The Bull Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Bull Inn

Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 2 small hotels in Woodbridge
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Finding an ideal historic small hotel in Woodbridge does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Bull Hotel - Woodbridge, a nice option for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, and Bull Hotel - Woodbridge makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the small hotel, including baggage storage. In addition, guests can enjoy free breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While staying at Bull Hotel - Woodbridge, visitors can check out St Michael and All Angels (1.7 mi), which is a popular Woodbridge attraction.

Travellers looking to enjoy some crab can head to The Maybush Inn, Wilford Bridge, or The Table. Otherwise, you may want to check out a cafe such as The Barn Café, Hasketon, The Tea Hut, or Honey+Harvey.

If you’re looking for something to do, Woodbridge Tide Mill (0.3 mi), St. Mary's Church (0.0 mi), and Elmhurst Park (0.3 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Bull Hotel - Woodbridge.

Bull Hotel - Woodbridge puts the best of Woodbridge at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Complimentary tea
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

2 Market Hill, Woodbridge IP12 4LR England
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 88 out of 100
88
Norwich Airport
40.8 mi
See all flights
Southend Municipal Airport
44.6 mi
See all flights
87Reviews0Q+A21Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 61
  • 13
  • 8
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Eat1out wrote a review Jul 2022
Greater London, United Kingdom56 contributions64 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Bull Inn at Woodbridge with friends and the hotel was lovely it is an Inn dating back to the
1700 ‘s and it shows it with crooked stairs and sloping floors it was brilliant our room was very nice and clean it had a small double bed, bedside tables a dressing table and stool plus a large wardrobe the en-suite had a small shower, sink and toilet the towels were very white and in good condition and the room tastefully decorated.
The bar was quite small but there were two separate rooms, we ate breakfast at the hotel as it was included in our price and it was extremely good with a choice of teas, fruit juices, fruit with yoghurt and a cooked breakfast with a choice of the usual full English through to scrambled egg with smoke salmon on toast all served which was a bonus. We also had our evening meal at the Bull as being out all day it was too tiring to look for somewhere else and again the food was excellent with a good choice on the menu the staff were very friendly and also very helpful.
My only negative point with the Bull is the parking which is not unusual in a small place like Woodbridge it is very tight but I would suggest that you take the option to pay for the parking as the only other place to park is about 5 minutes away and that still has to be paid for
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
J_Richardson77 wrote a review Dec 2020
Chelmsford, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I booked to stay here for our wedding anniversary weekend. It was the weekend after coming out of lockdown 2.0, so we had no idea what to expect. From the moment we got there, the staff made us feel very welcome and covid safe. The room was spotless - it was clear that it had been thoroughly cleaned. The room and ensuite were a good size, with a fantastic view of the market square. The hotel is full of character, with exposed beams, carved woodwork and other visual quirks you'd expect to see in a building of this age and history. The open fire in the bar was welcoming, especially at this time of year, making it feel very relaxing and cosy. The breakfast choice was very good, the full English was excellent; ample without being too much and the porridge with caramelised banana was very tasty. Martin who served us both mornings went out of his way to make sure we were well catered for, he was friendly and helpful and made us feel completely at home. All the staff were accommodating and friendly, and made us feel comfortable throughout our stay, in spite of these strange, restricted times.

We will definitely be staying here again on our next trip to Woodbridge, hopefully without the masks!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Clarke, Owner at The Bull Inn
Responded 5 Jul 2021
Now that the masks are on the way out - hopefully we will see you back soon! Many thanks for the positive review - it really is appreciated. David.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Glenn Y wrote a review Feb 2020
Woodbridge, United Kingdom74 contributions25 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely dinner at the Bull with our friends on Saturday evening. The food was excellent. Two of us enjoyed the Beef Wellington and two of us enjoyed the Moules and French Fries. We also enjoyed a delicious Malbec and dessert wine from the extensive wine list. We’ll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Suzie Mike & Sam wrote a review May 2022
Wallington, United Kingdom229 contributions74 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place to stay with a very warm welcome and a very helpful owner (who sorted cabs for us and couldn’t do enough to make our stay great).
Room 11 has lovely views of the square, has been decorated to a high standard and feels newly done and fresh. Attention to detail and quality furnishings makes you feel special.
V comfy bed and a good strong shower !
Easy to find parking on the nearby residential street (for free) if you don’t get a parking space.
Breakfast was good, definitely an another example where they have put thought in to make it much better than a run of the mill breakfast
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is for free in the local streets, just feels far away due to the one way but actually...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chelsey C wrote a review Jul 2021
Colchester18 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The owners of this pub unlawfully took money from our bank account for a cancelled room. We booked through booking.com and on their website it said free cancellation up until midnight on 09th July. We cancelled and have well over 24 hours notice and we also noticed that the room was filled very quickly. There were no vacancies showing for 10th July not long after we cancelled. On the 16th July (a week after we cancelled!) The Bull took £139 from our bank account and refuse to pay it back. I have evidence that we cancelled in line with Booking.com’a policy and that the room was filled and I will be taking this matter to trading standards. The owners were very rude and unsympathetic to the situation. Even Booking.com have tried to talk to them to give us our money back and said they are being unreasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Clarke, Owner at The Bull Inn
Responded 19 Sept 2021
At The Bull, we do not like applying cancellation fees and it is always disappointing for all parties when a customer cancels at the last minute through no fault of their own. Unfortunately, to protect our business, and in common with all other hotels, we need to charge a cancellation fee if a customer cannot fulfil their booking. Following on from our telephone conversations with Craig Cookson, it was clear that you were aware that there was a 48-hour cancellation period attached with the booking. You were also aware that cancelling your booking within this period would incur a cancellation fee. These two points were accepted during the call and the fact that you were monitoring our bookings on the evening, it was also clear that you were concerned that the cancellation charge would apply. Mentioning “just over 24-hours” when you know the cancellation period is 48 hours and stating that the fee was unlawfully taken when you fully understand the cancellation terms is, frankly, quite disingenuous on your part. As mentioned during our call, the issue regarding the over-promotion of cancellation periods is an issue for Booking.com. The ‘free cancellation’ was on the Booking.com site, the marketing of ‘risk-free’ cancellation terms was on the Booking.com site and the actual cancellation was via the booking.com site. This over-promising is a 100% Booking.com issue. As a business, this is not something that we are entirely happy about – promoting last minute cancellations at 100% cost to small businesses is not something we can support. To claim that Booking.com have tried to reason with us, is again, not true. Booking.com have investigated your claim and concluded that the cancellation terms were applied correctly. Our terms and conditions have been clear, transparent and legally applied. You agreed to these terms when you accepted the booking along with the need to share data with us via Booking.com to fulfil your booking. Whilst Booking.com have agreed to waive their fees, we do not see why The Bull should suffer this cost when the problem has been directly caused by Booking.com. For customers that book DIRECT, we will generally take a sympathetic stance with cancellation terms. However, we do not take it kindly when female members of staff are on the end of calls that are aggressive, abusive and attached with personal and on-line threats.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SCF195 wrote a review Jun 2022
Totnes, United Kingdom19 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had arranged to meet old friends in Woodbridge and booked The Bull Inn. On booking I was advised we couldn't reserve a parking spot it was first come first served basis. On arrival the car park was full except for two reserved spaces! At reception we were told you could reserve! Eventually a space came free. The room itself was very poor. A very dowdy and ordinary B&B room (14) no character, no history no charm. Cheap bottles of shampoo etc and soaps and we paid £159 for the privilege. At breakfast despite being acknowledged we were not served for 15 minutes.
It's saving Grace was the good food we had at dinner and breakfast. But for an overnight stay very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose a room with character if they have one
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LikeToTravel wrote a review Aug 2020
10 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Bull is more than 500 yrs old and the new owners have been working hard to restore some of the hotel's beautiful features such as the original beams and old kitchen furnace. The rooms have all been redone in tastefully muted decor and the food and wine offering is unrivalled in Woodbridge. The town is well worth a visit with lovely little boutiques and picturesque walks along the river. I would definitely stay at the Bull in future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clive H wrote a review Jun 2022
134 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Bull
We moved to Woodbridge in June last year and spent a lot of time exploring our new local pubs and restaurants. There are quite a few nice places to choose from and, If I’m honest, we initially didn’t go into the Bull as we assumed (wrongly) that it would just be a hotel bar. However, we decided to try it out and went inside. We immediately realised how wrong we were. It has a really lovely historic bar area, full of character and interest. The staff were all very friendly, and we immediately felt comfortable and were made to feel welcome. We were spoilt for choice as there’s a really good selection of beer wine and spirits. We have also eaten here, both, in the restaurant and had the day time bar food. All really good, and never been disappointed. It’s our go to place when friends and family come to visit. We recently had a family gathering and my sister stayed overnight at the Bull, she had a lovely stay and commented on how good the breakfast was.
Over the last year we have got to know David and Sarah and they are clearly passionate about what they do. They have made changes to the menu, and have added a really nice outside seating area. I am biased, as it has become our local, but if you’re visiting Woodbridge and like good food, drink and friendly atmosphere, and be perfectly placed to explore the lovely Suffolk area, I would strongly recommend visiting or staying at this excellent establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Leave plenty of room if you’re eating in, especially on a Sunday. They do a great roast.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie M-S wrote a review Jun 2022
51 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived at the Bull Inn for breakfast today around 10.30am. Was hoping for a nice experience as I'd visited a few years ago and it was lovely.

At £14 per head for a breakfast I was expecting it to be lovely and freshly cooked. It was truly awful.
I opted for the full English and when asked how I wanted my eggs I asked for them to be scrambled and emphasised that I wanted them well done, not soggy.
The 'soggy' scrambled eggs were placed on my friends plate so had to be taken away and re-plated.
The quality of the items was extremely poor. The sausage and bacon had obviously been pre cooked. The bacon looked insipid, fatty and poor quality. The mushrooms were unpalatable and the hash brown completely inedible and soaked in fat.
The waitress who was really nice offered to take away and said she would inform the chef but I said I had been put off and would just eat the toast.
My friend was polite but has said hers was not a pleasure to eat but she was so hungry and we were waiting so long she just ate it rather than cause a fuss.

I said I would not be paying the full amount for my breakfast and we then had to wait ages for a bill to arrive.
I genuinely wish we had just left. The table was also really sticky something we also heard another dinner complain about.

So very disappointing and a really stressful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew R wrote a review Jun 2022
Amsterdam, The Netherlands107 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have been staying at the Bull for many years and always loved the building and the location. The new owners have taken both the accommodations and the food experience to exceptional new heights. It was already a marvellous thing to regularly stay in a room like the master suite where we got engaged a decade ago and is full of fine memories. But the renovation has also made it a truly luxurious experience with a gorgeous bed and bedding, superb finishing throughout and just a delightful sense of comfort. A great example of how things have been taken to the next level is that stunning views of Market Square are now directly visible without having to leave said bed! The two-course breakfast is better than almost anywhere my wife and I have stayed (and we are inveterate travellers) with the coconut porridge being an act of culinary genius. Love the new bar too and of course the terrace. The Bull has become not only the best place to stay in wonderful Woodbridge (against stiff competition) but in Suffolk as a whole. Hats off! .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: You simply have to invest in your pleasure and book one of the suites...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Dave H wrote a tip Mar 2024
18 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"leave the car at home, get public transport to the hotel. if you have mobility issues, get a room on the lower floors."
Read full review
Jon G wrote a tip Sept 2023
16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book online early! "
Read full review
neeelix wrote a tip Aug 2023
Essex, United Kingdom165 contributions56 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book parking, there’s no lifts."
Read full review
John P wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't forget to book your parking."
Read full review
DAVE G wrote a tip May 2023
Trowbridge, United Kingdom16 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't order the squid "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Woodbridge area.
PRICE RANGE
£110 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkWoodbridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BULL INN - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Bull Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Bull Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Riverside Theatre (0.3 miles), Woodbridge Antiques (0.2 miles), and Elmhurst Park (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bull Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Bull Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bull Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bull Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Galley, Bistro@47a, and The Anchor.
Is The Bull Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Woodbridge.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bull Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Woodbridge Tide Mill Museum (0.4 miles), Sutton Hoo (1.1 miles), and Buttrums Mill (0.3 miles).
All Woodbridge HotelsWoodbridge Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WoodbridgeHotels near The Bull Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire