Mandolay Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mandolay Hotel

Maintenance Workshop immediately outside room 41
Traveller (89)
Double Medium
Room & Suite (21)
Restaurant
Dining (9)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£98
Get rewarded with One Key
£98
Multiple ways to pay
£80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#3 of 11 hotels in Guildford
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Conveniently located near Guildford's charming town centre, the Mandolay Hotel provides all the modern amenities you'd expect while maintaining a touch of tradition. As an independently owned establishment, the Mandolay prides itself on delivering exceptional service and top-notch facilities. With 78 comfortable guest rooms and flexible meeting spaces, we are the preferred choice for business travellers. If you're looking for a relaxing getaway or a family gathering, we collaborate closely with local attractions and proudly belong to Visit Surrey, an organization dedicated to promoting our beautiful county. Enjoy unrestricted wireless internet throughout the hotel and access to over 900 international TV channels at no extra cost. Our dining options range from a coffee shop and bar menu to a full restaurant service. Whatever brings you to the Mandolay, we eagerly anticipate ensuring your stay is as enjoyable as possible. Limited pay & display parking is available on-site.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Patio
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Room service
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

36-40 London Road, Guildford GU1 2AE England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 80 out of 100
80
Heathrow Airport
16.7 mi
See all flights
Gatwick Airport
17.5 mi
See all flights
322Reviews1Q+A51Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 237
  • 30
  • 12
  • 18
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Angelo P wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a room for a band and crew playing a concert locally to use solely as a shower room as the venue didn't have one. The Mandolay were the only local hotel willing to offer us a room to be used as a shower room and were extremely helpful. Didn't even charge us for the extra towels.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian Blyth, Guest Services / Front Office at Mandolay Hotel
Responded 25 Apr 2023
It was a pleasure to help, the team really enjoyed having you with us and we all hope that the concert went well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rick S wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dinner was very good, staff very friendly. Room was fine, had everything we needed. Garden is obviously in the process of being maintained so was not pretty as we had hopped, but recognised that is winter.
We ordered breakfast to our room and it was delivered fresh, hot and tasty.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian Blyth, Guest Services / Front Office at Mandolay Hotel
Responded 27 Feb 2022
Thank you for your 5 Star review and kind words, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast in your room, you are of course correct to say that we are currently 'tidying-up' the garden after a rather challenging winter! Do stay again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stephen P wrote a review Oct 2023
4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrific friendly staff made us feel right at home, particularly Morgan and Kai.
The hotel enjoys a good location in Guildford town centre close to all amenities but not too central to be too disturbed by the hustle and bustle of a large busy town. I guess I am trying to say we enjoyed a quiet and undisturbed night. We enjoyed a delicious evening meal at The Mandolay and a great breakfast in the morning. My friend and I were both booked in to The Mandolay's overnight "crash pad" rooms and these were just ideal for a simple but comfortable overnight stay. Walk in showers were great, freshening up after our days exertions on the North Downs Way ready for our leisurely evening meal.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian Blyth, Guest Services / Front Office at Mandolay Hotel
Responded 23 Oct 2023
What a lovely review Stephen, and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay. Our crash pads are indeed extremely popular with those guests wishing to avail themselves of our services for a short stay, the vast majority of users find these rooms comfortable and great value. I will make sure that the chef and his team are made aware of your delight with their culinary efforts! Do come and see us again next time you are visiting for a walk 'round our stunning local countryside.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Artur M wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The biggest issue was the hand-washing basin and shower tray were blocked. Nobody even offered help with my luggage giving me a room on the 3rd floor with no lift on the premises. Rooms in the pictures on the website look substantially more prominent in size. I was given a tiny space. Definitely not a value for the money. Lods of noise around. The walls are not sound proved. Sorry but would not recommend it to my friends or family
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The biggest issue was the hand-washing basin and shower tray were blocked. Nobody even offered...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian Blyth, Guest Services / Front Office at Mandolay Hotel
Responded 7 Feb 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I was disappointed to read your comments but I am pleased to respond, clarifying the details. The Mandolay is an Edwardian building set in a Preservation Area, a very small number of our bedrooms are compact, the dimensions of all our room types can be found clearly on our website. The vast majority of our bedrooms are spacious, these carry a slightly higher tariff than the room you selected to book. We have two passenger lifts, and help is always on hand for guests should it be required, I am sorry that you were not made aware of this. Thank you again for your review, and for the opportunity to respond on this public forum.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin R wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Have stayed here before, last time it was a good stay however this time is a completely different story. We were given room 46, this is a dungeon, its pokey no natural light and stuffy, the window opens about two inches wide to a brick wall, no air con what so ever and dark. At 7 am on a sunday I was woken but thumping cleaning and banging from staff directly above the room which was the reception area and bar area, needless to say this went on for 90 mins and i didn't get that lay in i was hoping for.
Avoid room 46 and avoid any rooms under reception - pretty poor from what should have been a good stay, we won't gamble on going again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian Blyth, Guest Services / Front Office at Mandolay Hotel
Responded 10 Oct 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your most recent stay with us. Room sizes and facilities are given in detail on the hotel website, and in order to have access to the best rates and widest choice of room types we always recommend booking directly with the hotel rather than via 3rd party websites.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pete H wrote a review Feb 2022
Crawley, England, United Kingdom6 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Complete with stains on the carpet, furniture from the 1980s and the heat being so intense that the windows were wide open throughout our stay during storm Eunice!

The £50 deposit taken at the front desk on check was a lovely welcome and if we didn't pay then we couldn't stay and no refund would be given!

I would mention all of the other issues that previous reviews mention however, there isn't much point as no action seems to have been taken and the response from Ian Blyth will no doubt repoint the blame somewhere else or there will be no record of the issues such as us not having a hairdryer and one never turning up.

I guess there's a reason for The Mandolay being 11 out of 12 on here. Customer satisfaction comes secondary to anything else, which probably explains it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian Blyth, Guest Services / Front Office at Mandolay Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2022
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. As visitors to this site will see, we respond appropriately to every honest review, I am sorry that you were unable to cancel the booking that you made via a third party website but thank you for the opportunity to explain that the very best rates, and booking terms and conditions are available by making reservations directly with the hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shininghero wrote a review Mar 2022
Barcelona32 contributions24 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Cheapish business hotel arranged by the company. Would be great if it offered free mineral water and fridge in the room. But the worst part is the noise from other guests walking/ chatting as I was placed in the ground floor room (REALLY LOUD floorboards, thin walls and staircase right above the room). I was hoping for a good night's sleep but was rudely awaken at 5am and you simply cannot get any sleep. Terrible experience and will never stay here again.
TIP - ask for a room upstairs so you don't hear anyone stomping up the stairs
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid downstairs rooms at all cost it is so noisy. Ask for a room upstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian Blyth, Guest Services / Front Office at Mandolay Hotel
Responded 17 Mar 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I was sorry to read that you had a less than comfortable stay with us, if you could email via guest relations and let me know which room you were allocated I will ask our maintenance manager to take a look at the floorboards. As an Edwardian building, we do accept a certain amount of 'creakage' is due to a sudden change of weather but we will take a look. Thanks again for the review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter I wrote a review Jun 2022
6 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Selected an Executive Room (see professional pic attached) which cost nearly £170 per night. Based selection on what was displayed on the Mandolay's website. What we landed up with was something completely different and resembled something closer to student accommodation than a premium room (see other images attached)

Appreciate that in reality a room might differ slightly in terms of layout, size etc but the overall standard finishing should be the same and this simply wasn't anywhere close to what is advertised and definitely did not justify a charge of £170!!

To make matters worse, the towels in the bathroom clearly had not been laundered or at least laundered very badly!

Furthermore 2 days before your stay you receive an e-mail asking you to check in. When you do they take a credit card for incidentals which is standard practise with most hotels. What is not standard practise is for the hotel to hold £50 for up to week after your stay! Most hotels just keep card on file and if they need to charge they do and most inform you of charges. Mandolay think it's ok to hold £50.

Finally, as part of the pre check in they give you an option for early checking, late check out, parking etc. However all of these are at an additional cost of around £20. The challenge with this is that it's clearly an exercise to drive additional revenue and upsell prior to your stay as opposed to what it should be used for which is guests who might actually need to check in early or depart later rather than a revenue generator.

I'd strongly recommend not staying at this property and their are much better options (i.e. Harbour Hotel) in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian Blyth, Guest Services / Front Office at Mandolay Hotel
Responded 17 Jun 2022
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and for the opportunity to confirm publicly that The Mandolay does not 'take' a £50.00 deposit, the monies are held in your own account and released back to you by your own bank or card provider, and at no time is the £50.00 in the possession of the hotel. We do indeed offer the opportunity to upgrade bedrooms and arrange additional services, these are entirely optional, as we believe that rather than charge for services that may not be used, it is much fairer to allow guests to choose which additional services, if any, that they require. As an example, it would, I am sure you will appreciate, be unfair to charge guests for breakfast if they did not take breakfast? Our linen is provided by a Royal Warranted supplier on a daily basis, I apologise for the mark on the towel and assure you that had you mentioned this at the time of your stay, it would have been replaced immediately. The Mandolay is an Edwardian building, and very few of our bedrooms are identical, this is why we use 'bedroom types' as an indication of the size and facilities in each room. Our website features descriptions of room types, together with more images than we are able to show on third-party booking sites. We refute categorically any suggestion of false advertising. For the best rates and the largest selection of bedroom types, we always recommend booking directly with the hotel. Thank you again for your review, and for the opportunity to explain to visitors to this website our policies in more detail than we are able to on third-party booking sites.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard785 wrote a review Sept 2023
Plymouth, United Kingdom173 contributions69 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a room at this hotel as a stopover on our way to Kent from Devon as I have stayed there before when on business in the area. However, this stay was not a pleasant experience. To be fair, in general the Hotel is smart and clean, but let's concentrate on this stay alone. Constant text messages on the way alerting us that we MUST complete pre check in before arrival was just a pain. Parking the car in their car park cost £15/per night, which I can understand as it puts off shoppers parking there due to it's close proximity to the Town centre. But why penalise hotel guests this charge if they are genuinely staying there? Our room appeared clean and smart, but, with the weather being very hot outside, we took a shower before retiring to bed and this is where things took a turn for the worst. The drain in the shower had obviously not been cleaned for some time, as it was full of hair and this set off a rather pungent smell for some time. Next, my wife went fluff her pillows and found a screwed up old tissue underneath them!
Then next morning to Breakfast. What cooked food on offer there was, and when we came in it was minimal, was cold. the staff had forgotten to fill the water trays that heated the food brought out from the kitchen. The coffee machine did not work, the drip tray was full of water, and when someone did attempt to empty it, they poured water all over the floor and just left it there. An accident waiting to happen, thankfully did not as we had to put paper towels down. Health & safety obviously not a concern to the hotel. so, i mentioned all of the above to reception, the staff there were as much use as a chocolate fire guard, just struggling their shoulders and saying they could do nothing, apart from offering me the email address of the customer services manager. Five days after emailing this person, i am still awaiting a reply, so in my opinion, not worth his position if he cannot bother to reply. So, Mandolay hotel, on the back of this pathetic service, I will not be returning again when working in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We stayed in room 68, so until they clear the shower drain, avoid that room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian Blyth, Guest Services / Front Office at Mandolay Hotel
Responded 15 Sept 2023
Dear Richard, apologies once again for the mix-up over the emails, and thank you once again for confirming that you will be returning to Mandolay on your next visit to Guildford.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charleyts wrote a review Nov 2022
Guildford, United Kingdom18 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I’m surprised this hotel has won an award I’m not really sure why. However the positives are the staff are nice. That’s where it ends.

The room was tiny and super hot so we had to sleep with the window open. We where at the front of the hotel and someone was drunk and shouting in the car park for hours late at night. You could hear doors slamming into the late hours and someone tried to get into our room twice. I’d expect this at a travelodge not a nice hotel.

The shower was not great either no power at all and I’d say the room was a 7/10 for cleanliness. It’s all a bit tired not somewhere I’d like to go again for a night away with the husband.

Above all we where charged £20 for the car park but not told by staff they simply took it off my card after I left without permission. I have reached out to the hotel and been told I should have read the signs.

Poor service guys, I’d suggest people go to the harbour hotel up the road or save your money and book the travelodge where the parking is free and a taxi to town is £5-6
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: You have to pay to park £20!!! Per night
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian Blyth, Guest Services / Front Office at Mandolay Hotel
Responded 28 Nov 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay, I was of course disappointed to read your comments but I am grateful to you for your feedback. The hotel does indeed charge for parking, our costs are in-line with other entertainment venues and hotels in the area, unfortunately free parking is at a premium in Guildford but there are more than 1.100 pay-and-display spaces within 5 minutes of the hotel. The majority of our guests choose the convenience of parking at the hotel in our secure car parks, but we are always pleased to assist those guests that wish to use facilities such as the G Live pay-and-display car park which is directly opposite the hotel. Thank you again for your review, and for the opportunity to explain our parking procedures on a public forum.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shona asked a question Mar 2022
Amble, United Kingdom
Are there fridges in the rooms
Answer from Houlden1973
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom110 contributions134 helpful votes
Not in the one I stayed in.
Ian K wrote a tip 15 May
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Having to pay for parking as an extra is a big disincentive."
Read full review
Claire R wrote a tip 12 May
Worthing, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Convenient and reasonably priced parking outside"
Read full review
Dawn P wrote a tip 3 May
16 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking was tight and a bit pricy but it’s a central location so to be expected."
Read full review
Resort776414 wrote a tip 2 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just relax lol"
Read full review
maria wrote a tip Apr 2024
Surrey, United Kingdom27 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid Room 62! Very poor bedding"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Guildford area.
PRICE RANGE
£81 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mandolay hotel guildford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSurreyGuildford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
78
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MANDOLAY HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Mandolay Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mandolay Hotel?
Nearby attractions include G Live (0.10 miles), Unplug + Play (0.2 miles), and Stoke Park (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mandolay Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mandolay Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mandolay Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mandolay Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Long Bar & Grill, Shah's Secreto, and Jeita.
Is Mandolay Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Guildford.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mandolay Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mandolay Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Mandolay Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Guildford Castle (0.5 miles), Hatchlands Park NT (4.1 miles), and Loseley Park (2.4 miles).
Is Mandolay Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Guildford HotelsGuildford Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GuildfordHotels near Mandolay Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire