We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Foxholes Farm Cottages

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Foxholes Farm Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Foxholes Farm Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 31: English reviews
warwickshire
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Awful accommodation. Only the location is any good. Decor is shabby and basic and standards of cleanliness are very poor. There is no proper shower either, only an attachment over the bath. Also, WiFi and phone signal are virtually nonexistent, so it is difficult to contact owner re numerous complaints. Their attitude to guests is abysmal to say the least.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WarwickshireCaroline
Management response:

Dear Caroline Thanks you for taking the time to post your experiences on this website. Our self catering cottages are all 2-3 star ETC rated and as such meet the requirement levels for the annual rating visit by an independent inspector. Following your arrival we did receive notification that you required a property with a shower, however having booked following...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 24 July 2015

Bradfield is a short drive from my boyhood home. In sixty years it has remained relatively unspoilt. The location of the property is on a rise with a beautiful view across the valley to High Bradfield. But the view is not available from the rental properties and even so that is where the best of it ends. The whole process...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank ianbowater
Management response:

Thank you Ian for your wonderful comments regarding our beautiful location accross the valley to High and Low Bradfield. Your comments though that this view is unavailable from the properties are perplexing as clearly our location is what it is and the views our location afford are extensive and far reaching. Foxholes Farm is owned by Mrs Jean and Mr...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 July 2015

The location is nice, but that's all there is to say about the place. We had no hot water for two days. White towels were stained a dirty brown. The drinking water was a muddy orange. There were no coat hangers in the cottage. And no wifi in the house. Tenants in the other cottages also complained about the same...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank petpv
Management response:

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our beautiful location, at the time of your stay there was a problem with Peat run off from the moorland affecting the water supply throughout the village. A member of our management team did speak to you on three occasions regarding the water supply and advised you that water bowser facilities were provided...

warwickshire
Reviewed 9 February 2015 via mobile

Second time we have stayed here. Very convenient and close to some nice places to visit and good walking spots. Accommodation is clean and has everything you need. Only thing not provided is bin bags and dish clothes, apart from that it's perfect. Would recommend to all! Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fenners56
Management response:

Thank you for your extremely kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wedding August 2013. Foxholes certainly provided us with a spectacular spot for our wedding but Rachel’s management from start to finish was terrible. As a couple looking for a relaxed wedding we found she was the main cause of our wedding stress. We were sold a wedding which was billed as flexible and relaxed, a wedding tailored to your own...

 Report
Helpful?
15Thank LukeChurchill
newcastle
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights. Amazing location good attractions and lovely walks. Found the area beautiful. However apartment 8 has box heating red hot in the day but you cannot turn them off . The shower was mouldy and shower curtain horrid. I know its near fields so a mice eating my toddler's cake was ok. Could not get in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank islandbeautyuk
Management response:

Thank you for your comments regarding our beautiful location, we are lucky to be located so close to the breathtaking scenery which can be enjoyed on muddy walks around Dam Flask, Dale Dyke (famous for the tragic Sheffield Flood), Strines (handily located close to the Strines pub for a perfect pint and packet of crisps). Often it is difficult to...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We got married at FoxHoles on the 3rd May 2014 and had the most wonderful day. We paid £4,750 which included the use of the five cottages for the weekend, the marquee and unlimited camping for our guests. To our surprise the marquee was brand new for 2014. It is beautiful, with ivory linings inside and has windows all along...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GJ0811
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a wedding, we were in cottage 6 downstairs, 2 rooms and large sofa bed. Was worried about size going by others reviews say but place was nice and big. No seats to sit outside and look at the views. Visited plough for tea was fantastic, massive portions and cheap compared to other places. In laws stopped in room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stiny1973
leeds
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We held our wedding at Foxholes Farm in April 2013 and can honestly say it was the best day of our lives! this venue is perfect for the type of wedding we were looking for, basically a day we could put our own stamp on. We got to decorate the marquee on Friday evening and put in aour own flowers,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rudehealth
Singapore River, Singapore
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We booked a two room cottage for a two day break - the accommodation was excellent and very comfy and cosy. The cottages allow fantastic views across the valley to High Bradfield - an excellent pub (The Old Horns) provided a wide range of food and beer choices at very reasonable prices! The cottage had obviously been recently refurbished -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goldenoldies4751

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
710 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#6 of 7 in Hope Valley
158 reviews
6.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Norfolk Arms
The Norfolk Arms
#25 of 53 in Sheffield
343 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
372 reviews
6.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on a quiet hillside in the Peak District overlooking Low Bradfield enjoying magnificent views across the Doomsday villages, Foxholes Farm was built in the 19th century and includes a Grade II listed castellated folly. The main courtyard has now been transformed into five peaceful holiday cottages sleeping from 2 to 23 people. We also offer a bespoke wedding venue for 15 very special marriage celebrations each year. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Foxholes Farm Cottages

Address: Fox Holes Farm Hoarstones Road | Low Bradfield, Sheffield S6 6HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Price Range: £63 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Foxholes Farm Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Foxholes Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Foxholes Farm Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Foxholes Farm Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cottage 2 has large patio doors onto the garden. Perfect in summer!”
480theop, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Cottage 8 I feel is the most modern and nicely decorated but they are all nice!”
ruthmarygarside, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay there.”
  • leftover bottles of wine
jasonwK6180CN, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Cottage 2 was the nicest and most spacious.”
vanessaf0x, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
ianbowater, 24 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates