We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mouse Lane Rougham, Bury St. Edmunds IP30 9JA England
View all 7 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (290)
Room & Suite (70)
Dining (55)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#4 of 12 in Bury St. Edmunds
Travellers' Choice
One of the most historic hotels in Bury St Edmunds, steeped in nearly 500 years of history. Set in just under seven acres of landscaped woodlands and gardens, this country house hotel is easily accessible from the main A14. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, you will find a winter fireside welcome or a summer poolside welcome. Whatever your needs, you will find a little luxury in the atmosphere of a country home. The service is professional and personable with a unique family-owned atmosphere Ravenwood Hall looks forward to welcoming you
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Horseback riding
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Bar / lounge
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
866Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 466
  • 211
  • 85
  • 54
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sightseer647023 wrote a review 14 May
22 contributions17 helpful votes
Lovely hotel - peaceful and picturesque surroundings. Staff were so welcoming and friendly. Accommodation was wonderful and clean. Very cosy but perfect! Food was lovely and really hot - service quick and very efficient. We were pleasantly surprised!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
B9959JPnicola wrote a review Apr 2022
Hockley, United Kingdom21 contributions9 helpful votes
Lovely, relaxing stay in this beautiful old hotel. We stayed in the Abbey room which had an amazing, comfortable and quirky bed. Our stay was so relaxing in beautiful surroundings. Breakfast was plentiful and good quality. The waiter handled the whole room really well and was calm and polite even when it was busy. Loved the chickens, ponies and geese. All in all a lovely place to spend a few days.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Alesia M wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions
Today we received an email and phone call from the restaurant. The email stated that despite booking MONTHS ago for my Grandads 80th that our party of 18 would be on different tables, defeating the point completely! Then a phone call demanding immediate payment in full despite refusing a deposit at time of booking, when informed the money would need collecting from attendees so we needed a couple of days they became impatient and rude. As a result we have cancelled but now have nowhere to celebrate my Grandads 80th birthday.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Response from James Green, Other at Ravenwood Hall Hotel
Responded 6 Apr 2022
We are sorry you have left us a review of this nature. We are obviously extremely disappointed and disheartened to read your comments. Your review does not unfortunately quite match the conversations that took place. We did request a deposit payment to secure the booking. As you can imagine things have been difficult for the hospitality industry lately and as the date you booked on was becoming full, we required some sort of confirmation that you would be attending your meal with the numbers you had detailed. It is not unheard of for restaurants to secure such a deposit in these situations. We did indeed suggest that two tables may well be better for you - two round tables of 9 people would be better for your party. These are much more sociable than one long table. On a round table you can converse with everyone whereas on one long table you are really confined to the people either side and the one opposite. This suggestion was not well received by yourself but we did want to discuss this as a benefit to your party. Our team were never rude or impatient despite being sworn at on the phone. We are sorry you cannot have your Grandads party anywhere as we would still be happy to host this. You did note in your email that you would be able to book anywhere in the area so we're saddened you have not been able to get somewhere appropriate for your party. As mentioned we do need to safeguard our business and this sometimes comes with implementing policy decisions to ensure our bookings are cemented. We reiterate our apologies that this caused offence and potential inconvenience. We try and work with our guests for the best possible experience during these times that hospitality is trying to recover Best wishes
Read more
Geoff S wrote a review Mar 2022
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom1 contribution
My wife & I had been to a garden center on Saturday 26th March. As we live locally to the hotel and the weather was excellent, we decided to stop off for a snack lunch. There was a blackboard showing 'smoked salmon light lunches' only to be told that they are only available Monday to Friday. A menu was put in front of us with no selection of sandwiches or other light meals. We reluctantly decided on the soup, which was rich tasting for lunch. Prosecco was ordered which was OK. I ordered a Ghost beer which was cloudy. I asked for another & it was the same. What started out as a good idea turned out to be extremely disappointing. The weather was warm, however, there was practically no one in the garden. Definitely an opportunity missed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Response from James Green, Other at Ravenwood Hall Hotel
Responded 6 Apr 2022
Thank you for leaving a review and your comments/feedback. We're sorry not everything was to your satisfaction. We feel there may have been a slight miscommunication. There are not sandwiches available at the weekends although we do have other light dishes available that we serve for such requirements as yourselves had. These include the open ciabattas and focaccia and a minute steak dish. All of our dishes on our main menu can be adapted to be lighter style as well. We apologise if this was not communicated effectively to you. The soup is homemade and full of flavour - we usually get great comments for this. We're pleased the prosecco was ok We obviously cannot force people to sit in the garden but the outside areas have been very busy on some recent days. We're sorry if you were displeased by people being inside rather than out. We do hope you will visit us again so we can re-establish your confidence. Thank you again Kind regards and best wishes
Read more
downstreampress wrote a review Mar 2022
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom21 contributions7 helpful votes
Eight adults and one baby had an amazing lunch yesterday at Ravenwood. The food was wonderful, the atmosphere great and the staff very attentive. We have not stayed here as we live locally but I am sure that the high standard continues throughout the hotel. We will definitely come back to Ravenwood to eat their terrific food.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Response from James Green, Other at Ravenwood Hall Hotel
Responded 15 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for leaving your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your recent lunch with us. Please do let us know if we can host more meals for you. Our accommodation is stylish and comfortable and we hope that your recommendation will be taken up by family and friends We hope to see you again in the not too distant future Best wishes
Read more
US$163 - US$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ravenwood hall country suffolk
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkBury St. Edmunds
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ravenwood Hall Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ravenwood Hall Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Abbeygate Cinema (3.0 miles), Abbey Gardens (2.8 miles), and St. Edmundsbury Cathedral (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ravenwood Hall Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Ravenwood Hall Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ravenwood Hall Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ravenwood Hall Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Francela Restaurant, Maison Bleue Restaurant, and The Tavern on St John's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ravenwood Hall Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Ravenwood Hall Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Ravenwood Hall Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Ravenwood Hall Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Edmundsbury Cathedral (2.9 miles), Theatre Royal, Bury St. Edmunds (2.8 miles), and The Abbey (2.7 miles).
Is Ravenwood Hall Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.