We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ye Olde Dog & Partridge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 223: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely meal in a warm & cosy atmosphere on a very cold & windy day. Roast beef dinner with all the trimmings plus added a very tasty pig in blanket. Staff were very attentive. Good service. They paid particular care to a large family group with disabled child, a baby & elderly relatives. Perfect timing to service -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette J
DandPGM, General Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

Hi Annette J, we just wanted to say thank you very much for your lovely comments with regards to your visit on Sunday. We are really glad you enjoyed your experience and your feedback will be shared with our team. We hope to see you again soon at the Dog and Partridge! Kind Regards Donna and Paul, General Managers

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recommended by a friend who stayed regularly on business. Having asked for a quiet room the one allocated was on a main road which was noisy all night long. The room was spacious but not impeccably clean in my opinion. The bed although large was very badly sprung and not comfortable at all. The staff were actually very helpful. but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denizebainbridge
Phil B, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your visit did not live up to your friend's recommendation. Your comments will be addressed with the team with the aim of improving the level of service and comfort we offer our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues that you encountered.

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a practical necessity to stay here, after a photographic event in Burton. The room was one of the most sensibly equipped we have used in a long while, with plenty of space and places to put things by the bedsides and in the bathroom. When it was first refurbished I should think it was really good, but it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
DandPGM, General Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

Hi Andrew G. Thank you for your feedback with regards to your visit. With regards to the condition of the room, we will look to see what we can improve upon ourselves here and also pass your comments on to those who may be able to assist with improving some of the other aspects that we cannot change. Kind Regards,...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been going to this pub for the last 3 years. The place is beautiful, and the food used to be great. Vintage Inn chain is quite good, and the menu is great (not if youre a veggie though). The last three visits were quite disappointing. The food was below average (my husbands lasagne was cold in the middle)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RattyPolly
DandPGM, General Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

Hi RattyPolly. We were sorry to read that your most recent experiences here are the D&P have not met your expectations. Please be assured that your comments about the food quality and service standards have been communicated to our team and they are all aware that what you have experienced is not acceptable. Please contact us on 01283 813030 and...

Meridian, Idaho
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Use this pub every time I am in the area but no more ! The food and service have become appalling very disappointed as I like the look of the place but have eaten lunch and dinner several times and it gets worse and nobody appears to care ! Had lunch last week for the last time I am afraid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 32nives
Phil B, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent experience with us. I am disappointed to hear of your experience and I can assure you that, as a Company, we take all feedback from our Guests very seriously. I would like to offer my sincere apologies that the quality of your burger was not to a high...

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Glad we decided to go and not let the December/ January reviews put us off. Arrived early and we three were seated immediately (hadn't booked). Drinks arrived within minutes. All 3 different meals were hot and delicious served by efficient and polite staff. Were given time after eating dinner to choose desserts (no pressure even though busy). Place packed when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
Phil B, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoy coming to our pub for its food quality, atmosphere, interior, and service, we hope that you can return soon so you can experience some more of our delicious Chef & Brewer dishes.

Tutbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Worst sandwich ever. Hi, how can you get a sandwich so wrong? I did not complain at the time as I was a being bought my lunch by a friend but i very nearly did not eat it. I ordered a pulled pork baguette. The bread was as if it was a reheated in the microwave from its original life...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Phil B, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent experience at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge. We are very sorry to see that your Pulled Pork Baguette was not up to a high quality, this is unacceptable by our standards. I have passed your comments to the Business Development Manager for the Pub to ensure corrective action...

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Had lunch here today, christmas eve and were very disappointed. Burnt roast potatoes, Yorkshire pudding and carrots!! Sent 3 meals back. My husband had fish and chips and it was frazzled. New one arrived and was only half the size!!!! Although they were good and did not charge us for the 3 meals it still spoilt the enjoyment and then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PureDelights
Phil B, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

We're most concerned to hear of your poor experience, especially the unusually low standards of food that you experienced, as they fall short of our usual high standards that we implement. We are pleased that our staff resolve the issue for you, but nonetheless we will be raising these issues with the management team to ensure that circumstances like these...

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel room was great with plenty of character although several lights not working and body wash empty. Decided to eat in the restaurant and was very disappointed, scallops were bitter, pulled pork was far to sweat and garlic sauce for steak could have been served on a teaspoon! Breakfast was okay but had to wait 10 minutes to check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rowlie44
Phil B, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the issues that you encountered during your visit. We can see from the information that you have provided that a review of standards needs to take place. Your comments will be forwarded to the Business Development Manager for the pub so corrective action can be taken.

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We stayed recently and though we have used this Pub/inn several times ,each time we go we see it slipping further and further into disrepair. The room we had was tatty and a bulb on the desk lamp had gone, the toilet was badly stained , the shower curtain was stained at the bottom and the bath sealant was mouldy.The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suebeds
Phil B, Guest Relations at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent experience at the Ye Olde Dog & Partridge I am disappointed to hear of your experience and I can assure you that, as a Company, we take all feedback from our Guests very seriously. I would like to offer my sincere apologies that the standard of cleanliness wasn't...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tutbury
4.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.9 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
396 reviews
3.3 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
85 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
289 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Ye Olde Dog & Partridge

Address: High Street, Tutbury DE13 9LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tutbury
Price Range: £50 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Dog & Partridge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ye Olde Dog & Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Hotel Tutbury
Ye Olde Dog And Partridge
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Tutbury, Staffordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde Dog & Partridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room Six is a good practical room, but the stairs up to it are pretty weird!”
 of 5 bubbles andrewgE4302RN, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 is large and Inhad a really quiet night.”
 of 5 bubbles amfoster13, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms at the top.”
 of 5 bubbles smudge5352, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All single glazed so take pyjamas in winter😊”
 of 5 bubbles modatuu, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had the family room no.6 it was brilliant”
 of 5 bubbles zhCJ, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5