We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Best Western Priory Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (239)
Dining (53)
Room & Suite (33)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Lowest Price When You Book Direct! CLICK HERE to view
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 11 hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on the main route into Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, this 53 room hotel is hidden behind its Grade 2 listed walls, a stones throw from the city centre. We have a good reputation as a quality venue within East Anglia and our location makes us the ideal base for weekend breaks in the area. We are well served by the A14, two junctions (42 and 43) are just five minutes drive away, and together with our free parking for over 50 cars, we welcome both residential and non-residential guests for midweek stopovers, conferences and meetings, lunch, dinner, Afternoon Tea or just drinks in our Bar. We pride ourselves in our customer service and staff endeavour to look after your every need. Our commitment to a high attention to detail is key to your comfort and well being.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Turkish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Lowest Price When You Book Direct! CLICK HERE to view
1,033Review5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 401
  • 282
  • 157
  • 107
  • 86
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Hannah B wrote a review 7 Apr
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
Just visited for Sunday lunch. Carvery was fantastic. 3 meats available, generous portions of, with all the sauces and trimmings. As many roasties and yorkshires as wanted, and they do children's options too. Thank you, Best Western Priory Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Easy parking available.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Queen, General Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to provide us with your views. We are over the moon that everything was up to your standards throughout. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kas01uk wrote a review Feb 2024
uk155 contributions278 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We’ve just returned home from our latest overnight stay at our regular ( and favourite) hotel. As usual we had a lovely time. Thanks Hannah for taking our booking bless you. Also special mention to John, who was so kind and as usual so helpful during our stay. x Also thank you to Megan and Callum ( plus the young man, sorry we don’t have your name, working alongside Callum during dinner service) for looking after us and making our delicious afternoon tea, and excellent dinner ( and brekkie, chef cooks the best mushroom cheese omelettes) so great. We often return to The Priory as it’s a lovely clean, welcoming place, serving delicious food, relaxing clean comfortable airy rooms, and most importantly of all the whole team are so lovely and welcoming. Nothings ever too much trouble. Mr Queen ( sorry we missed you this visit) you are manager of such a great place. That’s why we always return. Huge thanks to all once again. ( and sorry we missed you Sophie, Jo and Katie) Karen and Steve x
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Queen, General Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel
Responded 7 Mar 2024
Dear Karen, Once again its lovely to see that you have returned to us on several occasions. We are over the moon that everything is up to your standards throughout your stay. All of your pleasant comments will be passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DC Thompson wrote a review 1 Apr
Tampa, Florida4 contributions1 helpful vote
There was no air conditioning on a record hot few days. The hot water heater also went out. The internet was very spotty. The Manager, Frank, said he would reimburse us for the room. It has been 8 months of follow up with no response. I will never be back. Beware!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: You risk NO hot water, poor internet and generally miserable conditions. Don't trust Manager...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Queen, General Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your views. We are very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay with us here at The Priory Hotel .All of the information you have stated will be looked into in much greater detail to get these issues resolved. Hopefully we look forward to welcoming you back with all changes made.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lindasnell wrote a review Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom1013 contributions36 helpful votes
This hotel has a lovely garden and sweet courtyard rooms on first glance it looks great but .. my room was spacious with a large bed, unfortunately it was 2 single bed pushed together which then had an uncomfortable ridge down the middle. The light switch was only accessible from one side of the bed and then at a stretch, over bed reading lights had pull cords that served no apparent purpose. The room had a pretty little bay window which would have been a good place to sit but it was blocked by a chest of drawers with a tv on top. No sockets accessible from the bed, goodness knows where you were expected to plug the hairdryer in, no USB ports.. The bathroom was spacious but the bath was cheap plastic and moved alarmingly when standing in it to shower. Pillow case was torn. Curtains faded and hanging down furniture seen better days. Parking good. This could be a lovely hotel if these issues were addressed but at the moment it feels like no one really cares .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Good parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Queen, General Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. All of the problems you have raised will be looked into in great detail. We look forward to welcoming you back with all the improvements made.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
scampbell000 wrote a review Mar 2024
Valencian Community, Spain26 contributions47 helpful votes
I found this hotel very disappointing especially the automated check in and out facility which did not work properly. Reception staff unfriendly no help with any language . Food was average and bar facilities the same. It appeared to have very young and inexperienced staff which in general were not helpful . The breakfast I gave a miss and the room facilities were poor. Not worth the price I paid . It’s is a hotel I never visit again .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Worst check in and out methods I ever experienced in all my world travels poor value .
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Queen, General Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your views. We are very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay with us here at The Priory Hotel .All of the information you have stated will be looked into in much greater detail to get these issues resolved. Hopefully we look forward to welcoming you back with all changes made.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
chaplin wrote a review Mar 2024
Diss, United Kingdom26 contributions8 helpful votes
Great room , fabulous shower and free parking however I wasn't impressed with the checking in process and would rather have dealt with a human being rather than a machine obviously they are cutting down on staff which I think isn't a good idea
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Queen, General Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to provide us with your views. We are over the moon that everything was up to your standards throughout. We have taken on board your comment about the Check in Pods also. We look forward to welcoming you back for our next event. The team will be informed of your kind comments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tim P wrote a review Mar 2024
Gainsborough, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
Absolutely fab and faultless. Spacious room which was spotlessly clean. Shower was powerful & big enough for four people (I was alone btw….. just for the record) Comfy bed & pillows, USB sockets by the bed. Wi-fi in room 44 is really fast for hotel wifi so no complaints there either. Didn’t go to the main restaurant for dinner but you can get the same menu in the Terrace Bar which has a great view over the garden. Food was “bang-on” too. Will deffo have this place at the top of my list if I get back to Bury Stedmund’s in future 👍🏼
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Bring your own shower gel. That’s not a complaint cos I always take my own wherever I go. Just...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Queen, General Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good Evening Tim, We are over the moon that everything is up to your standards throughout your stay. All of your pleasant comments will be passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nick T wrote a review Mar 2024
Wisbech, United Kingdom1218 contributions210 helpful votes
Very disappointing hotel. Old and rundown. Looked great on first arrival but went down hill fast at check-in. No polite, warm, welcome used screens for auto check-in, and apparently, that was wrong. I questioned our room as it stated standard, and I had booked the supreme room. Got told you got what you got. Went to room to find it was worse than a travel lodge. Nothing supreme about it. Twin 2 ft 6 beds, who the hell thought that would be comfortable for adults.The room was large, so why? 8 of us stayed here for a reunion, and nobody got a good sleep because of the pathetically small beds in all the rooms. I don't think I have ever slept in a bed so small. The hotel was a nightmare to navigate around. To get to our room, we had to pass through 4 rooms, including a dining area, the kitchen serving area, and a very small bar filled with people. No information was given to us on arrival so had to read the information booklet, unfortunately missed the bit about the door being locked at night and needing a code to gey back in. The only notice was outside the door on the wall. Too late. Had to wait in rain to be let in. Breakfast was in the cost but was obviously done on the cheap. Very few choices of anything nasty coffee no jam, no pastries, home made granola disgusting, bread was hard. The only saving grace was the cooked breakfast, it was nice but everybody's order was wrong. Over all best Western was very disappointing we will certainly not book another one probably go back to premier inn for our next reunion.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Premier inn just down the road.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Queen, General Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel
Responded 11 Mar 2024
Dear Nick, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. All of the problems you have raised will be looked into in great detail. We look forward to welcoming you back with all the improvements made.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Philip G wrote a review Mar 2024
9 contributions13 helpful votes
I stayed at the Best Western Priory Hotel 3 years ago and, as I was in the area again, it was the obvious choice for this trip. Oh dear, oh dear, what has happened since my last visit? Please, please get rid of the automated check in. After a seven hour drive I would prefer to be greeted properly rather than be directed to a screen. OK for McDonalds, not for a hotel. The receptionist on duty was also doubling up as bar staff and it required several trips to track her down when my door card didn't work. Three times. You also have to pre-authorise your payment and select your tip. Who is going to decide on a tip before your visit? I booked a premium room and it certainly didn't look like the one on the website. No four poster, no pictures. Comfortable enough I suppose but basic. Don't know who did the work but the carpet fitters obviously didn't own a tape measure. It was in the 'new' wing of the hotel. Can somebody explain to me why new bedrooms are constructed with no soundproofing in the walls? If it was there, it certainly didn't work. I really didn't want to hear the sexual adventures of one of my neighbours nor the entire bodily functions of the other!! I'm not sure where the 'rave reviews' of the restaurant came from. Tasty enough but nothing special and uninspiring. When did a bread roll and butter become a charged for first course option rather than a normal part of a meal? I know people are on holiday but perhaps the restaurant staff could have politely mentioned that pyjamas and a dressing gown aren't really suitable for a restaurant. Interesting to see that the wheelchair lift in the Terrace Lounge has an 'Out of Order, awaiting Update' notice on it. To be generous it was probably repaired and then broke down again. Cynically, it looked suspiciously like the same notice that was on it three years ago? Sorry Best Western but you don't get another chance.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Queen, General Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel
Responded 7 Mar 2024
Dear PhilipgC460JP, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your views. We are very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay with us here at The Priory Hotel .All of the information you have stated will be looked into in much greater detail to get these issues resolved. Hopefully we look forward to welcoming you back with all changes made.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sk19772024 wrote a review Mar 2024
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom1 contribution
Leaking Toilet flush, faulty shower, no sound proofing. One of the worst BW hotel ever stayed. Loose floor boards and the room was not cleaned even when the note was left on the door. Had to stay for four nights through this hell.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Queen, General Manager at Best Western Priory Hotel
Responded 7 Mar 2024
Dear sk19772024, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. All of the problems you have raised will be looked into in great detail. We look forward to welcoming you back with all the improvements made.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bury St. Edmunds area.
PRICE RANGE
£91 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western bury st edmunds
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkBury St. Edmunds
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN PRIORY HOTEL - Updated 2024 (Bury St. Edmunds)

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Priory Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Priory Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Woolpack (0.6 miles), CurveMotion (0.6 miles), and The Venue (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Priory Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Priory Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Priory Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Priory Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Allison's Eatery, Tollgate, and The Greengage, Hungry Horse.
Is Best Western Priory Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Bury St. Edmunds.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Priory Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Best Western Priory Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Best Western Priory Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Priory Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Turkish.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Priory Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Theatre Royal, Bury St. Edmunds (1.4 miles), St. Edmundsbury Cathedral (1.2 miles), and The Abbey (1.2 miles).