We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Brudenell Hotel

The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (375)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (315)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 4 hotels in Aldeburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Your beachside haven in Aldeburgh. Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, our newly refurbished decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Choose between our vast sea views or the expansive sights of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. Both of which paint a picture of the variety of backdrops which we are graced with in the beautiful county of Suffolk. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the doors of our fabulous hotel. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Paid public parking nearby
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1,547Review5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 854
  • 429
  • 168
  • 50
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Leah G wrote a review 7 Apr
Colchester, United Kingdom53 contributions83 helpful votes
We stayed for one night with our 5 year old for a last minute night away and were very pleased with our choice. We had a superior sea view room (207) and loved the view from our window and the fact that it had a seating area. We even saw seals from our window! An extra bed was made up for our son and they even put a little mug and biscuits out for him which was a lovely touch. Good sized bathroom with bath and separate shower. The beds were very comfortable and it was peaceful at night. I was, however, glad that we were not near the lift area as I can imagine there would be more noise with people coming and going. Breakfast in the morning was lovely but we were directly in the full sun and got far too hot, but our fault for not asking to move! The staff were very welcoming and friendly. All in all a great stay and we would not hesitate to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at The Brudenell Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear LeahG1985, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. We are delighted to hear you had enjoyed your visit and certainly hope to welcome you again in the future! Kind regards, The Brudenell Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Barry E wrote a review Mar 2024
Norwich, United Kingdom54 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
We stayed one night on a dinner B&B basis as a birthday treat for my wife. We received a warm welcome from the staff at reception. This experience continued throughout our stay. The sea view room was very comfortable (room 205). The box of chocolates with a hand written birthday card for my wife was an excellent touch. All the staff knew it was her birthday including the restaurant. The food was freshly prepared and we had the brill which was delivered that morning. Breakfast was great and last booking is served at 09:45 so plenty of time to have a lay in. A special shout goes out to Martin and Ollie who were very attentive throughout our dinner service. We will definitely be returning again in the future. Thanks to everyone at the Brudenell.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at The Brudenell Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear BarryE361 Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted you have enjoyed your visit and we will make sure to share your kind words with all our Teams. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future! Kindest Regards, The Brudenell Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve G wrote a review Mar 2024
Fakenham, United Kingdom147 contributions44 helpful votes
Visit started by gaining a car parking space which was lucky but a good sign. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. Our evening meal in the grill was superb. All four of us really enjoyed the food along with good wines. A good nights sleep ended in the morning with Gary knocking on the window!!!! A named gull!!! Breakfast had good choices on both Sunday ( had table at Regatta that night) and Monday. Along with dry weather, what more could you want?
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at The Brudenell Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Stevegl2660JZ Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted you have enjoyed your visit and we will make sure to share your kind words with all our Teams. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future! Kindest Regards, The Brudenell Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vino7 wrote a review Mar 2024
Rettendon, United Kingdom332 contributions112 helpful votes
We stayed at the brudenell for my wife’s birthday the hotel is quite Victorian from the outside, but the inside is very good and quite modern the room although a little bit small was fine for us. We ate here both evenings and the food was very good. Personally I would’ve liked a few more fish dishes. The staff were excellent as was the breakfast you can swap around on the full English I didn’t want tomatoes or mushrooms, but had an extra sausage and beans.the only downside is there isn’t a lot of parking about 8cars round the back and three or four in front of the hotel. We had to use the public car park. Just passed the hotel which is free between six in the evening and eight in the morning but we would visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at The Brudenell Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Cct400, Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are delighted to hear you had enjoyed your time with us and hope you will choose to visit us again soon! Kind regards, The Brudenell Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SB01 wrote a review Mar 2024
Sonning Common, United Kingdom840 contributions486 helpful votes
Stayed in the hotel to mark a landmark birthday for my mum. Running up to the visit the hotel helped book the ideal room for her and ensure all the arrangements necessary. On arrival I could not have been happier with our choice. The location is incredible, being on the edge of the town, but easy reach of everything and right on the beach. Fantastic views from the bedroom windows. For the less mobile there is a lift from the car park and the adapted room my mum had was well equipped with easy access shower. Beds were very comfortable with quality bedding. Tea, coffee, biscuits and complimentary filtered water. Lovely residents lounge overlooking the sea. The breakfast was excellent, with dishes such as Eggs Royale and a top quality full English. A special mention to the staff, who were universally friendly, cheerful and helpful. I would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at The Brudenell Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear SB01, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted you have enjoyed your visit and we will make sure to share your kind words with all our Teams. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future! Kindest Regards, The Brudenell Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fearless202353 wrote a review Mar 2024
47 contributions33 helpful votes
Went for a lunch time meal, service was amazing, building lovely and clean, staff were very polite and helpful. I had the burger and I must say it was very nice except the bacon, the person who I was had the chicken he said it was not very nice no flavour and the salad was all watercress with tinned tomatoes thrown on top. We decided to have pudding and a disappointed the bread and butter was awful the sauce was full of curled lumps fair enough it was replaced but for the price of the meal it is really not worth it
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at The Brudenell Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Fearless202353, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very sorry to hear of your experience and hope you will rest assured that your comments have been passed over to our management and restaurant team for discussion. Kind regards, The Brudenell Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jones2619 wrote a review Mar 2024
Norwich, United Kingdom12 contributions22 helpful votes
we had a really lovely two days at the Brudenell with our two dogs. The room was lovely, the bed comfortable and the food was delicious. The staff were very welcoming and made our dogs feel at home, they were very kind and helpful. The weather was awful but the sound of the waves on the shingle and rain on the window was a lullaby. Aldeburgh was a joy, especially the book shop.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking was a bit of a challenge, but no real problem.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at The Brudenell Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2024
Good afternoon Jones2619, Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
carol m wrote a review Feb 2024
Halesworth, United Kingdom55 contributions19 helpful votes
Visited for our 25th wedding anniversary (we didn't say anything because we didn't want to make a fuss) First time eating here. First class service throughout. Food was delicious and very good wine selection. The only reason we can't give 5 stars is purely because another couple had an ipad on the next table with the sound on FULL talking to their family. Spoilt our romantic meal a little I'm afraid.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at The Brudenell Hotel
Responded 8 Feb 2024
Dear cm954, Thank for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your anniversary meal with us and that our folk had looked after you. We can only apologise for the disturbance that you had encountered, however unfortunately these things are out of our control, though do rest assured that if we were made aware of the situation, we could've had a quiet conversation with the table next door. We hope that despite this, you will choose to visit us again in the future. Kind regards, The Brudenell Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
michael m wrote a review Feb 2024
Toronto, Canada20 contributions8 helpful votes
Lovely location, great staff and OKish food including fresh oysters from Orford. My only gripe is with fresh fish served. Well cooked but the whole plaice I had was very small and possibly illegal which is for fish over 27cm long. I wrote to the manager but without a response which is bad form.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at The Brudenell Hotel
Responded 7 Feb 2024
Dear Z5090EXmichaelm, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at The Brudenell. I’m pleased to hear the team offered great service and looked after you well on your visit to Seafood and Grill. I can assure you we source our fish as fresh as we can and use multiple suppliers for this. All of which source fish from reliable sources and wouldn’t be getting any illegally sized Plaice under 27cm. I can only apologise that you seemed this wasn’t big enough for you. Hopefully we will be able to wow you on your next visit to us here at The Brudenell, with our new menu that launches in March. With best wishes, Brudenell Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
colinleslie wrote a review Jan 2024
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom32 contributions15 helpful votes
Excellent location on an uninterrupted Suffolk coastline, The Brudenell has an excellent position and is excellently fitted throughout. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated. But the wow factor is the the Restaurant with staff who are attentive and efficient. Can't recommend it enough.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at The Brudenell Hotel
Responded 30 Jan 2024
Dear colinleslie, Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear you had enjoyed your visit and hope you will choose to visit us and Aldeburgh again soon. Kind regards, The Brudenell Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Aldeburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
£144 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
brudenell hotel aldeburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkAldeburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BRUDENELL HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Aldeburgh)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Brudenell Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Brudenell Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Aldeburgh Beach (0.3 miles), Aldeburgh Cinema (0.4 miles), and Aldeburgh Museum (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Brudenell Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Brudenell Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Brudenell Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Brudenell Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ash Smoked Fishes, The Lighthouse, and Aldeburgh Market.
Is The Brudenell Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Aldeburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Brudenell Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Brudenell Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Brudenell Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Brudenell Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Red House, Aldeburgh (1.3 miles) and Aldeburgh Museum (0.5 miles).
Does The Brudenell Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.