Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The White Hart Inn

Traveller (136)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (29)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
£65
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Get rewarded with One Key
£51
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Get rewarded with One Key
£50
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#3 of 4 hotels in Wells
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Recently renovated by award winning designers (November 2018) our pub is located right in the heart of Wells, opposite the Cathedral green. It has been painstakingly renovated to give a truly English pub atmosphere. You will find local ales on tap and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Our Head Chef has created a menu that showcases all of the pub classic with a few seasonal variations. Our sausages come directly from our farm up the road. Situated in the city centre just 10 short steps from the famous Cathedral. Its 14 en suite bedrooms make the perfect base from which to explore Wells and the surrounding area. Bristol, Bath, Glastonbury, Glastonbury Tor, Cheddar, Clarks Village, Wells Golf Club and Longleat are all close by.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
761Reviews7Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 281
  • 274
  • 117
  • 54
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
kate d wrote a review Oct 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom62 contributions73 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I agree with a few of the reviews regarding bits of the decor needing a bit of TLC but everything is harder during the current Covid crisis and we all have to be realistic I feel at the moment. Rooms need filling for these places to survive and when they are full they can’t be worked on. Putting a few minor points to one side our room was lovely. Very cosy, spacious, clean and homely. Covid restrictions mean breakfast is a few bits in a box but it is an ideal opportunity to try 1 of the many excellent coffee shops. Excellent location. The staff were exceptional. All 3 we came across did everything they possibly could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible in these challenging times. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They were excellent from the time we made an enquiry to us leaving. They also allowed us to put our dog’s raw food in their fridge (very hygienically packed of course) as the room didn’t have a fridge. We would definitely stay again. Excellent value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tudor Hopkins, Owner at The White Hart Inn
Responded 30 Oct 2020
Dear BigItalyLover, In such hard times for the hospitality industry, it really is such a delight and so encouraging to read your review, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with us at The White Hart. I am pleased that the room facilities, scaled down breakfast, location, and more importantly staff made your stay so enjoyable, I will be sure to share your review with the team. It would be a pleasure to welcome you both and your four legged member of the family back again in a more positive 2021! With kind regards, Megan Young General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ShereDelight wrote a review Aug 2020
Shere, United Kingdom34 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for a couple of nights. Room very nice and spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly and we were able to get a good space in their car park. Perfect location for visiting the Cathedral and town. The only negative was the lack of communication regarding refreshing the rooms. I expected some rules regarding this, which we fully understand. However, there was nothing to say they weren’t going to change towels, etc. We only found out because another guest questioned it. As it was, we were supplied with a continental breakfast placed outside our bedroom door the night before, rather than something a bit nicer in the restaurant. Although we were aware of this before we arrived. All it needed was a letter headed note explaining they couldn’t come in the rooms whilst still occupied and to ask the staff for anything you might need, I.e. fresh towels. Also, the washing machine below our room was obvious on a timer which came on the spin cycle at 6am!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike J wrote a review Feb 2020
Chepstow, United Kingdom912 contributions445 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The White Hart pub and rooms in the heart of Britain’s smallest city is a charming old black and white timbered building with plenty of ambiance. The staff were warm and welcoming. We were lucky enough to be staying on a very reasonably priced Travelzoo deal which included bed and breakfast and a dinner credit. Our Classic double room was admittedly a little on the small size and in need of a little update but for the price it was an absolute bargain. Extremely good value – highly recommended.
All of the above merits 5 stars however we have only awarded 4 because the telephone reservation system used by the hotel and the others in the Sleeping Bear group is, to say the least, extremely frustrating. After being presented with a choice of numbers to press for the service required and choosing reservations either the phone just rings and rings or an answer phone message tells the caller the opening hours. This happened on a number of occasions despite the fact that we were calling during opening hours!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KJG780 wrote a review Aug 2020
Wallingford, United Kingdom151 contributions91 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a superior room here for two nights. Although we rebooked parking, we struggled to park as the parking is small and cars were blocking the driveway. When we tried to check in (after check in time provided) the room was still being cleaned so we had to wait but were offered a complimentary drink whilst we waited. When we eventually saw the room, over an hour later, it was extremely dark (it was on the ground floor, in the back corner of the carpark and had (privacy) mesh over all the windows), poorly furnished (no comfy sofa/chairs described - two dining chairs at the end of the bed instead..) and certainly not as described for a superior room (eg the “large bottles of White Company toiletries” were replaced by small, cheap, bottles). We asked to move and were told the other superior room was being renovated (we later found out from the builders who held their smoking breaks directly outside the Classic Room we took as a replacement, that it was not a refit simply mending the leaking roof!)
We stayed one night in the much smaller, shabby, classic room we were offered as a replacement and checked out the following morning. The hotel were happy to refund the room and I got the impresssion we weren’t the first to complain...😟
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tudor Hopkins, Owner at The White Hart Inn
Responded 16 Sept 2020
Dear KJG780, We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review, although I am sorry to see that despite our correspondence and complimentary refund for the second night not stayed, you have still been disappointed with your trip to Wells. I understand you were hoping to have a sofa in our Superior room when you booked via Hotels.com and that was your basis for leaving. I am sorry this did not meet your expectation, our four rooms in this category have a mixture of sofas or armchairs depending on the configuration. As a result, I am aware you wished to move to a lower room category which you chose from what was available on the arrival night, which of course would have less lounge space again being a Classic double. We have indeed removed our large refill White Company products which are not in line with current Covid cross contamination areas, and instead replaced with disposable toiletries each day, this is down to the safety of our guests alone. And you mention the leaking roof, in fact it was a ceiling in a Superior that completely collapsed in a torrential thunderstorm a few weeks back and took no less than two week to mend. Certainly the last thing we expected in what has been such a lovely summer weather wise but we are in the UK after all! Thank you once again for your time. Kindest regards, Megan Young General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linsley M wrote a review Jul 2020
London, United Kingdom112 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
While lockdown has been eased, restrictions on the way hotels operate are in place. The White Hart has implemented a clearly labelled one way round the ground floor bar / reception area.

No contact checkin simple and straightforward and the rooms stripped of most of the usual hotel room accessories. Luckily the kettle, disposable cups and biscuits with a good selection of tea & coffee were still there, as was the hair dryer. There were also complementary masks & gloves if required

The evening dinner menu has also been trimmed back and we eschewed the pizza for the meat board which was substantial, fresh and filling. (Personal note: cut the pickled onion, it adds nothing to the board!)

Breakfast, delivered to the bedroom door, was also understandably a low key affair. It’s adequate rather than exciting.

And I just loved the GWR toilet roll holder in the bathroom - part of the eclectic bedroom furnishings.

Staff - friendly, helpful and doing their very best in the strange circumstances.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graham wrote a review Mar 2020
Sidbury, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stopped in today for lunch.
Butcombe Rare breed beer lovely.
I ordered the meat platter and Alison had a Pizza Italian. We were told this is a new menu and that the new pizza oven might take a little getting used to.
The Pizza was lovely, thin and crispy with plenty of well chosen ingredients and was cooked just right.
The meat on my meat platter was all top quality and the cheese and salad while always playing a supporting role to the meat was excellent. Salad came with a light dressing and was very fresh. Portions are generous and we would have had cold pizza for tea tonight of the dog hadn't found it in the coat pocket.
Both staff were friendly and helpful and the price was very reasonable even before the portion size is taken into account.
Happy to have dog in as well
Excellent lunch definitely worth a try
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor Davies wrote a review Aug 2020
13 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Just spent a very interesting weekend in Wells, staying at the White Hart Inn. The room was comfortable enough, the location is perfect, but they have one very big problem, parking. 15 rooms 9 parking spaces, which you have the privelage of paying five pounds a night for, that's of course if you can get in to the car park. As it is a one way in and out, and some inconsiderate person blocked the way in. And went out for the night. So when we returned we could not get in to the car park the conventional way. With a lack what I would call management on site, it was left to the young ladies there to sort things out. This Inn was let down by this parking issue, and I am afraid I don't think I will be staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tudor Hopkins, Owner at The White Hart Inn
Responded 5 Sept 2020
Dear Trev2234, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay with us in beautiful Wells, I do hope you enjoyed your weekend on the whole. I appreciate your positive comments on the location and room facilities, however, I am sorry you were disappointed with the parking situation. We do indeed only have 8 spaces, being a historic building, in a city centre with a limited footprint has led to the fact that we simple cannot expand beyond this. We do have a parking diary in order to reserve our spaces, but from time to time outwith our control and certainly not to our liking, other guests have taken it upon themselves to inconsiderately park having not booked a space. We do of course do as much as we can to keep en eye on this but I can only apologies if this fell through the net on the date of your stay. I will be sure to raise it with the Bar Manager who was on duty that evening. Other than the parking, I hope you enjoyed your mini break following lockdown and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again one day. Kindest regards, Megan Young General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie D wrote a review Feb 2020
148 contributions117 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here before on a travelzoo deal and I gave a 5 star review. Things are very different now. Still a great location still a dodgy car park and ok rooms . What has changed is the quality and variety of food offered . Very limited choice at dinner if you don’t fancy pizza or burger - no fish options at all . To be fair cheese board wasn’t on the menu but they provided one on request and it was excellent. Breakfast was very disappointing - apparently it is too expensive to employ a chef and kitchen staff in the morning so only a continental breakfast in offer and not even a good one - no fruit salad, no fresh bread just sliced. An egg boiler to self serve which undercooked eggs and let’s face it who wants to cook their own breakfast when away for a weekend break . Also had to clear our own table . Suffice to say we will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
22timeout wrote a review Feb 2020
Wellington, United Kingdom71 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We did a one night break with Travelzoo and we loved it. The staff are just so friendly and helpful, from first booking to the moment we left they couldn’t do enough for us. They all work really hard.

Our evening meal was beautifully cooked, the rib-eye steak just melted in your mouth. Excellent service.

We had Room 4. We slept so well in the comfy extra king size bed with new bedding and pillows . White Stuff brand of toiletries in the bathroom and fluffy white towels. It has a bath and shower attachment on the taps.

Breakfast was the best we have had in a hotel for a long time, choice of cereals, yoghurt, fruit compote and then a perfectly cooked breakfast to follow...they were happy to do any combination for us. The coffee was good too. Thanks Ellie for excellent service.

We did book parking at the cost of £5, well worth it. If you phone the hotel, don’t leave a message as they are having problems at present..just phone back till you get them. We had read some negative comments and feel this is so unfair as the owners are working so hard to restore this beautiful building. If you have disability problems then tell them when booking.

Thanks to all the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sue B wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a 3 night bed and breakfast stay in a Superior room at £120 per night. A few weeks before our stay we received an email to advise that they had closed the kitchens and could no longer offer breakfast and would arrange a refund during our stay. This was not a major problem for us so we agreed to continue with our booking.
Then on a few days before our stay we had another email to advise us that the bar and Reception were now closed on Mondays and Tuesdays and our room key would be in a key box, and we would be sent a code for the box on the day.

I wish we had cancelled !!

The Courtyard area is run down, shabby, and in need of repair. We were in Room 15. A superior room in the Courtyard. If this was superior I don't know what the standard rooms are like.

In fairness the room and the bathroom were both a good size. However the room carpet was filthy and badly stained all over. It was beyond cleaning and needed to be ripped up and replaced. The furniture was old and marked. The TV was stood on the window ledge with trailing wires to the nearest plug. One good point, the king size bed was very comfortable. However we could hear every sound from the room above.

The shower was over the bath and the shower screen did not have a seal on the bottom, so water went all over the floor. We had to leave the shower to run for nearly 10 minutes before the water became hot. This is no exaggeration.

Our room was cleaned on the Tuesday morning, but we did not get clean towels. On Wednesday we were not cleaned at all! As there was a member of staff actually in the hotel on Wednesday I queried why we had not been cleaned. He asked me if we had put our sign out saying the room was ready to be serviced? I told him that we had no such sign, or any in-room information, to which he replied, every room has a sign. I again told him that we did not have one, and as we had not put a sign out on Tuesday morning, how was it that we were cleaned then? His reply was that it was a Housekeeping problem and no-one from Housekeeping was on site. No apology.

I had already had a conversation with this member of staff about our refund for breakfast, but he was not able to do a refund and his manager was on holiday. He had to email someone and they would contact me by email.

We are still waiting for a refund or even a response. It is impossible to contact the White Hart or Sleeping Bear Hotels other than via their reservations email address.

I really cannot recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: I would not recommend Courtyard rooms based on my experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Voyager660350 asked a question Aug 2018
High Wych, United Kingdom
is there a free hotel car park for guests
Answer from IanM1G
Swansea, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes, free parking, but its a very tight car park to get into and the spaces are tight.
Patricia K asked a question Mar 2018
Bedford, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
Do you have dog free rooms please.
Answer from Stephen C
Boston, United Kingdom82 contributions44 helpful votes
Don't know about the dog free room but there is parking for around 30 vehicles in 2 permit controlled parks at the rear of the hotel, accessed from West Street
Gizzer01 asked a question Jun 2017
Reading, United Kingdom33 contributions9 helpful votes
How close to Glastonbury are you
Answer from Sarah C
Swansea, United Kingdom24 contributions18 helpful votes
Probably a bit late answering this for you but about 40 mins drive to Glastonbury.
Brian H asked a question May 2016
Oxford, United Kingdom1 contribution
Can I reserve parking?
Dawn C wrote a tip 1 Apr
Bristol, United Kingdom83 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No parking on site due to its Grade 1 listing but Union St car park is 5 minutes away and free after 6pm"
Read full review
CraterCornwall wrote a tip Mar 2024
Callington, United Kingdom149 contributions49 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid weekends, don’t bother with dinner, remember it’s 2 star, so that’s what you get just."
Read full review
PHILIPPA T wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best to try somewhere else."
Read full review
AJS1234567 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Wrexham County, United Kingdom121 contributions61 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Proper homemade food"
Read full review
Deborah159 wrote a tip Nov 2023
Taunton21 contributions16 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ordering food"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wells area.
PRICE RANGE
£55 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetWells
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WHITE HART INN - Updated 2024 Reviews (Wells)

Frequently Asked Questions about The White Hart Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The White Hart Inn?
Nearby attractions include Vicar's Close (0.2 miles), Wells Cathedral (0.1 miles), and Wells Market Place (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The White Hart Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The White Hart Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The White Hart Inn?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The White Hart Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Olive Tree, Strangers with Coffee, and The Courtyard Restaurant.
Is The White Hart Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Wells.
Are pets allowed at The White Hart Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The White Hart Inn offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The White Hart Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shepton Mallet Prison (4.7 miles), Wells Cathedral (0.1 miles), and The Bishop's Palace and Gardens (0.2 miles).
All Wells HotelsWells Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WellsHotels near The White Hart Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire