We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel

Traveller (1294)
Room & Suite (464)
Dining (77)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
73Somewhat walkable
Grade: 73 out of 100
171Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
110Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
5,242Reviews
1,608Photos
38Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,169
  • 1,436
  • 904
  • 448
  • 287
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here for two nights on BBEM. Our room was the Sycamore suite which was a beautiful room with separate lounge , comfy beds and a stunning bathroom. Had two meals in the evenings , both excellent quality , nicely presented and served promptly. the menu was varied so was
Read more
+7
Should read the reviews before arriving to this hotel. I spoke to the reservation team confirming to have a plate of cake with champagne and origami in the room for £51 as it was our anniversary. But there was nothing in the room. Not only that, when i spoke to the reception,
Read more
On arrival the hotel is beautiful, the grounds are superb, but that’s about it! Staff incredibly rude, with no personality.... food extremely average and quite poor for a Macdonald hotel. We had to eat breakfast in the corridor after waiting for 20 mins in a queue to be
Read more
Response from BathSpaHotel, General Manager at MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Katie o930, I am really disappointed to receive your feedback and I can only apologise for having let you down so badly. Perhaps if you could call me so we can discuss your experience. 01225 476890 I very much look forward to hearing from you. Best regards, Stephen Browning General Manager
Read more
Very poor customer service. Stuff extremely unhelpful and unpleasant. Very small spa fecilities, some out of order. Swimming pool size of a larger bath, not enough sun loungers. Poor variety of buffet hot food I would even say none. I would not stay again.
Read more
Response from BathSpaHotel, General Manager at MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Magdalena m, I am so sorry your feedback is so damning and that we have obviously not been able to look after you appropriately. I can only apologise for getting it so wrong for you and that the facilities on offer were not acceptable. I know that all the team will be disappointed on your feedback. Once again I am so sorry on behalf of everyone who works here. Best regards, Stephen Browning General Manager
Read more
The first day we had to eat breakfast in a corridor because of the queue and the toast was cold. The second day we arrived at 930 to a long queue. We were seated but had to wait until 10.00 to order. We then waited 45 minutes to get our cooked breakfast so we didn’t eat until
Read more
Response from BathSpaHotel, General Manager at MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Wolso, Thank you for your constructive feedback and I am so sorry you had such a bad experience during breakfast. The corridor you mention is called the 'Colonnade' and many guests prefer the space as it is airy and has lovely views of the gardens. We do provide the same buffet items as in the main restaurant and the hotel food is cooked to order. But we certainly should have been able to manage boiled eggs for you. We are aware that during busy periods when the hotel is full that breakfast can be a challenging time, but no excuses we need to improve on it and are trying to do so. I apologise for getting it wrong for you and I thank you for your feedback. Best regards, Stephen Browning General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMacDonald Bath Spa Hotel
The Imperial Suite Penthouse at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMacDonald Bath Spa Hotel
The Classic Imperial Suite at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMacDonald Bath Spa Hotel
The Classic Four-Poster Room at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMacDonald Bath Spa Hotel
The Classic Double Room at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMacDonald Bath Spa Hotel
The Classic Double Room at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
PreviousNext
12345693
Dear Guest, We do indeed have Children's menu and Room service. But if you prefer we can offer smaller portions in the main restaurant. Walking into the centre can take about 2/25 mins depending on how quickly you walk. The challenge can be coming back to the Hotel as it is uphill. Do let me know if there is anything else we can help you with. And we look forward to seeing you. Best regards, Stephen Browning General Manager
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi there. I imagine it depends how you have booked; we included ours in the original booking with the hotel. We found using the MacDonald hotel's booking line and including breakfast came out cheaper, as Trivago and so on came out £30+ more expensive for the rooms than going direct, so in effect it cost us less than zero for breakfast. If you've booked at a good discount, then the £21.50 doesn't seem so expensive, especially compared to the £15 car parking charge! It is a good twenty minute walk into town for breakfast. Hope this helps.
1 vote
Don’t bother going the place is vile!!
-3 votes
Parking is £15 per night which is a con really, they have a large hotel which is surely for those guests who arrive by car
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234568
"Would recommend the sycamore suite"
"Moan about the car park costs when you book"
"Top floor rooms quiet with nobody above your room."
"avoid room 103!"
"Best to have the room in the front of the hotel which are quieter"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$175 - US$499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald bath hotel bathmacdonald hotel bathbath hotel spamacdonald bath spa
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
131
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing