We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cathedral Hotel

Booking.comUS$76*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cathedral Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Cathedral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 335: English reviews
somerset
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and I have just had the worst hotel experience we can remember and we are seasoned travellers. This hotel is a disgrace on many levels the room furniture is broken and splintered the bathroom has more mould than grout between the tiles. The public areas are simply unclean with worn and dirty carpets and peeling wallpaper. However, when...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank pegasussomerset
Lodgecathedral, Manager at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

I am very disapointed that you have felt the need to review the hotel in this manner when you did not even stay or pay for the room that you originally booked, I was quite within my right to charge you. I have looked at the room you went into and there is no broken furniture, yes there is a...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Another stay here, arrived early but no problems as our room 301 was ready, as usual Eva was very helpful and friendly decided to eat in the hotel the food was lovely but only just warm Louise who served us was also very friendly and helpful not only serving us to food but also serving in the bar and managing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue w
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here one night while on business in Lichfield. The check in was quick and easy and I was given all the necessary information such as meal times etc. The carpets and wall paper in some of the common areas like stairs and landing are looking a bit tired but the rooms are clean and well equipped. Be advised though,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AKA_Wiccan
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed a few weeks ago with my family for a birthday party. Was very easy upon arrival rooms were clean and easy. Had a lovely walk to a few pubs down the road then into litchfield, finishing with a lovely breakfast in the morning!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JHamshere92
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed one night here for our anniversary as we had booked a local restaurant for the evening and fancied a stress free night. The room we booked was the standard but as it was our anniversary, we were upgraded which was a nice surprise. Lovely big room with bay window, comfy bed and a huge fan for us to use,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wobbs170
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2013

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnMudefordDorset
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Natashacooper
Lodgecathedral, Manager at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2013

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank craigjj
Erdington, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2013

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise E
Kent
Reviewed 28 May 2013

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Minuit1

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lichfield hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cathedral Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Havant, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Havant, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Cathedral Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one of the refurbished rooms”
Suznig, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing main road noisy until about 11pm”
26lc10kr, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at back are quiet”
aristocat, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the hotel have a much nicer outlook than ones at the back.”
DingleLoopy, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No accessibility for people unable to cope with 19 steps”
Haybarn2014, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$76* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Priceline
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates