We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stags Head Inn

Expedia.comUS$106*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Stags Head Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Stags Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 231: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Excellent location for Castle, shops and exploring the beautiful historic village of Dunster. The pub is quaint and cosy and the service friendly cheerful and efficient. Good size tasty lunch, I had the beef and stilton pie & my husband had the fish pie. Taxi into Minehead was arranged for us to meet friends (10 minute drive £12.... quite expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Calyn64
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 2 jack Russell's and had a wonderful time. The pub is lovely and the rooms really comfortable and welcoming. Food is excellent and the service is first rate. It is very obvious that the owners and staff really care about what they are doing and so do it very well indeed. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annaharry108
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Stopped off for a drink as we noticed there was a beer garden and it was a warm day. After ordering drinks from the bar we made our way out to the back to find a small thin strip of land with a steep path and steps. Not ideal for those with walking difficulties.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tipsy56
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

As a B&B over a pub you do not expect too much but unfortunately the Stags Head did not deliver. Our room was a twin or double in that it had two single beds which the staff said we could push together if we wanted. As we couldn't find if they locked together we decided to avoid the inevitable tumble...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aphoto18
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Rooms bare and mattress didn't fit base, so uncomfortable I slept on the floor. Not clean, black mould in shower. Have been here in the past and it has gone downhill. Breakfast okay and server good but overworked, she was the only one on duty, the owners having gone on holiday. Kept awake until 1.30 in the morning by staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gunda16
Terry D, Owner at Stags Head Inn, responded to this review

Again , more of the same nonsensical preposterous ramblings.How perfectly strange and weird to wish to sleep on a floor which carries an absolute guarantee of being uncomfortable and extremely hard !! In every room there is a wardrobe, a chair, a chest of draws , dressing table ,stool and tea coffee making facilities oh and two bedside tables what...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Sadly our medium to rare steak was well done so sent it back, and the second one was not much better, for the price the plate of food was very poor, steak 1 large mushroom soaked in oil,and half a tomato, the fried potatoes were nice, they offered us a free drink but good food would have been better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janyvonne2015
Terry D, Owner at Stags Head Inn, responded to this review

Apologies again only one steak was was slightly over done however two brand new steaks were cooked to your desired order. it seems that after much deliberation and discussion with chef ( as this never normally happens ) that the second gas ring under the large steak griddle had unexpectedly and unfortunately expired. We agree we could do and normally...

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We had good meals here on two nights of our 3 night stay in Dunster and enjoyed both evenings and the food. The staff were friendly and efficient and it's in a very pretty street off of the main Dunster Road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EtoileSanderstead
Terry D, Owner at Stags Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words so pleased you enjoyed everything it was a joy to have your company

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Went for at The Stags Head for a meal tonight. Have been many times in the past but not so much recently having heard some mixed reviews. I'm afraid unlikely to go for a meal again following tonights experience. Didn't get off too a good start wine not adequately chilled, although the staff quickly replaced and gave us a chilled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julietgriffin
Terry D, Owner at Stags Head Inn, responded to this review

So sorry about the wine not being chilled first time , the brie wellington does get mixed reviews indeed one lady loved it so much she had it 3 nights in a row !! The minced mushroom is duxcelle mushrooms that chef finely chops and mixes with the brie and again the hazel nut is ground down into the mixture...

Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Where do I begin! Honestly, I wasn't expecting much as I cannot stand the thought of 'Pub Grub'. When we came in all staff seemed very approachable. We were seated next and a very classical 'pub' table and I loved the slate table mats and flowers; a really nice touch. 🌷 The little quotes around the room was retro and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TMSearle
Terry D, Owner at Stags Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you noticing all the little things we put to make your dining experience a pleasant one looking forward to seeing you again !!

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2016

We called in here to have a meal after a day out. We were very disappointed and felt we did not get value for money. I had sweet potato,spinach and almond curry. There was no taste/flavour of almonds and it was impossible to tell if sweet potato or some other root vegetable had been used. My husband ordered the steak...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Don R
Terry D, Owner at Stags Head Inn, responded to this review

So sorry about your dining experience the curry of which you speak is one of our best sellers and is enjoyed time and time again by many.The almond is not to over power with flavour but to enhance , let me reassure sweet potato is in there I know because peeling takes some time !! and is prepared so all...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
184 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
259 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
222 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Stags Head Inn

Address: 10 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Price Range: £69 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stags Head Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Stags Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Dunster
Stags Head Inn Dunster, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stags Head Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Stags Head Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in room 1A which was a twin room and I would recommend it.”
Susie167, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 faced the road therefore traffic noise and church bells every 15 mins”
Calyn64, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Largest room en suite has very uncomfortable bed, choose another room.”
Gunda16, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not applicable”
819stuartd, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Nice for a visit or good meal but wouldn't stay there again.”
lindasI5778FL, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$106* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$109
Hotels.comUS$106
Orbitz.comUS$106
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates