We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Overton Grange Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Overton Grange Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Overton Grange Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 275: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This was our first visit to the Overton Grange. We booked the 3 night weekend break and were looking forward to sampling the fine dining. The hotel is situated about 1.5 miles outside of Ludlow, in a great setting of rolling hills and fantastic countryside. The room was lovely, the food was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Barlaw33
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Our first visit for a 3 night weekend break.The setting is lovely.Accomodation was very good.The staff were very helpful & attentive.The food was excellent as was the service.For what you got I think that it was very fairly priced.We would certainly go back & would recommend it to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robin S
L0ndon
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This was our second visit At the end of the first visit the owner was dismissive of a concern expressed about the quality of a Spa treatment although we had enjoyed the 'Overton experience' It is in a peaceful quite beautiful setting overlooking rolling countryside about 1.5 miles south of Ludlow. The atmosphere is relaxed,the welcome and reception courteous and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank acerfOrmby
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed "the peaceful and quite beautiful setting overlooking rolling countryside" ," The atmosphere is relaxed,the welcome and reception courteous and efficient and staff generally friendly with two serving breakfast and at least two serving at dinner." The sauna was unfortunately out of order due to mis-use from guests. However,...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2011

What a disappointment... after great expectations, I feel let down and ripped off. The room was nicely appointed and fairly clean - although there were a few cobwebs in the bathroom (and don't look behind the taps in the bath!!), nowhere to hang wet towels, only one lot of toiletries between 2 people for a 2 night stay. Beds comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeliaAkeley
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Overton Grange prides itself as a Fine Country House Hotel offering excellent food and service to our discerning Guests. In addition, the Hotel also offers complimentary use of the Pool as an additional feature, and Spa Treatments can also be enjoyed by Guests on requests and subject to availability, by appointment only. Our reputation for...

darwen
Reviewed 3 September 2011

had a lovely wknd couldnt fault the hotel at all location very beautiful lovely room staff excellent very pleasant treated really well meal extremly nice thought a bit pricey at first but once we had the meal and the lovely service it was worth every penny would definitely go back and also recommend it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank babslomax
wolverhampton
Reviewed 30 August 2011

For a very expensive stay, (eg. Coombe Abbey has themed rooms which are truly sumptuous in a far superior setting for less than the price this cost us) the room was no better than any decent independent hotel. It was small and poorly equipped with nowhere to hang towels, store suitcases etc. The bathroom had a hand held shower only,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruthrep
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your review suggests that your main concern was namely cost. You were allocated the last smaller Double Room booked on line at a discounted rate, but all the rooms offer the same facilities as required. Pool and leisure facilties are complimentary. By your own admission, the setting is lovely and the food is good, and...

Reading, England
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Visiting the Ludlow area for 3 nights, we chose this hotel for it's apparent luxury, despite only being 3-star rated. Certainly not cheap but, with the reviews read, it sounded good. We were NOT disappointed. The staff were terrific, from start to finish, and the room we were shown to, with its terrific views, gave us a great start to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Llahsram
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid comments. We look forward to welcoming you back at Overton Grange.

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay and found the Country House style very relaxing. Set in lovely grounds a short drive from Ludlow. The room was comfortable, clean with good facilities. The breakfast menu was varied and the food excellent. However, we think the minimum price for an evening meal of £42.50 per person is excessive, causing us and other guest to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheGoblin62
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The Hotel offers excellent accommodation and enjoy a very good location for exploring Ludlow and the area., and is often complimented with the Dining experience at Overton Grange, offering a full A La Carte set price(£42.50) including Canapes, Appetiser, Starter, Main Course, Pre Desert and Desert, or alternatively, a 9 courses Tasting Menu(£59.50). Alternatively, the...

London
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We very much enjoyed our two night stay in this comfortable, welcoming hotel with lovely country views. Our one dinner was excellent. All the staff were very welcoming and helpful. My only adverse comment is that the bathroom was a little tired and some items therein need replacing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceamilne
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Cannot fault the staff or accomodation. The meal in the restaurant was one of the best meals I have had since eating at the michelin starred Bohemia in Jersey.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank floydy_11

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
2.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
844 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.7 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
417 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
713 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 48 in Ludlow
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Overton Grange Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Overton Grange Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“back of the hotel had the better views”
pennywest1948, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 22 was large but no view”
ruthlauren, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Happy with room overlooking main entrance and rural views.”
MargaretG5, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“WE took our dog so assume there are only so many rooms they let dogs use.”
1longholiday, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Every room is different so best check”
pemcer, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5