Bear Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bear Inn

Traveller (41)
Bedroom
Room & Suite (15)
This is supposed to be chicken caesar salad!!
Dining (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#31 of 76 B&Bs in Bath
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Room features
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

6-10 Wellsway, Bath BA2 3AQ England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 76 out of 100
76
Bristol Airport
14.8 mi
See all flights
Cardiff-Wales Airport
42.3 mi
See all flights
88Reviews2Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 8
  • 3
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sarvarh wrote a review Dec 2022
Salisbury, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked the Bear due to proximity to a restaurant we were booked into. I hadn’t looked into it much.

We arrived early and parked up. The free parking is a bonus for a hotel in Bath. We had a drink at the bar which was reasonably priced before heading out for lunch.

Checked in at about half 3. We were in room 6 and were blown away. The room was huge with a sofa, seating area and massive tv. The bathroom is equally impressive with freestanding bath, twin sinks and a separate shower. Toiletries are provided and are good quality. Mini fridge was stocked with water, milk and some chocolate which was a nice touch. There was a good selection of teas, hot chocolate and coffee pods.

Breakfast is only £10 per person for residents which included a hot breakfast from the menu and drinks. I had full English which was huge with good quality ingredients. Check in and out was straight forwards. Shame we weren’t asked about our stay as we would have been able to tell them it was perfect and we had a wonderful time.

In terms of location, the Bear is about a 15 min walk to central Bath. This is a nice walk down a fairly steep hill so if you are not the fittest you may want to get a taxi back. We got the bus in because we are lazy. The bus stop is right outside the hotel. Taxi back cost about £6. There is a coop, deli and pharmacy in the immediate vicinity. With the parking, lovely rooms and ease of transport, I wouldn’t hesitate in staying here again when visiting central Bath
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Get a taxi back from town to avoid having to walk the steep hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Bear Inn
Responded 19 Dec 2022
Hi Sarvarh, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! It's great to read your fantastic comments. We're really pleased to hear that you were blown away by the room and thoroughly enjoyed your breakfast in the morning!! We really hope we can welcome you back again soon on your next visit to Bath! Many thanks, The Team at The Bear Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RealRum wrote a review Nov 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The bear inn staff provide an excellent service and a great atmosphere. I have visited here a few times now and they never disappoint, always friendly and conscientious and happy to help where they can.

It is a great place for family meals, drinks with friends and also a solo work space. They cater for it all with their layout of separate sections from the restaurant and casual bar and even an events room. Their food menu is varied and although on the slightly expensive side it is worth it for the atmosphere and convenience.

Definitely worth a visit. Their music nights with local talent and quiz nights are also worth heading too.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Bear Inn
Responded 15 Nov 2022
Hi there, Thank you so much for your wonderful rating and lovely comments from your visit to us! It is great to read that you have had a great experience every time you have come to visit us, from the service to the atmosphere and events! Look forward to welcoming you back soon! Many thanks, The Team at The Bear Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JonH2602 wrote a review May 2022
United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here over Easter. The room was great value, and was at the rear of the property overlooking the car park. It came with a small balcony! The staff were lovely throughout, check in was good and the room of a high standard and very clean. The decor and furnishings are quirky yet modern, superb bathroom with a great shower, comfy bed, everything we wanted. The room smelled freshly decorated, and we had a quiet stay. There were some welcome complimentaries in the fridge, Kit Kats and drinks. The Inn is in a good location for the park and terrific viewpoints, and a short car ride down the hill into the city. Tried breakfast in the morning and it was fabulous, locally produced tasty food and the manager was very attentive. It was sunny over Easter so was good to sit outside on the decking with a pint of cider.
Looking at other reviews, it seems that a few locals are twisting the mix about the changes, but as an outsider staying in the city for the first time, I don't look at local politics, I had a great stay and could not fault the Bear. I would stay here again, for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Bear Inn
Responded 13 May 2022
Hello, Thank you so much for your fantastic 5* review, it is so lovely to read your comments from your stay! It sounds that everything was great on your visit and it is so wonderful to read, I will pass on your comments to the team. I know they will appreciate how much you enjoyed your room and the service! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the city of Bath! Thanks again, Chelsea
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tamzen H wrote a review Mar 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went for a meal to celebrate my husband’s birthday. We had a 12 week old puppy that was too young to be left at home so I searched for dog friendly pubs nearby.
I checked with the staff as we arrived that they were ok for us to bring the puppy. We requested a side table so that we wouldn’t disturb other guests.
The food is delicious. My husband had the fish and chips and I had the veggie burger. The staff were so kind and attentive.
It was our first night out as a couple in months and we were very excited to spend the evening together. Our puppy is very small. We put her on her lead attached it to my chair leg and she played with her chew quietly and then went to sleep for the whole meal. She was not ‘roaming’ and no other dogs were ‘roaming’.
The ‘gentleman’ in the recent review could not have made us feel more uncomfortable. Loudly discussing with his wife how appalling it was that people bring dogs into restaurants. We would have had no problem if he had discreetly asked the staff to move them as we understand that not everyone likes dogs.
It genuinely spoilt our time listening to them grumble about us for at least 15 minutes. I then was even more mortified when I watched him berate the member of staff (I think the restaurant manager) about it.
We apologised to the staff. They were so kind, it sounds ridiculous but the couple had brought me close to tears.
The prices reflect the quality of the food. It was delicious. I am so sorry to all the staff that you got complained at because of us. The staff handled the ‘gentleman’ politely and with great professionalism.
This is clearly listed as a dog friendly place. It absolutely does not deserve the 1 star review it got.
We will definitely be going back regularly.
Thank you The Bear Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Bear Inn
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review, it is so great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us! I am sorry to hear that you were made to feel uncomfortable, like I mentioned to you on the night we are a dog friendly venue throughout so you were more than welcome to bring your little pup along! We cannot wait to welcome you all back soon! Thanks, Chelsea
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AJULES22 wrote a review Mar 2024
Cheshire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
One night flying visit to Bath to watch the rugby at the Recreation Ground. Stayed in Room 6 which was superbly appointed with numerous quality touches that you rarely see these day. Large bedroom with sofa bed if required and an equally sizeable bathroom with amazing bath as well as a walk in shower. High quality appliances and a nice touch in the fridge with complimentary water and chocolate bars. Lady who checked me in was incredibly friendly and informative. Did not have time to eat/drink at the Bear but it was busy when I arrived at about 4pm and then again when I returned to the room at 11pm so despite some of the 'Lack of Thatchers' reviews, it must be popular! Yes it is a 15/20 minute walk into Bath, up and down a steep hill, but why would you be surprised about this if you researched the location before booking? And if the wife hasn't brought suitable walking shoes you can always book a taxi? There is free car parking on site - most hotels in the city charge around £12/15 per day. Would have no hesitation in staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lauren Currie, Owner at Bear Inn
Responded 14 Mar 2024
Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for all the detail you have given future guests, we are super happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. All the best Team Bear!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SusieBath wrote a review Mar 2022
Bath, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve been to The Bear twice since it has been renovated. Lovely surroundings, very tasteful. Food good but the male members of staff that meet n greet are not very friendly, almost felt we were an inconvenience.

Coke at £3.50 a bottle and service being added to the bill at 12.5% is very cheeky as it was not worth it. If it had been then we wouldn’t have had a problem Always nice to make our own choice!!

When it came to paying the bill and it was card only that did it for us. Never again. They obviously don’t need our money and yet it’s legal tender. How can they NOT accept it? I find this totally UNACCEPTABLE so sadly will vote with my feet.

I wish them well but not for us….a real shame.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Owner at Bear Inn
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Hi Susie, Thank you for your review, sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. It is great to hear that you did enjoy the food and surroundings since the refurb. In terms of the service charge, this is optional so you are more than welcome to get this removed off the bill. We are a cashless site and have been since we opened, I am sorry to hear that you don't agree with this decision. We do hope that you maybe consider visiting us again. Thanks, Chelsea
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren D wrote a review Apr 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Went in for a few local drinks and some food. Bar staff were friendly enough, the waiter who served us was really rude. We ordered a cambert to share very small, no chutney and 2 slices of bread (definitely not sourdough) cut in half for 16.50!!
Kids Mac and cheese was literally that no sauce just pasta with cheese on top. Found the waiting staff to be rude. Hugely disappointed! Much better locals to go to!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Bear Inn
Responded 18 Apr 2022
Hi, Sorry to hear of your negative experience from your visit to us, it is disappointing to hear that you didn't enjoy yourself. Our Camembert we choose to serve with a Truffle honey rather than a chutney, but I apologise that you didn't think the food was up to scratch. Also sorry to hear that your waiter was rude, that is not the service that we strive to deliver. I will make sure to pass your comments onto the staff and work on these points. We do hope you consider visiting us again in the future to give us another go. Many thanks, Chelsea
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christie wrote a review Mar 2023
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Bear is a wonderful Inn to stay whilst visiting Bath, the staff were lovely and helpful advised on the best walking route into Bath. The room was absolutely gorgeous, huge tv, the bed was so comfortable I wish I could have taken the mattress home! Everything was provided, tea (peppermint for me) and coffee (including a posh coffee machine), iron and ironing board, hair dryer, air con, bathroom condiments and a dab radio. There is a bus stop right outside the inn, but the walk into Bath takes about 10 minutes, and the hill back isn’t too bad (used to worse back home in Wales). I would recommend and stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Bear Inn
Responded 6 Mar 2023
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review! It’s great to read your comments and hear how wonderful you found your stay, especially the room and extra touches we provide to make guests feel at home! Hopefully we can welcome you our back again on a future trip to Bath. Many thanks, The Team at The Bear Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emcnix wrote a review Jul 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here during an anniversary trip to Bath. The Bear was well worth the walk up the hill! Very attentive staff, a friendly atmosphere and lovely room. The room was nicely decorated and spotless. Coffee and water etc supplied, also an iron and good hair dryer. The pub itself had a good selection of drink and breakfast in the morning was very tasty (and only £10 per person)! Will definitely stay again if we are back in Bath.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Bear Inn
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Hi, Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor, I am glad you made the trip up the hill to stay with us! Lovely to hear that you enjoyed the room and found all the amenities useful! Also it is great that you enjoyed the food and drink selection in the restaurant, hopefully we can welcome you back when you are next in Bath! Thanks, The Bear Inn Bath
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen B wrote a review Apr 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a night at The Bear Inn.
So impressed with the room . Spotlessly clean and everything you require for a relaxing night away . Fabulous refurbishment!!
Free parking , lovely bar and restaurant also with the added bonus of an outside terrace . Finished off with a delicious breakfast.
Friendly helpful staff .
10-15 minutes walk down hill to the beautiful Bath city centre , if you don’t fancy the walk back there are plenty of buses with a bus stop outside the The Bear .
Also close to Alexandra Park to view the spectacular Bath skyline . Well worth a visit .
We will definitely be back !!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Bear Inn
Responded 23 Apr 2022
Hello, Thank you for your wonderful 5* review from your recent stay with us. It is so great to hear how much you enjoyed the room and everything else regarding your visit to us! We look forward to welcoming you here again on your next trip to Bath! Thanks, Chelsea
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Nik C
Bath, United Kingdom
Yes all of our bedrooms have hairdryers. I am unsure why some people have answered no!
Dedicated Diner asked a question Jan 2018
Dartford, United Kingdom30 contributions30 helpful votes
How far is this from the main centre?
Answer from Jonathan639
Elvira, California14 contributions5 helpful votes
yep 15 mins down hill, a nice walk. On the way back later at night there's supposed to be a regular bus but they sometimes get delayed so you can walk back up the hill probably a bit longer due to it's uphill
amanda t wrote a tip Jun 2024
Devon, United Kingdom50 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Small carpark"
Read full review
Georgia S wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"A room at the back is quieter "
Read full review
Karen D wrote a tip Dec 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's a good walk into town which we enjoyed but you can get a bus right outside the door "
Read full review
Samantha M wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s at the top of a steep hill, not a huge issue as very close to the centre. We walked in but taxis back £6/£7 "
Read full review
Connor L wrote a tip Nov 2023
Sheffield, United Kingdom49 contributions47 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the pancakes"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bath area.
PRICE RANGE
£132 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetBath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEAR INN - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Bear Inn
What are some of the property amenities at Bear Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Bear Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Bear Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
All Bath HotelsBath Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BathHotels near Bear Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire