We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Boathouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Boathouse
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 392: English reviews
Start your review of The Boathouse
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sunday lunch walk in as had 2 yr old granddaughter who was hungry Found a table and asked for high chair which I was told is over there only to be asked 15 minutes later to give up the chair as someone had booked a table requesting 1 the guy said he would give us free deserts but as I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicola m
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Haven't been before and enjoyed the food and excellent service we wanted to give our friend a birthday treat. Forty minutes after ordering there was no sign of food. I had been told that they had run out of steak. After another 10 minutes it did finally arrive minus the apple sauce that was supposed to accompany the pork. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
Marshfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the table was prebooked several days before for my walking party and confirmed on the morning before we set off. The table was not ready, we were not greeted by friendly staff and although we organised a table ourselves by clearing all dirty plates no staff came and we were unable to get to the bar to order our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank windrushtraynor
Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed a three course meal from the Valentines set menu. Forgot to send through food order until the day (received no reminder) and they didn't seem to have acknowledged our late order it by the evening. Wasn't end of the world as the food on our order was still available. The food was very tasty. Nice environment in the restaurant....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison G
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such a shame. Lovely setting, lovely building, great decor. BUT... everytime I come here it's slide a bit further down hill. Pretty but vacant and disinterested staff. No organisation as to who is serving behind the bar... even though they can see lots of people waiting they would rather huddle together looking afraid of taking action.had to ask three times...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccabrewer2015
BoathouseBath, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca, I sincerely appreciate that you have taking the time to share with us your experiences. We are currently undergoing a change over of management. May I reassure you that in the last two weeks we have been visited by EHO and everything is above board. Our kitchen strictly managed and we have recently been awarded a 5* food...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff are terrible, on facebook instead of serving customers, ignoring us when we tried to order drinks, and don't care if you like the food or not? They don't check if the food was ok and don't clear the tables this is not on a busy night, mind we pop in for a drink often (its local, the only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank motocrossAce
BoathouseBath, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest feedback, it is always appreciated. We are undergoing a change in management and would like to reassure you that the experiences you have shared will not reoccur. Kind Regards, Kate Williams

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at The Boathouse overnight last week. We were in a balcony room overlooking the river and countryside. It was a fabulous location and extremely quiet. Dinner was excellent. I must mention James, the barman, who made us feel really welcome. We will certainly return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j273jones
BoathouseBath, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Hi, Fantastic to hear you have such a wonderful stay with us. I am pleased to hear you received great service from our team member and would like to assure you he has been informed of your review. Kind Regards, Kate

Wiltshire
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Booked a table for Sunday lunch took a while for them to find a table and then we were told it needed clearing. Bar service for drinks also poor and when we asked for menu and how much longer before we could sit down it was suggested" we chill out at the bar". By 2.15 we were taken to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireChris
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2016

We were all delighted by this Inn just 3 miles outside Bath and set by the river Avon. It was incredibly peaceful and the spacious rooms were tastefully decorated and furnished with sumptuous super-king beds.The price of accomodation includes full English breakfast which can be taken in a dining room alongside the river. The menu is very impressive making it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

I've been here twice now in the past month and it's been perfect everything. The place itself is beautiful with a lovely canal view. The food is absolutely lovely. Both times I've been I've had the same thing to eat but both times it has been perfect. The value for money - especially with the lunch deal is spot on....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey P

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.7 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 6 in Norton St Philip
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#16 of 192 in Bath
756 reviews
4.1 mi away
King William Inn
King William Inn
#1 of 1 in Tunley
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#51 of 192 in Bath
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#20 of 192 in Bath
839 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#29 of 192 in Bath
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With landscaped gardens and picturesque views over the River Avon, this pub offers individually designed guest accommodation. Parking is free on site, and there is free Wi-Fi throughout the building.The Boathouse has a large raised deck with scenic river views, and the garden leads down to the water. Outdoor seating is available for al fresco dining in beautiful and peaceful surroundings.Guests can enjoy a range of real ales, and there is a carefully selected wine list. Hearty food is available in the restaurant, made from high-quality local ingredients. A full English breakfast is also available each morning.Central Bath can be reached in under 10 minutes by car. The Roman Baths are 3 miles from The Boathouse, and Bath Spa Rail Station is a 5-minute drive away. The Newbridge park & ride is right next door with direct buses into Bath centre every 12 mins 7 days a week ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Address: Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: £88 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boathouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Boathouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Boathouse staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Boathouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay somewhere else if you want good service, if not the location is great, lovely river setting and easy access into Bath”
 of 5 bubbles motocrossAce, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are just 9 rooms, some a little larger, room 8 is large.They are all on the upper floor which means climbing 2 flights of stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles O123NHmargaretb, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms overlooking the river, I believe are a tad dearer!”
 of 5 bubbles valsey49, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 we stayed in over looked the car park. Very quiet and very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles H4813TGsarahc, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were in number 6, which had a view of the car park! So maybe ask for a river view if that will bother you”
 of 5 bubbles Masonary1104, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5