We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Novotel Reading Centre

Booking.comUS$102*
View Deal
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$121*
US$102*
Great Deal
US$121*
US$102*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Novotel Reading Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Novotel Reading Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,067: English reviews
glasgow
Reviewed 18 August 2013

we stayed at this hotel in sept last year with our 3 grandchildren . only 1 request , please have a childrens choice at mealtimes . when we asked if they had anything they said yes but had to wait until it was cooked . we are going back this sept and really looking forward to this beautiful hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank betty105glasgow
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Firstly we are delighted that you are returning to Novotel Reading with your grandchildren to visit Legoland. We have unfortunately stopped stocking our mini bars but we can do it for you on request. I am unsure as to what your surname is so if I can ask you to contact me directly on jacqui.mcmillan@accor.com I can make sure that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Great hotel in the centre of reading, room was really clean and plush. Restaurant for breakfast was ok, with the usual choice of foods. Only downside is parking - but then you are in a city centre! Will use again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foody4Ldn
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Only three minutes walk from the railway station. Modern and very clean. Large well equipped room with good bed, shower etc. Only negatives are charging extra for wifi and silly prices for things like bottled water. Breakfast good with quick service and good coffee. Not exactly brimming with charm or romance, but makes an excellent hotel when travelling for work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kahjm
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting your feedback on here, we really appreciate it as it really helps us make improvements to your experience in the future. We do offer free WIFI throughout the hotel and have done since November, so I am not sure if there may have been an issue with your device connecting to it. Please let...

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

This is the first Novotel I have stayed in and it was fine for one night. We were on a coach trip thankfully as I have no idea where we would have parked had we come in the car. The room was spacious and clean with good bathroom facilities and a separate toilet which is always useful. The evening meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JKN101
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback with regards to your recent stay at Novotel Reading Centre. I am glad in general that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your evening meal and I will certainly speak with my Chef about this. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back...

Lillesand, Norway
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had booked our stay some weeks in advance in connection with a visit to Legoland in Windsor. Except the horrendous traffic surrounding Reading and the poor parking facilities, we really enjoyed our stay. We were asked if we wanted to upgrade our room for a small fee, and the staff gave us a spacious top suite with a fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toldnaes
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here, I really appreciate it. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the location for your trip to Legoland. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Novotel Reading Centre in the future. Kind regards. Jacqui McMillan...

Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Hotel was lovely, couldn't fault the staff or the room great service. The swimming pool was lovely and the sauna for a relaxing break. Great for exploring reading centre and looking round the shops. Only downside to the hotel is the parking. We stayed on a Saturday night whilst a big party was staying and the car park was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoeyy_12
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback about your recent stay at Novotel Reading. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would return. I am sorry we do have very limited parking at the hotel and if you are returning please let me know and I will reserve a space for you in advance of your arrival....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 July 2013

It was what you would expect of a Novotel clean, nice staff etc BUT the air conditioning couldn't cope with the hot weather and the parking arrangements were annoying (basically you just get a discounted rate at a nearby car park and you have to ferry your luggage a fair way). We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toni P
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us at Novotel Reading, I really appreciate you taking the time to do this. I am sorry about the issues you had with the air cooling units we have, I am looking into this to see how we can improve this in case we have another unusual heatwave in the...

Cornwall UK
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here for one night on the 28th July. Had trouble with room key which others seem to have had and not rectified by management although reported my another matter of days before our stay. The room was comfortable and clean plus the bed for us was just right. The room was large so plenty of room. When we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelman1948
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback about your stay with us on the 28th July. With regards to the room keys, unfortunately sometimes the magnetic strip if put near mobile phones for some reason can cause issues. We are trying to address this with our supplier. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Novotel...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here for one night with a coach party and although the staff had difficulty in coping with 3 coaches found the bedrooms very comfortable quiet and very clean.Dinner was average and the breakfast adequate. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chjendo
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

Thak you for your feedback about your recent stay with us as part of a group. I am sorry that you felt we did not meet all of your needs due to us having a number of groups in that evening, we will certainly take this feedback on board. However I am delighted to read that you would return to...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank katyblu
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review

199 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
964 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
961 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New Generation 4 star hotel with leisure club located in Reading town centre. Just 2 min. walk from the railway station: 25 min to London Paddington, 30 min Rail-Air link to Heathrow airport, free shuttle to Thames Valley Park. A short drive to the M4, other business parks and Reading FC stadium. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Reading Centre

Address: 25B Friar Street, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: £67 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Reading Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, ACCOR, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Reading Centre Hotel Reading
Accor Reading Centre
Reading Novotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Reading
#2 Green Hotel in Reading
#4 Business Hotel in Reading
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Reading Centre staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Reading Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher the better”
BrianP691, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room near the top”
craigm66, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are auiter”
Geraldine12345, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors quieter in this town centre hotel.”
Tridentine, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“i like a room on the lower floors overlooking the high st”
bdi2010, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$102* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
TripAdvisorUS$102
HotelQuicklyUS$121
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates