We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (6)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Vine Hotel carries the accolade of being the oldest pub in Stafford. Located in the centre of the town, tucked down one of the many narrow side streets, The Vine offers a wealth of 'olde worlde' character to its guests. The hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of all the main attractions that Stafford offers, including the Gateway Theatre, Ancient High House and the Shire Hall Gallery. We offer secure parking for our hotel guests, just call in at reception and we will lift the barrier for you. Our pub has a traditional feel, with cosy corners, and classic pub food is served all day. A wide range of drinks are available from the bar. At the Vine Hotel, we pride ourselves on our friendly service and you are assured of a great stay whether for business or pleasure.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
98Great for walkers
Grade: 98 out of 100
77Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
13Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
258Reviews
75Photos
3Q+A
48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 49
  • 75
  • 59
  • 41
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
4 of us were up on a business trip in the Stafford area. You can see the hotel from the road and the car park is a decent size but needs resurfacing. This use to be a top hotel with a swimming pool but it was replaced by a room for events. The hotel has a decent size
Read more
Response from Vine H, Manager at Vine Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
You have the wrong hotel looking at the photos provided I believe you stayed at the best western we are the Vine Hotel
Read more
Good points: central, clean, warm, comfortable bed, staff not unpleasant Bad points: shabby decor, really noisy fire doors and creaky floors (so loud it felt like people were in the room), far too much vinegar in the eggs Benedict, staff not great. Would I go back? Not if I
Read more
We stayed here for two nights. The staff here is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but are warm and clean and the freshly cooked full English breakfast is good on portion size and tasty. Unfortunately the hotel has just a small car park and on one of the evenings we
Read more
My husband and I booked for Xmas break Christmas Eve Christmas Day and boxing Day ,we arrived at the hotel plenty of parking the hotel was warm welcoming and suitably decorated for Xmas ,the manager Clare was very helpful and effecient and directed us to our room ,which was very
Read more
I booked a room as a treat for my daughter (age 21) and her boyfriend (age 24) for Christmas night through booking.com. I called the hotel 2 days before to clarify payment..checking I would be able to come in and pay the balance beforehand. This was possible on the day but it
Read more
Response from Vine H, Manager at Vine Hotel
Responded 31 Dec 2018
Hi Lynette As previously communicated to you when you sent the completely same complaint to our head office I make no apologies whatsoever for adhering to our company policy when it comes to this part of my job. We operate challenge 21 to ensure no underage girls spend the night in our hotel with older gentleman. As I'm sure you are aware it can be difficult to determine ages in this day and age and so we use challenge 21 to keep everyone safe. As a father to a young daughter I find myself in shock that you have questioned this let alone made two separate issues out of it, in my humble opinion if a slight inconvenience to some stops just one young girl from being potentially taken advantage of then Bravo!!!!!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
BED TOO BIG FOR THE ROOM
SACK THE CLEANER
BROWN "SOMETHING" IN THE CORNER
MAKES ME FEEL SICK
PreviousNext
12345
Is there a hair dryer in the rooms??
Yes there is.
0 votes
How far are you from Stafford show ground please
According to the RAC, you could take either the A518 (under 3 miles taking approx. 10 minutes) or the Beaconside / A513 route ( approx. 4 miles taking approx. 13 minutes).
0 votes
Hi where abouts is the carpark
Hi Linda, Sorry for the delay, our car park is situated at the side of the hotel, any queries please give us a call on 01785 244112
0 votes
"Perfect and relaxing"
"View the room first"
"Just ask at reception if you have a preference."
"Try going for minimum amount of staircases to travel,"
"Cosy room, though ask for one away from the staff car park as they empty the bins at night!"
PreviousNext
12345610
PRICE RANGE
US$65 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
vine hotel stafford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandStafford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing