We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Chart House Bed and Breakfast

Chart House Chart Lane, Dorking RH4 2BU England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 8 B&Bs in Dorking
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Chart House is a five minute walk from Dorking centre but enjoys panoramic views towards Glory Woods and open fields. Our beautiful 4 acre garden includes an all weather tennis court and where you can see our three alpacas and free range chickens. We have a choice of rooms available, all with TV (free sat), tea and coffee making facilities and free WiFi. We take pride in making your stay as warm and friendly as possible. Prices from £35 per night for single room, £70 for double/twin room and £85 for double with private bathroom.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, German
62Reviews1Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 10
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Awayaga1n wrote a review May 2019
Oxford, United Kingdom72 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Lovely fresh feel to a nice sized single room. Handy full bathroom directly opposite my room. Breakfast served just off the main kitchen with a view of the garden. WiFi available. Everything was immaculate. Huge house and such an amazing garden which I was encouraged to visit. Alpacas, ponies and chickens just beyond the garden. Lovely friendly lady host was so helpful with directions and sorting maps etc. A 5 minute stroll to Dorking town Centre. Close to the new Deepdene Trail.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ChartHouseDorking, Owner at Chart House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 5 Jun 2019
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We put a lot of effort into making our guest's experience the best it can be. Come back again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve F.R.M wrote a review Apr 2019
6 contributions21 helpful votes
From arriving and being greeted by what I must say if the most unprofessional greeting to date from any Accommodation, despite being there with in the time slot I mentioned I was led to feel my staying was a huge burden! The owner made me from the start feel most unwelcome and said that she was disappointed my phone just rang (I was driving) as she was waiting to go out and I was delaying this! I was given a room at the front of the property, no time was invested in to showing me the facilities. The place in dated, the room I had was tiny, and filthy, the 10 inch tv hidden in the cupboard didnt work, A security light clicked audibly on and off all night and Shone brightly through the window. The is ONLY shared facilities at this B and B and the sound of guests to and throw
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ChartHouseDorking, Owner at Chart House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 16 Apr 2019
Hi Steve I believe your review is totally unjustified. I am sorry that you felt unwelcomed. It is true that you did arrive at 6pm, the time you had said, but you were sitting in your car and did not come in so I went out to greet you. The comment I made about the phone number you have given said the number was unavailable and your comment was that it was a work telephone. All I wanted to know was when you would arrive so that I could make alternative arrangement for myself. I showed you to your room, the bathroom and the other facility. I asked you if you knew Dorking and explained how to get to the centre of the town - a 5 minute WALK from Chart House. What other facilities should I have shown you? To say the room was 'filthy' is just not true as all my other reviews show and why did you give me 10 out of 10 on your anonymous Booking.com review? You chose to book a room with shared facilities, presumably to save money, when we also have a double room with private bathroom. Since you knew that the facilities were shared (your room was directly opposite the bathroom) you could have brought a dressing gown and indeed, the information book in every room says that bathrobes are available. There was only one other guest staying and he always uses the other toilet, well away from your room, so I don't think he was going to the bathroom all night! If your night was so disburbed, why did you tell me you had slept well when I asked you the next morning. We chatted about your interesting job and your very large family so I can't have been such a terrible host but perhaps you have forgotten that. The television does work and has a choice of dozens of channels as it is connected to a FreeSat box. You mention staying at the Travel Lodge but that would have cost you £72 plus £5.25 for a breakfast box! Our continental breakfast consists of tea (a huge selection) or real coffee, cereal (large choice), orange juice, yoghurts, fruit, brown or while toast and a choice of 7 different spreads. For a small extra charge you could have had all that and a cooked breakfast which includes eggs from our own free range chicken. All this information is in our book which you obviously did not read.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kirsty R wrote a review Mar 2019
Southampton, United Kingdom1 contribution
I stayed at Chart House for two nights for a work trip. The B&B is set in lovely grounds a 5 minute walk from Dorking. Jill is an amazing host, incredibly welcoming and makes you as much coffee as you can drink. She even made me a flask to go as I was going to be out in the Surrey hills for the day. The B&B is spotless and I would happily stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ChartHouseDorking, Owner at Chart House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 25 Apr 2019
Hi Kirsty Thank you so much for your lovely review. You were a lovely guest and it was a pleasure to have you to stay. Please come back again. Jill
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jason G wrote a review Dec 2018
1 contribution
My experience at Chart House was an amazing one. I was after a few nights somewhere close to family for Christmas and from the minute I stepped over the threshold I felt welcomed and looked after. My room was front facing, had a very comfortable bed and was ample space for one person. The shared bathroom opposite was at a very high standard regarding cleanliness. There was even free small tubes of toothpaste which I was thankful for as I had forgotten mine! The host, Jill, was very warm, friendly and easy to chat to over breakfast. I will definitely be staying again next Christmas!! Thanks Jill!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ChartHouseDorking, Owner at Chart House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 28 Dec 2018
Thank you for your lovely review but also thank you for being such a delightful guest. You are welcome any time and I hope 2019 brings you the success you have worked so hard for.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
westcoastwanderer30 wrote a review Oct 2018
Victoria, Canada31 contributions7 helpful votes
Over a 2-week walking trip, staying at different accommodations nightly, Chart House B&B provided an outstanding stay. Warmly greeted on arrival by our personable hostess Jill, we felt truly welcomed into a gracious, tastefully-decorated home. A variety of hot beverages and cookies awaited in our rooms. Set in a large garden, Chart House provided much for our enjoyment: an attractive pond, pretty flower beds, curious farm animals including a baby alpaca, a newly-renovated efficient kitchen, spacious, spotless bathroom, and comfortable bedroom. There was also a guest sitting room. Breakfast was generous and delicious, and Jill also provided snacks to take on the road. This would be an exciting place for a family with young children to stay. Thanks so much for your
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ChartHouseDorking, Owner at Chart House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 28 Dec 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely revue. It was such a pleasure having you to stay and I am glad you enjoyed being here. I hope you enjoyed a sunning Christmas and wish you happiness and good travelling in 2019.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
pjpjp2010 wrote a review Sept 2018
Cardiff, United Kingdom1 contribution
We were in Dorking for the wedding of our family. The welcome and friendly reception you get from Jill just complimented the whole weekend. Our family took over all the rooms and had the run of the house and the beautiful gardens. The breakfast round the communal table was great for catching up and chatting. Jill's relaxed and friendly attitude is very refreshing after experiencing corporate hotel chains and staff with painted smiles and 'Have a nice day' hollow comments.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ChartHouseDorking, Owner at Chart House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 3 Sept 2018
It was just lovely having your family stay and so glad that it was a good experience for you all. What a lovely family you have and thank you for your great review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rowlandgfrancis wrote a review Aug 2018
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
We came up for a family wedding at Denbies Vineyard (a 30 to 40 min walk away). Upon arrival at midday we were warmly welcomed at the front door by the charming owner Jill who showed us to our room on the first floor. This was small but more than adequate for our needs, and we had exclusive use of the stylish bath/shower room just along the corridor. An early check-in was no problem (unlike the local Travel Lodge in Dorking). The B&B enjoys a quiet, semi rural location, but is only a 5 minute stroll into town. One minute you are looking out over fields of horses, llamas and chickens, the next you can be in town enjoying a glass of wine without having to worry about driving and parking, as there is plenty of off-road parking at the B&B. After a good nights sleep in a very
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ChartHouseDorking, Owner at Chart House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 3 Sept 2018
Thank you so much for this lovely review. It is great to have feed back and from your comments it seems we got it right. Very easy when you have lovely guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MAT wrote a review May 2018
7 contributions
What a fabulous place to rest you weary limbs for the night after a day hiking. Jill was the perfect hostess and even allowed us the use of her beautiful garden to spend an hour or two in the sunshine. Very comfy bed. It almost felt like we had our own suite of rooms with the guest sitting room being so close to our bedroom. Would recommend this B&B to anyone
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ChartHouseDorking, Owner at Chart House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 26 May 2018
Hi Marika and Simon Thank you so much for your lovely words. It was a pleasure having you and I am sorry that I couldn't arrange better weather for the walk. Do come back again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
raggieandreds wrote a review Sept 2017
Luton, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
When I arrived I thought OMG WOW, it's a mansion house! Jill the owner showed me to my room.Small single room shared bathroom. Room was extremely comfortable..Tea/Coffee in room..Tv with free sat. Had a small Wedgewood vase in room! Bathroom looked brand new! Lovely smelling bath soap. Toilet seats self close .I had 7 hours good sleep, unusual for me! Shower was lovely in morning. I paid for a cooked breakfast..O M G! IT WAS AMAZING! You had everything you could ask for..even homemade jam! Sorry Jill I didn't eat the toast the breakfast filled me up! The garden is HUGE! Pond with waterfall and Coy carp.Tennis court..Horse.. Chickens free range eggs..oh and Alpacas! Yes Alpacas! This is Jill's home and Business so please remember to remove your shows after being in the garden!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ChartHouseDorking, Owner at Chart House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 1 Sept 2017
Well you were certainly true to your word and left a wonderful review. I was so pleased you popped back with your wife to show her were you had stayed. Perhaps you can both come back for a long weekend and enjoy Dorking and also gets two night's good sleep. Thank you so much for your kind words.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
hanp86 wrote a review Aug 2017
London, United Kingdom218 contributions43 helpful votes
My sister and I decided to get away from London for the weekend and spent one of our nights at chart house. So much more than we bargained for: an ideal location for travel, a bed for the night or R and R, we were surrounded by the most beautiful gardens which we were encouraged to use. There were alpacas and ponies as well as hens that were responsible for the fresh eggs. The beds were comfy and the rooms spacious. We both had singles and have no complaints/ Really recommend if you need a place to stay in the area. I also recommend if you are after an easy countr break from London.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ChartHouseDorking, Owner at Chart House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 1 Sept 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review and pleased you found the respite you were looking for. The beautiful weather was a bonus and out of my control! Next time make time to play tennis.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dorking area.
PRICE RANGE
£60 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSurreyDorking
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHART HOUSE BED AND BREAKFAST - Updated 2024 Prices (Dorking)