Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel

Traveller (324)
The proposal by the bed
Room & Suite (72)
Dining (56)

View prices for your travel dates

£72
Get rewarded with One Key
£72
Get rewarded with One Key
£72
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#23 of 45 hotels in Sheffield
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to The Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel which exudes a superb combination of historic charm and modern luxury. Set in the quiet village of Mosborough, this 12th-century manor house has ample room for conferences, weddings, parties and a host of other celebrations. Still retaining its stately charm the hotel boasts a selection of 46 rooms to cover all tastes from our two main suites to our 46 contemporary rooms. Whatever the reason for your visit The Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel is conveniently located. Enjoy the Peak District, shop until you drop with over 270 shops at Meadowhall Shopping Centre. Watch the latest artists at the Sheffield Arena, power your imagination at Magna Park in Rotherham, or visit the Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Sheffield.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Lowest Price When You Book Direct! CLICK HERE to view

Location

High Street Mosborough, Sheffield S20 5EA England
1,135Review8Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 469
  • 318
  • 170
  • 96
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Joanna M wrote a review Jul 2023
22 contributions11 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Was here for a Wedding and stayed two nights. We did have three issues, two not the hotels fault but Other Visitors. The Receptionist was lovely, she organised a room change and all was good.

I thought the venue was absolutely wonderful for a wedding, we had a large family meal the night before the wedding and the Great Hall was used. It was great food. We sat in their lovely bar till late. The breakfast was really lovely and Paulo was so professional and welcoming despite running two Wedding Parties at full capacity.
The facilities/room available for Makeup and Hair were great. Prosecco and tea/coffee were flowing. The Wedding Planners were there early in ensuring everything went smoothly and it really did. Sadly we had rain all day but the wedding Venue had plenty of space to get away from that. The Lads particularly enjoyed sitting out in the Bandstand. It was a lovely event from start to finish.

The Buildings are gorgeous, the Staff are lovely, the Grounds are spectacular. What is not to like.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: None needed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
199jane199 wrote a review Jan 2020
East Yorkshire130 contributions70 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were attending a family wedding near Sherwood Forrest and have family very near to Mosborough Hall so we booked here for 3 nights and stayed up for Christmas, it was a very pleasant stay the room was good the bed comfy , housekeeping came in daily with fresh towels and toiletries ( one gripe no conditioner only shampoo or shower gel my hair would never recover) we bought some .
The staff were all very pleasant and the bar staff were really nice .
We didn’t use the restaurant or eat breakfast
But judging by the amount of people booked for Christmas Day lunch it must be nice .
I come from this area and know how easy it is to get around to Derbyshire or sheffield from here and it’s not far from the M1.
We found it very reasonably priced considering we stayed from the 23rd to the 26th of December .
We would definitely stay here again
Oh and the Christmas stocking was a lovely touch .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark B wrote a review Jan 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom6 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife booked accommodation and a meal as a treat for my birthday. at the start of January.
We were in the honeymoon suite, which is very nice, clean and tidy.
Now we get to the food part.....
We ordered our food and a bottle of red wine. The starters came and were very nice. We had water for the table which was poured into the large wine glasses, which left us with 2 small glasses for the red wine!! Anyone worth their salt, knows you don't serve red wine in a small glass. I asked for some larger glasses for the wine, but these never arrived.
Both my wife and I ordered the steak. Mine was medium and my wife's was medium rare. When they were served, mine was fine, but my wife's steak was over cooked. This was taken away and mine left with me. So, we both ended up eating our meals separately. When the steak was finally brought out, once again it was overdone. A good chef wouldn't get two attempts at cooking a steak wrong. At no point did anyone do a meal check. Again the basic things not being done.
When we checked out, we made a complaint to the receptionist.
All she said was "It's already been noted". No apology or anything. Very poor.
On the booking it said there would be a free locally produced item in our room upon arrival. When we mentioned this to the receptionist she just said "I don't know anything about that. Perhaps Best Western are going to give you extra loyalty points?" I don't think loyalty points are locally produced?
In summary, nice hotel, but staff need to improve!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JENNIE S wrote a review Aug 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We went for afternoon tea on Monday 24th August. We asked to sit outside because of needing to be isolated.
Our meal was booked for 12noon.
A young man washed the outside tables leaving masses of soap suds all over the tables, but made no effort to clean the chairs.
Later a young woman came out, washed one table and two of the four chairs, but none of the other three tables and chairs and went back in.
We had to ask for the chairs to be sanitised.
None of the young staff were wearing masks or face shields.
Staff brought tea in pots for the three of us. None of the pots had lids, so, on a windy day the tea was almost immediately cold. Staff member told us there were no lids for their teapots!!!!!
The sandwiches and cakes did not arrive for about 30 minutes after the tea, at nearly 1pm. We asked for hot water, and they brought just two pots. Amazingly these had lids which would have also fitted the teapots.....
The sandwiches were quite dry on the edges and a bit bland.
The cakes were nice.
Staff were quite surly, and not at all friendly. When asked to clean the chairs, the young man did it with poor grace.

This was a very disappointing experience and not the standard I would expect of a good hotel.

I would suggest to Best Western that:-
1. ALL staff need to be properly trained in how to properly sanitise chairs and tables every single time between customers.
2. All staff should be wearing masks or face shields, especially when coming close to customers at tables.
3. A supposedly smart hotel should have lids on their teapots, and make sure there are plenty in reserve in case of breakages
4. Food should be brought out BEFORE drinks, so the drinks are not stone cold by the time the food comes.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alistair H wrote a review Feb 2020
Presteigne, United Kingdom141 contributions61 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for two nights having selected this hotel as it was near where I wanted to be. It was mid week and therefore the hotel was not busy. Plenty of parking. Standing in the car park there are lovely distant views.

On arrival the receptionist was friendly and efficient. This is a bit of a rabbit warren hotel and therefore got lost at one point. My room was a decent size, clean and the bed comfortable. There wasn’t a mountain of cushions to discard and trip over which for me is a plus. So many hotels cover the bed in cushions without asking the question as to what you are supposed to do with them when you climb into your pit? The shower gives a good head but takes a bit of time to get hot and to the required temperature. The towels are lovely. Getting rid of the subtitles on the TV was a challenge and took me a good half an hour of its you or me to finally banish them from the screens! Why isn’t there a simple button on the remote that says ‘Subtitles ON/OFF’. Not hotels fault however. The WiFi was good in my room.

The bar has comfortable sofa’s and is the trendy grey (dull) that seems to be all the rage at the moment. Reasonable selection of beers etc. The bar staff were friendly. The hotel WiFi in the bar was intermittent to say the least, in fact non existent.

Breakfast was good and not so good. There was a good selection of fruits to start. I had the English breakfast without the black pudding. It was okay but the bacon and sausage had the texture of meat that has been in a warming oven for a bit too long. Having said that it was very good value compared to other breakfasts I have dined on. At the price I have no real complaints but don’t expect Michelin star.

I would return to this hotel should I be visiting this neck of the woods again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Black wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff are friendly and the hotel is dog friendly which was appreciated. WiFi service was good. Pets though can only stay in standard rooms and our allocated double room was extremely small and tired. The safe wasn’t operating, the pop up waste in the bath was broken off so difficult to empty, and the trim was missing from the shower. The walls needed redecorating. The wardrobe was positioned in the corner close to the desk making access difficult when the doors were opened. The rooms aren’t serviced during your stay at the moment but you can ask for fresh towels etcetera. There is a daily charge for the dog to stay so £60 for 3 nights which seemed a touch high considering the lack of daily cleaning service.
The bar food service on Sunday afternoon was slow perhaps because the main restaurant takes precedence from a staffing perspective. We waited 45 minutes for cold sandwiches and fries. The fries were fine but the sandwich had to be returned and a plain cheese requested. 30 minutes later the food had still not arrived so left without it. The hotel refunded the cost of the sandwich.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sue6711 wrote a review Feb 2020
Paphos District, Cyprus10 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After having poor experiences in Darcy's over the last few years, we learned that it was now under new management and that a new chef had been appointed. A new menu was launched in January and my husband went in to speak with a very helpful member of staff - Jody, what, if anything, had changed, as we live locally and it is ideally placed for family get togethers. He was assured that things had improved greatly and we therefore booked a table for 10 on 8th February.

We were made very welcome and they had decorated our table and surrounding area with balloons and banners, taken in by one of our guests earlier in the day. I'm relieved to say that 8 of our 10 meals were well received and we did give feedback on the two that were well below par. The restaurant wasn't full so I'm not sure why everything isn't well cooked and delicious. The staff were very helpful and friendly, no complaints about them.

The restaurant is still desperately in need of a refurb. It needs ambience, atmosphere, character, colour! Hopefully the new manager will have all this on his 'to do list'.

Two of our guests stayed overnight and were very pleased with their room - especially the extra large bed! They came to us for breakfast, so can't comment on the hotel breakfast.

I understand that the banqueting facilities are very good. This area is not overloaded with good social facilities and I can't help thinking there is an opportunity here to get this restaurant and bar buzzing, whatever day of the week it is. The bar prices would need to come down somewhat, and as I said, the decor needs to be much more welcoming, but I really hope the new manager makes the very best of the potential of this historic hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Robinson wrote a review Feb 2020
11 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had the misfortune to visit the restaurant at Mosborough Hall last Saturday and to say the meal was a disappointment would be an understatement.
Because I can only eat certain types of food because of recent treatment with radium & chemo, I ordered the ravioli in mushroom cream sauce. When it arrived I noticed that it lacked any of the moisture that I had anticipated and indeed ordered it for. The mushroom cream sauce consisted of a mere scraping of the stuff, a spoonful at best.
The edges of the pasta were dry and almost crispy and the entire meal, including the sweet potatoes were dry. I managed to eat some of it as I didn't want to cause a scene with another nine of us in the party, but had I been there with just my wife, I would have sent it back and complained. The cost of this culinary disaster ? £13.75, it wasn't worth 13 pence.
The other meals were OK, but I didn't hear any of our party going overboard about it, in fact nobody wanted dessert and we left faster than we initially intended.
The restaurant itself is in a state of poor decor and doesn't inspire the appetite in any way. The windows are scruffy and badly decorated with paint smudges all over the glass, you could be forgiven for thinking this particular room is derelict.
We've been to several meals there over the years, largely by invite and I've yet to come away satisfied with the food, even before I was ill.
That's the last time I'll go there for sure, because the competition locally is far better, with better menus and better prices.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: choose another hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janet R wrote a review Jun 2021
Sheffield, United Kingdom3 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just spent a week at this hotel, which is in lovely surroundings and I had comfortable bed and room. That’s where it ends I’m afraid.
The first evening I endured Darcys restaurant, I had to send my meal back as it was not cooked properly and would have lasted several years if worn as a sole on my shoe.
There was evidently not enough staff, some were not experienced and you could feel their stress and floundering in the heat.
The straw that broke the camels back was breakfast this morning, it was chaotic and consistently bad. I waited 35 minutes for a breakfast that never came . In between times, the coffee arrived strong and cold. After asking for it to be replaced with warmer coffee the poor girl just sat a pot of hot coloured coffee on the table and left us with no cup and saucer, no teaspoon or knife and folk to eat with. Again staffing was an issue. My breakfast never appeared not even the toast. What was even worse was those people who complained then got served first. As I said it was chaos. We left in disgust . Although the place needed a good clean and a lick of paint, they commenced painting at their busiest time. Never again, whoever runs this place needs the sack. The manager did was not on site and did not return my request for a phone call. Very disappointing and expensive. Good luck to future visitors.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard Beck, Owner at Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel
Responded 18 Jun 2021
Good Evening JanetR589, It is extremely disappointing to read your review, given we had a phone conversation at the agreed time, and we were able to reach an amicable resolution. It is also disappointing to read your account of events written on here, were not portrayed as per our telephone conversation. Kind Regards Richard Beck Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annette C wrote a review Aug 2021
Torquay, United Kingdom131 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely room at the far end of the hotel - very quiet despite weddings in the evening of every day we were there (no doubt catching up from cancellations earlier in the year). Breakfast was average (nothing special and scrambled eggs were a little rubbery, but the kind of food that you'd expect from similar hotels). Would stay there again which is the best recommendation I could give. No servicing of the room while we were there (no maid service/bed making/cleaning/refresh tea/coffee/towels etc) but we were only there a few days and could probably have asked for refreshes if we'd bothered to.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JEAN K asked a question Feb 2020
Chippenham, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
Can u booked haunted package online?
Answer from kevinwoodhead
1 contribution
yes just go to there web site...
BLUE078 asked a question Aug 2018
Bridlington, United Kingdom58 contributions36 helpful votes
How much does a taxi cost to the railway station . Thanks
Answer from BLUE078
Bridlington, United Kingdom58 contributions36 helpful votes
Thank you , it cost £13 very reasonable!
BLUE078 asked a question Aug 2018
Bridlington, United Kingdom58 contributions36 helpful votes
Staying at the weekend , do they cook a vegetarian breakfast ?
Answer from Baines66
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom236 contributions91 helpful votes
Yes they will cook a vegetarian breakfast I would pre order
BLUE078 asked a question Jun 2018
Bridlington, United Kingdom58 contributions36 helpful votes
We would like to visit for afternoon tea can we sit outside with our dog weather permitting. Thank you
Answer from BWMosborough
Sheffield, United Kingdom2 contributions
Hi. Yes certainly. Best to book on 0114 248 4353 so they can reserve you a table outside. Many thanks.
Answer from Bernie S
61 contributions38 helpful votes
Bakewell is lovely We also visited a gardens at Renshaw park which was lovely but maybe not in January
Christine A wrote a tip Dec 2023
Sheffield, United Kingdom22 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Perhaps book a meal on a less busy day, Christmas Eve was very busy."
Read full review
susannewell1960 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lovely function room but very cold"
Read full review
Pard18 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Gloucester, United Kingdom160 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the most comfortable bed ever!"
Read full review
Joanna M wrote a tip Jul 2023
22 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"None needed"
Read full review
JOju4 wrote a tip May 2023
Sheffield, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't do afternoon tea!!!!. Cheap & nasty. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sheffield area.
PRICE RANGE
£68 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western sheffield, sheffield best western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireSouth YorkshireSheffield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN PLUS SHEFFIELD MOSBOROUGH HALL HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Eckington War Memrial (0.6 miles) and Joseph Stone Centre (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The British Oak, Tony's Fish and Chips, and The Vine Indian Cuisine.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Renishaw Hall And Gardens (1.0 miles), Barrow Hill Roundhouse Railway Centre (3.3 miles), and Sheffield Manor Lodge (4.9 miles).
All Sheffield HotelsSheffield Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SheffieldHotels near Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire