The Black Lion
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Black Lion

The Green, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9DN England
Traveller (159)
Dining (65)
Room & Suite (26)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£169
Breakfast included
£178
Breakfast included
£169
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 3 hotels in Long Melford
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Black Lion is a place to eat, drink, sleep and relax. It features roaring log fires in the bar, the 40 cover restaurant and the warm and cosy drawing room. The new conservatory is the perfect space for private dinner parties, business meetings or cocktail parties - it leads onto the large terrace perfect for al fresco dining. The 10 bedrooms include a luxury suite and family room.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

The Green, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9DN England
255Reviews0Q+A41Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 147
  • 49
  • 31
  • 17
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
H Hen wrote a review Sept 2020
17 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The restaurant was amazing, the food was absolutely delicious and well-presented. Can't fault the food at all. I am vegetarian, and they had a delicious pasta dish I would recommend. There was only the one vegetarian option on the menu, but they did also have a vegan option which is created each evening depending on the ingredients they have. I had called prior to my stay to check the vegetarian and vegan food options and they were really helpful and entirely flexible depending on my needs and likes/dislikes.

However, I did stay at the hotel with my partner for 2 nights and on arrival, we were quite disappointed by the cleanliness of the family room we had been booked into (there were no smaller rooms available as they were fully booked when we came to book). With Covid-19 being prevalent, I would have expected more attention to detail. The cups and glasses in our room were just out on the side without being upturned or on any mats, or in any wrapping. There was dust on the sides and on the kettle, including the headboard of the bed. There was also a dead fly and a small bit of what looked like plant debris on the bed sheet. The room also felt like it was in the middle of refurbishment, with the cutting in paint colour (around the edges near the ceiling and down the corners of the room) being different to the rest of the walls, it was a darker shade of purple/pink. There were also marks and scrapes on the walls. The teas, coffees and sugars were provided in brown envelopes which are quarantined before being provided so there's no worry with Coronavirus which we thought was good. The shower in this room was quite temperamental with the hot and cold water, we couldn't seem to get it to a comfortable warm temperature. We are both quite tall also and we did have to stoop down a little as the shower was clearly made for people that are smaller in height than us! Staff are regularly temperature checked but it is worth noting that none of the staff wear masks because they want to maintain personable and approachable for their guests, which I was ok with as I maintained socially distanced, but this could potentially be a problem if a staff member has coronavirus and is asymptomatic.

We did raise our concerns to a very helpful member of senior staff, Michael, who listened to us and explained that the room had been quarantined for a few days before our visit and it hadn't been checked by the cleaner again before our arrival. This did reassure us that the risk of catching Covid-19 from anything in the room was very low as it had been quarantined. They did offer to clean it for us but we declined this as it would have broken our room 'bubble'. Michael then generously applied a discount to our accommodation cost which we were really grateful for. He then ensured the rest of our visit was as comfortable and pleasant as possible, so thank you Michael!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Family room close to the main road which is loud, shower temperamental and room in need of a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Box, General Manager at The Black Lion
Responded 23 Dec 2020
Dear H Hen, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this detailed review. We are very pleased to hear that you were impressed with your dining experiences! Michael will be particularly pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the resolution of your conern. As you have explained above, we are pleased that you were happy with how your matter with the room was resolved, and we hope that this provides you with the knowledge that we are doing everything we can with regard to covid safety. We continue to operate the safety measures outlined, and, of course, we do now all wear masks front and back of house. If there is anything else you wish to raise, or if you have any further comments based on this reply, then please do not hesitate to get in touch with me at operations@theblacklionlongmelford.com We look forward to welcoming you again! Best Matt, Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucy G wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you so much for a perfect weekend. The staff were great, from the first phone call making the booking and during our whole stay (Especially Jacob!). We had our dog with us and they kindly provided bowls a blanket and paw balm which was a great touch. The room was lovely and clean and really tastefully decorated. Our meal was faultless and so delicious. It was so nice to see they used local seasonal ingredients. The bar area is cosy and welcoming and the garden is the perfect spot to enjoy breakfast in the sun. Very COVID safe aswell, hand sanitisers everywhere, cutlery was sealed and staff all asked if we were happy for them to place items onto the table. Thanks again, and we will most certainly be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Box, General Manager at The Black Lion
Responded 23 Dec 2020
Dear LucyG278, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us! Jacob will be especially pleased to hear your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again! Best Matt, Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John East wrote a review Oct 2021
London, England50 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We live locally and last visited the Black Lin before it was acquired and transformed by Chestnut Inns. It was old, tired and unmemorable. We never returned until now, having heard good things. I'm glad we did. It is a notable addition to the local dining scene and we are well served locally.

