refilled after the first night. Breakfast is in the cold pub bar, smelling of last nights beer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Export_Sales_Manager
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Sorry we didn't meet your expectations .we try to deal with customer request for breakfast and where possible we are happy to provide a Bespoke breakfast .rooms are cleaned daily ,we will refresh our staff as to the standard required. Thank you for your comments .

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Suggest premier Inn around the corner only went here as that was booked up. Poor service, staff and dirty run down. Arrived late and it was locked up. Bell didn't work and had to call hotel to let me in wasn't impressed!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattdavis3137
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

We do not offer 24hr check-in . I am disappointed we didn't reach the standards you expected .hopefully if you visit again We can do so next time .

Reviewed 24 August 2016

Nice Hotel, Good Bar, Good Breakfast, though room is a bit small. Very close to restraunts and nightlife. In a dodgy area of reading though, you could see a man shooting heroin into his dick from the front.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ewan W
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for you positive review.we are just across one round from The Oracle shopping centre and consider our hotel to be in a good location /area.

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

great for well priced drinks & reasonable pub food. Only seconds from the oracle. Ideal for a week end break in their fair priced rooms. One of the few pubs that retain the sunshine after 6pm. Popular for parties & meetings

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc P
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review ,we look forward to you busting us again soon.

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I stayed at this hotel for almost a month, while I was trying to find an apartment. ~ The good things are: - The breakfast: - A building full of history - It has a Pub and a micro brewery. - Free Wi-Fi About the rest: - I entered my room and while opening the drawers found a porn mag;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pedro M
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed with you stay. Beds are change every 3/4 days along with towels ,towels are not changed on a daily basis.are friendly staff is something we are renown for,l'm sorry you did not experience this.

Newport Pgnell
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Basic but tasty Sunday lunch, very Pubby and ok if you don't mind bad language from staff and regulars in the back ground!! Best not take the kids!! The wine list was VERY poor but they pride themselves on are and micro brewery which looked good. Won't rush back but served a purpose.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hollie R
33londondst, Manager at Great Expectations Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.7 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 32 in Reading
920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure George Hotel Reading
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Reading
Quality Hotel Reading
#25 of 32 in Reading
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great Expectations Hotel & Bar staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Great Expectations Hotel & Bar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“second floor rooms”
673waheedl, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The room with the four-poster bed is super comfy :)”
bryanc917, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a double room”
Intheborders, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
Janiemac24, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't use this hotel: if you have to the rooms at the front are incredibly loud, overlooking a main road.”
Export_Sales_Manager, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5