We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stoberry House

Traveller (137)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (14)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Set within 26 acres of parkland nestles Stoberry House and its beautiful 6 acre gardens with breathtaking views over Wells, its cathedral and the Vale of Avalon. Stoberry is unique being completely surrounded by countryside yet within easy walking distance of the City. This luxury boutique bed and breakfast lies in beautiful surroundings, comfortably furnished reception rooms lead to tastefully and individually decorated en suite bedrooms and I look forward to welcoming you to Stoberry.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Golf course
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
318Reviews
177Photos
3Q+A
90Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 300
  • 10
  • 4
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Have stayed in hundreds of hotels/b&Bs in over 90 countries worldwide and no idea why this is still in the Good Hotel Guide. We picked it for the location - which is one of the positive points - and easy access to Wells. The bedroom - with a four poster never looked to our taste
Read more
Response from frances y, Owner at Stoberry House
Responded 2 weeks ago
This has been a wonderful year for Stoberry House and Garden and for all the team who work so hard for the success of the B and B, and in addition to the GHG award, Hotels combined have for the second year awarded Stoberry the recognition of excellence - they wrote “Stoberry House for your recent inclusion into the top 3% of properties for Customer Satisfaction in UK and worldwide”, and also the Lux award for the best B and B on the Mendips. The Good hotel Guide Ceaser award after several years as the Editor’s choice was a really wonderful honour, known as the Oscars of the hotel industry, and the Michelin guide let us know we are included again this year for the fifth year in a row, and Groupon our first year with them gave us five stars ‘As one of our partners that has gone the extra mile to create customer delight, we are proud to recognise you as a “Groupon Star”, as rated by our customers.’ We have received notification we are also featured in the “Lonely Planet” and we mention this because all this covers a very varied visitor demographics. So we were very sorry to receive this review as the last trip adviser review of the year. Firstly I do apologise to any one reading this for the length of this reply as we have discussed taking the easy option of not replying but felt we should place certain comments in the correct perspective. We appreciate we cannot always fulfil everyone’s expectations and not be to every ones taste but we all do really try to the best of our ability to be helpful and give guests a lovely stay . A serious concern is that the date of stay is stated as March 2018 on the review. We can categorically state that this has to be incorrect as we have been through our records and no such person stayed in March, neither did any guests stay for only one night in Lady Hamilton, our four poster room, in March. Also the award that is mentioned was only presented in October and the review was posted in December a long time after a stated March stay: it has been pointed out that information could have been gleaned from reading other reviews Tea, cake or a glass of wine we offer on arrival, and we are always happy to bring this to your room if you prefer None of our guests have any obligation if they do not wish one of us to talk through the walk into Wells with its short cut, and where to park, etc. we would have been very happy to go and look after our other guests for those who do not require any assistance. Since we have been living at Stoberry for 22 years and have many newspaper cuttings of all the charity work we have been involved in, including organising large and small events over so many years before welcoming Guests into our home, as a journalist of 30 years in Wells we would have thought the reviewer would know Stoberry and that we would have met. You say that you were so unhappy with the Restaurant selection, we take feedback from all our guests in order to compile the most recommended restaurants. Restaurants: we recommend to guests who are happy to drive will include the Sheppey inn , we do mention it is a little eccentric but that is the fun of the place you are met with a piece of rope from which hangs a plastic bottle full of water that acts as a door closing mechanism in various nooks and crannies you will see little plastic figures cowboys and Indians etc This has taken people by surprise – however we would never be rude about any establishment. Lighting: we do ask our guests if when they retire they could be so kind as to turn the main overhead lights out, as when we do our turn down service, we put on some subdued lighting in the sitting rooms and the stairs have little automatic movement sensor lights. . The review states “Clutter in the room - ornaments everywhere to the point we had to move stuff to use the bedside table. Given the b&B part is sep to their living area it's all unnecessary” a puzzling and misleading comment because we do live on the property and the room the reviewer says they were in was our daughters bedroom The desk has a lamp, coaster and little silver bowl containing complimentary chocolates or fudge, and in the desk you will find a book on Wells, on the other side on the bed side table would be a lamp and two glasses with one sparkling water and one plain Bath room - the plug is a press down one we point this out because a few of our guests were not accustomed to this arrangement We place the bill under the jam container on the far end of the table, never under the cup and saucer next to the guest We are very sorry if you did stay in March and you did not enjoy the night with us, but we do hope your partner’s experience was more congenial .
Read more
I was impressed with the long drive and acres of grounds and gardens. Masses of parking - 3 car parks! Wells is near to the B&B and we could walk there in the evening for dinner in the local restaurants which was a big plus for us. The owner was very proud of her attention to
Read more
Response from frances y, Public Relations Manager at Stoberry House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your review of Stoberry House and Garden I was pleased to read that you found the location central and convenient, and that you had a pleasant experience We look forward to greeting you in the futiour
Read more
+4
This is one of the best places I have stayed, the drive through the estate is gorgeous with views of wells and the cathedral, you can see right over to Glastonbury. The hotel itself is beautiful, when we pulled into the car park we were greeted by one of the ladies that works
Read more
Response from frances y, Public Relations Manager at Stoberry House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Stoberry House and Garden where you can be assured of a warm welcome from all the Staff they felt it was a pleasure to look after you both .
Read more
If there is a better B and B in uk (or anywhere else for that matter) I have yet to find it! The attention to detail is second to none and it is run as efficiently as any 5 star establishment I have ever stayed in. Beautiful grounds, comfortable beds and a breakfast of Kings. I
Read more
Response from frances y, Public Relations Manager at Stoberry House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Stoberry House and Garden and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. All the staff were so very pleased to read that you found the service to be excellent and that you were able to enjoy our location and unique views. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Read more
I am unable to think of enough superlatives to describe our stay at Stoberry House. We stayed in the superb Studio Suite, exceptional attention to detail and a beautifiul view of Wells Cathedral and Glastonbury Tor. There is a warm welcome with friendliness and care from all. A
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementStoberry House
Seating area in the Studio Suite at Stoberry
A view from the drive
PreviousNext
1234568
The garden is a feature of the B&B and very relaxing. It doesn't represent a platy area for children more ornamental
0 votes
Show all answers
I have no idea .. best call and ask them
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello, do you have amenities for a 7 month old?
Thank you for your enquiry. We only have one room that is suitable for a baby and this is very booked up Please can you email me with your proposed dates? Many thanks Frances 0044 1749 672906
1 vote
"We have been pleased with all of the rooms we have used. Only adult guests and set in 22 acres, so it is quiet."
"All rooms are perfection"
"All bedrooms are super which ever you choose."
"The Lady Hamilton room is lovely"
"The Studio is a stand-alone building near the main house. Very private and has outdoor seating with great view. Romantic"
PreviousNext
12345618
PRICE RANGE
US$126 - US$210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
stoberry house hotel wells
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWells
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing