We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shrewsbury Hotel

Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (2)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
We are a 22 bedroom Hotel owned by J D Wetherspoon, located in the beautiful town of Shrewsbury in Shropshire. Situated in the town centre looking onto the River Severn. All rooms have free WIFI. A friendly reception team are on the front desk 24 hours a day to welcome you.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Centrally Located
Location
Full view
97Great for walkers
Grade: 97 out of 100
142Restaurantswithin 0.25 miles
35Attractionswithin 0.25 miles
Reviews & more
808Reviews
78Photos
19Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 360
  • 324
  • 83
  • 26
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Had an evening bar meal but sadly nothing special, just over heated microwaved fare, not particularly appetising. The bar and eating area was clean and tidy on my visit, it is a handy enough pub to nip in to for a quick bite if you are in the town centre.
Read more
Response from Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear TimStaffordshire Thank you for your review hope tosee you again very soon Gail and the Bar Team
Read more
Great stay in a wonderful place steeped in character and with beautiful streets. Great Georgian coachhouse near river with stunning riverside walks and very central. Definitely would stay in Shrewsbury and this hotel again.
Read more
Response from Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Good Evening Chris I would just like to say a big thank you for taking the time to leave a fabulous review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind Regards: Jane & the Hotel team
Read more
My husband and I's plans changed last minute so got a great deal staying at this ideally located hotel. We just needed a comfy bed after a long day's driving and usually go to a Travel lodge or Premier Inn but this hotel was way better value and the lady in reception was so
Read more
Response from Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mrs Ann E Thank you for your lovely comments and yes do look us up where ever your travelling too. We have a total of 58 hotels now and hopefully more to come in the future glad you enjoyed our hospitality see you again very soon Gail and the Hotel Team
Read more
I have stayed in several Wetherspoons Hotels. They are fairly consistent. The rooms are fine. We were staying in a pub that is open till midnight, so it was no surprise that there was noise from people outside the front, smoker's area. I was disappointed that having booked 11
Read more
Response from Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
186Steve Thank you for your review yes our computer system does allocate the rooms depending on room type if you have booked different room types they can sometimes be on 2 different floors but next time before your stay please contact us and subject to availability we will always try to allocate where guests would like to be. Unfortunately on this occasion it was not possible as most other guests had checked in and we did not have the 2 rooms available on the same floor hope this explains Gail and The Hotel Team
Read more
Had a one night stay here after arranging to meet friends. We had a smaller room than previous but fine for the night. Clean and tidy, good towels. Could do with a bit of attention to maintainence where some holes in the wall have been filled but not painted over. We also had an
Read more
Response from Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear PearlGloucester Thank you for your review it was great for you to take the time to send we will look at our maintainance Gail and the Hotel Team
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementThe Shrewsbury Hotel
Newly Refurbished Bedroom
Photo provided by managementThe Shrewsbury Hotel
Newly Refurbished Bathroom
とりあえずバスタブがあるのはうれしい
水、お湯、別々蛇口
部屋は広め
PreviousNext
1234567
Is there a left luggage service for early arrivals
Hi Yes we have a left luggage area for guests luggage
0 votes
What are check in and out times?
Hi You are able to check into your room from 14:00 on your day of arrival and checkout is by 11am on your morning of departure.
1 vote
Show all answers
Are toiletries provided
Hi We provide Shower Gel and Hand Soap in every bathroom
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234
"103 family room, can be seen in photos, with stairs up to bathroom"
"Avoid room 211"
"Ask not to be put on the Mardol side of the hotel."
"105 looked over the air ducts not a nice view at all"
"ask for 1st floor room if disabled"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$56 - US$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandShrewsbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing