Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Wolviston Wynyard hotel

Wolviston Services Coal Lane Wolviston, Stockton-on-Tees TS22 5PZ England
Traveller (41)
double bed
Room & Suite (21)
Toby Carvery restaurant exterior
Dining (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 11 hotels in Stockton-on-Tees
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
If you're flying in for a quick visit, our Wolviston/Wynyard hotel puts you at the heart of the North East. From historic landmarks to state-of-the-art business parks, from breath-taking coastline to heart-stopping sports action, there's so much to see and do, all on your doorstep. Let your imagination take flight at Hartlepool's Maritime Experience, or see what's on the wing at the Saltholme RSPB Wildlife Reserve. Play a round of golf at Wynard Hall, or enjoy the sights and sounds of Billingham Folklore Festival. And when it's time for a rest, head back for a delicious meal at the restaurant just next to us and a great night's sleep in our super-comfy beds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free internet
Restaurant
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English
837Reviews6Q+A81Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 525
  • 187
  • 70
  • 24
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Richard wrote a review Aug 2022
15 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stay here twice a week - the staff are superb, remember me and even cater for me as a cyclist ! After the first or second visit, I noticed that I always get a ground floor room without having ever asked so I did and it's because they realise it's easier for me with a bike - they genuinely think about the guests. For a chain that is in fairness repeatable, generally good value for money, safe, secure and clean this is pretty special.
Thanks girls - you're stars :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: In the hot weather get an east/north or south facing room it won't have heated from lunchtime...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
scorcheo wrote a review Aug 2021
England, United Kingdom122 contributions80 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First time we have stayed here since the start of lockdown, ,we find the location perfect for our needs. Our check in was efficient although a smile wouldn’t have gone amiss ..our room was clean as usual although there were parts of the building, i.e. corridors that could do with a lick of paint and maybe the glass in the doors given a wipe over As mentioned by other reviews the WiFi was slow and very hit and miss.
We opted for the full breakfasts which at £9.50 proved good value as this included whatever you chose from the menu and unlimited hot and cold drinks, cereals and toast, the serving staff were very friendly and the food cooked well.
Bathroom was clean and the bed comfortable.
No hesitation in staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alex_emma2 wrote a review Aug 2021
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel for a few days visiting family. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly. We were lucky enough to stay in the extended part of the hotel which has a bit more modern rooms which was a nice surprise. The hotel was really quiet too which is a surprise for being in such a busy location but this was probably because we were on the top floor down the far end. A few small issues were the room was very warm. They provided a large fan that helped but the windows only open a little so no breeze could enter. Another issue was the hotel TV service was down like the whole of the north east due to the transmitter issue. This is not the hotels fault in any way and although we didn't stay in the hotel much it would be nice if they upgraded the free basic Wifi to the faster payed for service to allow people to access TV on their own devices whilst the TV services were down especially as we couldn't get a phone signal inside the room. We would definitely stay here again. The price for what we got was more than reasonable and it was in an ideal location.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in newly renovated Room 45 right at the end of the mile long walk from reception down two never ending corridors to what at first glance was a lovely room in the new Premier Inn fit out with all the fancy mood lighting etc.

I briefly checked in and then went out for the evening returning around 10pm with a very tired toddler who fell asleep as soon as we returned to our room (Sauna), we noticed on return the room was on the warm side so we opened a window and had the fan on and assumed the room would cool down however this wasn't to be the case and the temperature remained at a consistently tropical 27.5 degrees as per the thermostat in the room which we made sure multiple times wasn't making the heating come on in the room.

Fast forward to the morning after a very sweaty and uncomfortable nights tossing and turning its still 27.5 degrees! we decided to go next door to Toby Carvery for breakfast (Tip: Don't waste your money on the Premier Inn breakfast its literally next to a Toby Carvery who do all you can eat breakfast for £4.89) I was shocked to find it was only 16 degrees and cloudy outside, I was assuming bright sunshine with my room still running at 27.5 degrees, on return to the room it was a quick checkout as I couldn't take the heat anymore.

Informed reception at checkout who were blaming external temperatures which guest services also used to get out of a Good Night Guarantee (Tip: They don't care if you have a good night, it's not worth the paper its written on and backed up by pages and pages of terms and conditions.) the caveat here is we actually stayed the night before at the same hotel in room 32 one of their older rooms, the external temperature was hotter that night and our room was an acceptable temperature.

Anyway with no resolution to the issue and as Premier Inn won't look into why that room was heating up, it's obviously a fault in the building causing it I thought I would leave a review to warn unsuspecting guests who may have the unfortunate circumstance of being allocated this room what they are in for.

Never had any issues with Travelodge resolving issues and I use them an awful lot for business stays.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't stay in room 45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in room 22 on 10th May. Have stayed in Premier Inns many times over many years and can say with conviction it was the worst experience we have ever had. The bed was creaking and uncomfortable, the bathroom stank of foist, there had obviously been a leak at some point and the door frame to the bathroom was rotten. The coffee machine in the breakfast room was empty of coffee beens and the orange juice dispenser had only a few dregs of juice.
A very very disappointing stay, was asked when checking out if everything was ok, I mentioned the above and no refund was offered, contrary to Premier Inn pledge.
Mr & Mrs Brown
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Wolviston Wynyard hotel
Responded 18 May 2022
Hi, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to the uncomfortable bed, the generally poor condition of the room you were given, and a poor experience at breakfast. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. In future, our Reception team are on hand 24/7 and so we would advise speaking with the team as soon as any issues arise to help resolve this whilst you're still in-house. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Megan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
iphoneking86 wrote a review Jul 2023
Exeter, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful stay here , room was great and hotel well maintained
Staff very friendly and helpful particularly Vickie who was a great help getting the kids colouring and bubbles while me and my wife were finishing breakfast and also Anne who popped in to drop off towels on a late request ,
Car park is big enough to grab a space even if you arrive at midnight like us :) , the breakfast area is great and even has a kids corner to keep the kids busy , you can clearly see the staff work hard to keep the hotel in good working order and are always on hand if you need anything.
My only dislikes was the breakfast food mainly the hash browns and sausages weren’t that nice however I managed with scrambled egg which was lovely , the fan in our bathroom was louder than most fans and the tv in our room just did not respond to the remote (when selecting a channel number it would be delayed and it took five/six attempts to put on a radio channel ) even switching on/off was hit and miss!
Please take my dislikes as constructive because it did not ruin my stay or put me off coming back
Overall very pleased and I certainly wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jennie r wrote a review Sept 2021
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom29 contributions22 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
When we entered our room after 10.30pm it was stifling hot despite the windows being open (I assume since it was cleaned earlier in the day). The standing fan did nothing to help the situation. Didn’t sleep the whole night and when I said this at check out I was told I should have asked for a room in a cooler part of the hotel. I’m not sure how I was supposed to know that?!
I sent an email to complain and was told the hotel is not advertised as having air conditioning - I don’t have air conditioning at home and sleep perfectly well. It was not even an especially warm day!
I won’t be staying again but if you do be sure to ask for a cooler room.
The room was fairy clean (some hairs on bath and under the fold out bed not hoovered) and the kids enjoyed breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Wolviston Wynyard hotel
Responded 21 Sept 2021
Hi there, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to the hot temperature of your room which caused an uncomfortable sleep. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you. Sadly, not all of our hotels include air conditioning. In hotels which don't, our teams do try to make rooms more comfortable by providing fans and thinner sheets. We apologise if this did not help during your stay. If air conditioning is important when staying with us, we would suggest looking out for air conditioning as a listed facility on the hotel's page on our website before booking. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to try and prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Tayler
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
L-B wrote a review Sept 2022
Cardiff, United Kingdom28 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel on the 25th to 27th August.
The rooms are what you’d expect from a premier inn - the room was clean, although our bin wasn’t emptied from the previous occupant but that is a very minor issue and not anything we made a fuss about.
The breakfast there was lovely, the food was plentiful and the waitresses/waiters were always on hand to assist.

We brought back food from a takeaway and the staff there were kind enough to let us consume it in their restaurant area despite it not being currently open, they even supplied us with cutlery and just requested that we clean up any mess after we’d finished.
It’s the little touches like that that make stays in hotels all the more enjoyable - we was very happy with our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian B wrote a review Sept 2021
15 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Its a Premier inn, they don''t differ much. The room was clean and tidy and in good repair, the staff were frieindly and helpful although not many of them at breakfast.
The "free" wi fi didn't work, it was so slow my email kept timing out, the paid service was pretty slow and kept logging me out. Its about time they stopped charging for a normal service.
The breakfast was better than most Premier Inns, the other food outlets around it are uninspiring.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael F wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Premier Inn as a break on our way to Scotland. Initially our room was on the first floor, but when we asked if we could change to a ground floor room it was no problem. The staff were great always engaging and happy to please, there seemed to be a good team spirit. Each morning for breakfast we were greeted with a friendly smile and pleasant chat by Terri, hard working but always smiling. Breakfast is cooked on site and delicious. Terri in particular is a great ambassador for the hotel, remembering our particular likes for breakfast, using her initiative to help when we needed extra supplies or a key cut. We would definitely be using Premier inn again. Thank you all. 0
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jill H asked a question Apr 2017
Do you have a car park ?
Answer from WhitbreadHotels
Luton3 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi again Jill We do have a free onsite car park with plenty of spaces. Kind Regards, Samantha
Answer from WhitbreadHotels
Luton3 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi Jill I can confirm we're located just under 20 miles away from Darlington station & this takes 30 minutes by car. As prices can vary we recommend giving us a call on 0333 321 9052 (option #) so we can double check the rate. Kind regards, Samantha
Answer from WhitbreadHotels
Luton3 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi Andrew, Thanks for getting in touch. We do not have gyms in our hotels and we are not affiliated with any in the local area that our guests would be able to use. There is a gym located 5 mins away in Wynyard Park Business Village called atom fitness. Maybe worth contacting them to see if you can use their facilities. Hope this helps Kristy Blackwell Premier Inn Team
Answer from WhitbreadHotels
Luton3 contributions6 helpful votes
Good Morning Wynyard Hall is 2.4 miles from this hotel depending on traffic can take around 6 minutes . Thank you for your enquiry Kind Regards Debbie Premier Inn Team
Rene63490 asked a question Jul 2015
Scarborough, United Kingdom1 contribution
How far away from Wynyard Hall is the premier Inn ?
Answer from WhitbreadHotels
Luton3 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi Rene Wynyard Hall is 2.4 miles from this hotel which is around 6 minutes depending on traffic . Thank you for getting in touch Kind Regards Debbie May Premier Inn Team
moss2001 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Mobile phone reception in the area can be flaky on all networks (outdoors & indoors). Hotel offers free basic WiFi which eases the problem."
Read full review
Brian wrote a tip Jan 2024
13 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Have the breakfast, well worth it. "
Read full review
Carol wrote a tip Jan 2024
3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take warm clothing as the rooms are cold and heating rubbish. No heating in the bathrooms"
Read full review
Claire B wrote a tip Jun 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom38 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ensure you submit your car's registration using the machine at reception. "
Read full review
Dominic F wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book well in advance, this is a popular place to stay, close to the coast to the east and Durham to the west."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stockton-on-Tees area.
PRICE RANGE
£35 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn stockton on tees/ hartlepool hotel stockton-on-tees, holiday inn stockton-on-tees
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Premier Inn Stockton on Tees/Hartlepool Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandStockton-on-Tees
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN WOLVISTON WYNYARD HOTEL - Updated 2024 (Stockton-on-Tees)

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Wolviston Wynyard hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Wolviston Wynyard hotel?
Nearby attractions include Flares & Popworld (4.6 miles), Project Escape (4.5 miles), and HMS Trincomalee (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Wolviston Wynyard hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Wolviston Wynyard hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Wolviston Wynyard hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Wolviston Wynyard hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Wolviston Wynyard hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rio Brazilian Steakhouse - Middlesbrough, Turtle Bay Middlesbrough, and The Southfield.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Wolviston Wynyard hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dock Clock Tower (4.7 miles).
Is Premier Inn Wolviston Wynyard hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Stockton-on-Tees HotelsStockton-on-Tees Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Stockton-on-TeesHotels near Premier Inn Wolviston Wynyard hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire