We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Morgans - The Exchange Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 144: English reviews
Start your review of Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After reading the various reviews and looking at the photos I decided to ignore the bad reviews and booked Morgans instead of the Premier Inn we'd stopped at before. First impressions were good as even though the bar area was busy she handled our check in professionally even mentioning fire safety evacuation procedures as well as WiFi passwords. We knew...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephenCollins47456
Quin M, Owner at Morgans - The Exchange Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, Thanks for your review. We fully appreciate this and your comments, but it does seem from the start you were thinking of the Premier Inn, as you mention this several times and promote it very well. Not what you should be using Trip Advisor for, but there you go. We are not a premier Inn, but an independent...

Dunsborough, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend popped in here recently for breakfast. They seemed a little understaffed, just two staff members for a busy Saturday morning- both were rushing around and we waited quite a while for a coffee and a tea. Having said that the food that we received was delicious, couldn't fault it. The chef brought our food to us,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mollie J
Quin M, Owner at Morgans - The Exchange Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mollie, Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for posting such a nice review about the staff and chefs. So glad you liked the new decor inside too! This is greatly appreciated by us all. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Bets wishes, Quintin.

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We popped in today for a quiet couple of drinks Unfortunately there were 6 dogs with 3 different groups of people who barked constantly which lead us to decide not to stay for a meal. It turned out that one of the dogs was barking to be fed from the table. I was surprised that dogs were allowed in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeanette H
Quin M, Owner at Morgans - The Exchange Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jeanette, Thanks for your review. Sorry you found our policy off allowing dogs in such an issue. We did have to speak to the owners on this occasion to control the noise, which they duly did and the issue ceased. This is not normally an issue in our property with pets. I must correct you though, they were not...

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel with bar downstairs, although a little pricey. Room was clean and cosy, beds are very low down but wasn't a problem for us. Hotel is right in the centre of Shrewsbury but parking is a pain and expensive. Enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue m
Quin M, Owner at Morgans - The Exchange Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sue, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Lovely to read your kind comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in Shrewsbury. We do hope to see you again in the future, Best wishes, Quintin Morgan.

South East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We needed to find somewhere to stay near our Daughters farm that would take two Dogs and Morgan's ticked all our boxes. Absolutely amazing room,spotlessly clean well equipped and room for two large dogs. Brilliant ,will definitely recommend and come again. Great Value for money as well ,especially for the whole Christmas break

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phd29
Cambridge, UK
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

This place is great value for money and has everything you need - very central, helpful staff, decent food at dinner and breakfast, good sized rooms, comfy bed and a good shower. I'll definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoW2009
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

My friends and I came here for an early Christmas lunch. We each had something different to eat - fish of the day - chilli con carne - chicken dish of the day. All meals were excellently presented and were delicious. Well worth a visit. The only minor issue was a delay in service - not a problem if you're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margarethughes50
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

A disappointing meal at Morgans Poor portion sizes & terrible desert! Lack of consideration from staff, the male bar tender/ manager when we complained about the pot of cream we had been served which was meant to be Eaton Mess no apology nothing. The venue was very nice clean & modern, however due to those standing outside the front door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GailMZN
Quin M, Owner at Morgans - The Exchange Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for posting a review. I am always slightly sceptical of people who never use ‘TripAadvisor’, or who join it to slate a business. I do hope that over the coming months, you contribute more to your account, than you have done since 2010. In relation to your review, I do not agree with you and would suggest...

Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

A warm welcome, vibrant bar, comfy room and good food made this a very pleasant overnight stop. Despite being in an older building the hotel was cleanly furnished and effort had been made to keep rooms warm. Mattress was thin but I had a comfortable night and breakfast was great too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
Quin M, Owner at Morgans - The Exchange Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Justin, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your stay and for your kind comments. I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit and appreciate the great feedback you have left. I do hope we will see you again in the future, With very best wishes, Quintin Morgan.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Good value for money we payed £55 for a night only drawback was lack of parking space but the ncp overnight carpark is only a couple of minutes away and costs £7-50. The staff didn't seem interested in anything not even bothering to ask how we felt about the room or if we enjoyed our stay, I don't expect a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan P
Quin M, Owner at Morgans - The Exchange Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Bryan, Thanks for your review. Parking can be a drawback for any venue situated in the walls of Shrewsbury, as there were not many cars about in medieval times, but we cope. Short stays near us are free after 6pm and longs stays for 24 hours, start at £5. There is one hotel, that has a car park in...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 15 in Shrewsbury
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#4 of 15 in Shrewsbury
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 15 in Shrewsbury
1,012 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Morgans at The Exchange Hotel is a family owned and run business. We aim to offer a high standard of customer service with a personal touch. Our hotel has 4 double rooms, 1 family room and 1 twin rooms all of which are fully en-suite and offer comfortable accommodation. All the rooms have flat screen televisions with built in DVD players, radio alarm clock, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and free wifi. One of our rooms is also equipped with a small kitchen. Parking is available nearby and our room rates are really competitive for the standard of accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Morgans - The Exchange Hotel

Address: 1 Bellstone, Shrewsbury SY1 1HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Price Range: £50 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgans - The Exchange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Morgans - The Exchange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Morgans - The Exchange Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Swansea, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Morgans - The Exchange Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Being in the city centre we did find it a little noisy, with traffic and people leaving bars on their way home , but on the whole slept ok.”
 of 5 bubbles mikee480, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try the back. Front of hotel is on a busy road that us noisy from 6am”
 of 5 bubbles spike171, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rear hotel room quieter”
 of 5 bubbles V6965STjackiem, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 was a long way from reception.”
 of 5 bubbles NSilver1611, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Really noisy on first floor as right above outside tables and until very late!”
 of 5 bubbles weloveoz, 27 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5