It is a lovely period building overlooking the top of the green and the magnificent church. It now has three dining rooms which all have a different aspect, one on to a lovely garden and they all feel a little different as a result. Each feels intimate and friendly.

The food was excellent. One of those menus where everything looked enticing. Enough for a good choice, but not so much that one questioned the freshness of the ingredients. Plenty for vegetarians and vegans too. And a well selected wine list as well. If I'm being picky, vintage dates by each wine would have been useful for some of of them, but this was not really an issue. Every dish was well judged and delicious. Service was expertly presided over by Michael Box, the friendly and highly professional General Manager. He even went the extra mile to recommend and pour a glass of an excellent sweet sherry, Lustau East India Solera, which was not on the wine list, but matched the chocolate crème brulée with Pedro Ximenez sherry in it, perfectly.

We had quite high expectations, but they were exceeded and we will return. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Box, General Manager at The Black Lion
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Good Afternoon, Thanks you for your review, we are pleased that we exceeded your expectations, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many Thanks Georgie Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Very-Very-Lost wrote a review Oct 2020
Hong Kong, China43 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We popped in for a lazy midweek lunch whilst visiting Long Melford during the half term. They are dog-friendly which is great and our pup enjoyed having a snooze away from the rain. The building itself is very impressive with great views over the Green.
We ordered a fish cake for starters and steaks for main with a side of honey glazed carrots. The food was exceptional. Insanely delicious and cooked to perfection. We couldn’t fault it!
The service however was a little slow. We had to ask multiple times for a second glass of wine. It took over 5 minutes to bring some ketchup for the chips (by which point they were getting cold) and after presenting the bill, nobody came to take our card. The entire service seemed very idle. It was a shame as the food was 5* but the service just fell short of this.
My partner also noted that after the table opposite us departed, nobody cleaned down the table which is quite worrying in these times.
Overall a lovely meal but I suggest the front of house staff need a little training.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Box, General Manager at The Black Lion
Responded 23 Dec 2020
Dear Very-Very-Lost, Thank you for taking the time to leave this detailed review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your lunch with us whilst taking shelter from the inclement weather! We are also pleased that your dog was comfortable. I am sorry that our service was not up to scratch during your visit, we pride ourselves on our service and I am sure that if you were to visit again that such an issue would not occur again. I reassure you that all of our tables and indeed seats are wiped extensively after each use. If you would like to discuss further, or respond to this reply, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at operations@theblacklionlongmelford.com I look forward to hearing from you, and hope to see you again soon! Best Matt, Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruth E wrote a review Aug 2020
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom36 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a luxury room on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis for last Saturday. On arrival, we were greeted by a one way system and lots of hand sanitiser - they even request you hand sanitise before visiting the loos in the bar and we were concerned that the Covid precautions might be being over done. However, as an overnight guest I think they've got things just right. The chap that greeted us on check in was very welcoming, informed us of their Covid system and then after that all the staff maintained discreet social distancing. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The bathroom looked a little tired but it was well lit and everything worked. We spent a relaxed time in the bar, pre-dinner and then went through to the restaurant, which has a pleasant atmosphere. The food was excellent and the serving staff were charming. Breakfast on Sunday was of an equally high standard.
We would definitely like to visit again, if we're in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Box, General Manager at The Black Lion
Responded 23 Dec 2020
Dear Ruth E, Thank you for leaving this detailed review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that you were satisfied with our covid safety measures. Thank you also for your constructive criticism of your bathroom, we take this on board with thanks and endeavour to improve. We look forward to welcoming you again whenever you're in the area! Best Matt, Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Norman H wrote a review May 2021
70 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I always think a good ‘acid test’ of a hotel/restaurant is in how effective they are at delivering either a cooked breakfast or a Sunday roast. Well, I’m happy to confirm that The Black Lion know exactly how to deliver when it comes to a good Sunday lunch. Our party of 4 enjoyed clearing every plate, the roast pork and roast beef being devoured with relish - or horseradish actually with the beef! From our friendly reception via front of house right the way through to post dessert coffee, it was a faultless experience, all the more impressive given the events of late around all-things Covid.
Well done team, we’ll be back - and soon!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Box, General Manager at The Black Lion
Responded 26 Jul 2021
Hello thesilveryone, Thank you for you lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back! Many thanks, Michael
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jude9999_10 wrote a review Mar 2020
Diss, United Kingdom887 contributions268 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked a snug room. It is just about possible to walk round the bed with a squeeze.bThe bathroom door only just opens near the bed. Impossibly small room. We asked for an upgrade and the superior double with a view of the green was so much nicer. Very spacious.
No loo rolls, no heat in the room. Soon resolved.
The rooms are up quite steep stairs and there is no lift.

The evening meal was strange. There was only one vegetarian dish which was braised celeriac with gnocchi. There was just one line of food in the middle of the dish, looking rather grey, with nothing green or colourful to go with it. A very small amount of food for what was paid. It tasted ok but really poor value for money. My husband had venison burger which came in a very plain roll with a pot of chips, and again, no garnish or anything. I thought the choice was really limited. Food should be made more appetising.

I didn’t have a glass of wine as the per glass cost was too high.

Their saving grace on the food was the breakfast which was very good. A basket of warm toast and croissants and then I had lovely poached eggs on mashed avocado on brioche. Lovely.

So get the restaurant food right in the evening please.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeffrey H wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom61 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here many times as we love the area and this hotel. On this occasion though from the time of our arrival things were not quite as good as usual. Firstly when shown to our room, which was lovely the girl threw the key on the bed. Never really thought anything of that but at dinner we ordered two ribeye steaks which were served cold and were quite frankly tough as old boots. When I mentioned this to the waitress I was greeted with a smile which bordered on a sign of amusement. Two new dinners were eventually delivered to our table and although this time hot the steaks were still tough and inedible. We then sat there for fifteen minutes with no one taking my partners plate. We were not asked if we wanted deserts or anything and after twenty minutes Retired to the bar. I had a voucher which I pre paid for so my dinner was less than I paid for. I obviously complained in the morning and they took no payments for the drinks we had at the table. Wish I hadn’t paid cash at the bar now but never mind. Whether they have changed their provider of meat but the steaks were the worst I have ever had and for premium cuts of meat should be better, they were cut very thin so perhaps it’s a cost cutting exercise. The food compounded with the staff issues I Hope were just a one off as I have two more vouchers and we will be returning and hoping for the normal high quality of service and food.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Box, General Manager at The Black Lion
Responded 9 Sept 2021
Thank you for your review we are sorry to har this and hope we can do better on your next visit. Many Thanks Georgie Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nikkie H wrote a review Jan 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited the restaurant for the first time recently with a group of friends. We were asked to preorder but although not a fussy eater, we struggled to find many options on the menu that we liked.
I opted for the seabass with a sweet potato purée and braised leeks, this equated to ONE side of a sea bass filllet cut in half and served on a small circle of purée (the diameter of an average mug) with the braised leeks chopped so small that they resembled finely chopped onions, served within this minute circle plus two very raw Cavolo Nero leaves on top. I asked if I could buy some vegetables to go with my dish, but they could only serve roasted carrots or parsnips which I ordered but sadly arrived after I’d finished the fish.
My husband had a steak advertised with hand cut chips. These were actually jacket potatoes with skins on cut into huge wedges which were served raw as they were so big and presumably hadn’t been cooked enough plus no other additions to the plate.
We didn’t complain as very difficult when in a large group but the food was so expensive for what we received. The fish was essentially a starter portion for £22 with no accompaniments and everything was so salty and veg completely undercooked.
When I got home I was still hungry so had some toast,
I understand that establishments have less money to go round but to cut back so much and serve substandard food for exuberant prices is not great for the consumer.
We also have less money to go round and therefore dine out less frequently but I will definitely not be eating here again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Marketing at The Black Lion
Responded 5 Feb 2023
NikkieH14 many thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience here at The Black Lion. We set a high standard for ourselves so we are disappointed to hear that your visit was not a positive one. After assessing the seabass dish a couple of weeks ago, we felt that it was a slightly lighter dish than we would have liked and have now amended this to have more substantial accompaniments. We do apologise if the the hand cut chips were undercooked. Unfortunately we were not made aware of any issues on the evening otherwise we could have rectified them immediately for you. We do not believe we have cut back on the quality of food, nor do we think we have exuberant prices for what we offer. We regularly have great feedback from guests about their experience but on this occasion we seem to have fallen short of our high standards for which we truly apologise for. We hope that you will give us another chance to regain your trust in the hospitality sector in the future. If you would like to discuss this matter further then please contact us at gm@theblacklionlongmelford.com and we would be happy to assist. Best wishes, Kristina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matt B wrote a review Oct 2020
Beckenham, United Kingdom11 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had dinner on a Saturday night as was staying local. The building, the decor, the service and the food were all absolutely faultless. Our waitress was absolutely brilliant and very attentive, warm and welcoming - it is a shame we didn't catch her name to name check her properly.

For starters we had the French Onion Soup and it was honestly one of the best starters we've had. For mains we had the roast chicken breast, and my partner had the sirloin steak. They were both of excellent quality.

We are bar no means fine diners but we have certainly paid far far more in Michelin star restaurants for food of lesser quality and flavour. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Box, General Manager at The Black Lion
Responded 23 Dec 2020
Dear Matt B, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are very pleased indeed to heard your positive words about our food and service which we pride ourselves on! We look forward to hosting you again Best Matt, Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Tim Bowring wrote a tip Apr 2024
14 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The dog friendly rooms are on the top floor so can be quite difficult if your dog is elderly and a bit stiff on the legs"
Read full review
Tony W wrote a tip Mar 2024
Carmarthen, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Limited parking at the hotel, but plenty of room on the green opposite or up toward the church."
Read full review
Ross C wrote a tip Feb 2024
Bedfordshire3 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hopefully the hotel will have had some urgent maintenance"
Read full review
Mark H wrote a tip Oct 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Park on the green"
Read full review
Mandy F wrote a tip Oct 2023
Haverhill, United Kingdom9 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Maybe check on staffing as clearly they short staffed "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Long Melford area.
PRICE RANGE
£110 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
black lion long melford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkBabergh DistrictLong Melford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BLACK LION - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Black Lion
Which popular attractions are close to The Black Lion?
Nearby attractions include Holy Trinity Long Melford Church (0.03 miles), Melford Hall (0.6 miles), and Imagine Gallery (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Black Lion?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Black Lion?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Black Lion?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Black Lion?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Long Melford Tea Room, Scutchers Restaurant, and The Hare Inn.
Is The Black Lion located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Long Melford.
Are pets allowed at The Black Lion?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Black Lion?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to The Black Lion?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lavenham Guildhall (3.6 miles), Melford Hall (0.6 miles), and Kentwell Hall (0.8 miles).
All Long Melford HotelsLong Melford Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Long MelfordHotels near The Black Lion
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire