We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre

Traveller (184)
Room & Suite (94)
Dining (22)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated close to the heart of the delightful town centre of Guildford The Mandolay offers everything you should expect from a modern yet traditional hotel. Independently owned, The Mandolay couples exceptional service with first class facilities and our 80 comfortable bedrooms and exceptional meeting facilities make us the obvious choice for business visitors. For those seeking a leisurely break or family get-together we work closely with many local attractions and we are proud members of Visit Surrey, the organization dedicated to promoting our beautiful county. Free unrestricted wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and we have over 900 international TV channels free of charge. Our range of dining options include coffee shop and bar menu to full restaurant service and whatever your reason for visiting The Mandolay we look forward to making your stay with us as enjoyable as possible...Limited pay & display parking is available on-site.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
82Good for walkers
Grade: 82 out of 100
32Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
6Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
892Reviews
228Photos
4Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 229
  • 260
  • 193
  • 111
  • 99
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Recently spent 3 nights in a standard twin room with my daughter. We stayed here as we had booked a balloon flight and thought this hotel would be central for us. The room and the ensuite was quite small. The sink tiny and near on impossible not to get water over the floor when
Read more
Response from guildfordhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 6 days ago
Many thanks for your review Annclare, I was very sorry to read your comments and I would be grateful if you could contact the hotel via the guest relations email so that these issues can be looked into.
Read more
Myself and my husband stayed here for the night after our wedding. We were really not happy with the signature suite room we stayed in, especially as we paid £180 for 1 night. On arrival, considering I was standing there in a wedding dress the man did not once smile,
Read more
Response from guildfordhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review Amy, as we explained in our email response to you we do not offer complimentary Champagne for weddings booked at other venues, I am sorry if this came as a disappointment to you. We did however give complimentary upgrades to every member of your party. I apologise once again for the oversight with the dinner tray. Thanks again for the review Amy, please accept the very best wishes of everybody at The Mandolay for a long, healthy and happy marriage.
Read more
+7
I went to the Mandolay Hotel & Conference Center for a conference and I also stayed there for the night and loved it. The staff were very helpful and had a wonderful restful sleep. Very nice boutique hotel, it’s a bit pricey and not a great coffee bar, very look warm coffee, but
Read more
Response from guildfordhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 2 weeks ago
Many thanks for your 4 Star review and very kind comments, I hope that you are able to join us again on your next visit to Guildford.
Read more
I’ve been here twice. This hotel is in a great location, handy for town and other eating venues. The rooms I’ve stayed in have been nice in appearance and clean. The bed was comfy. The staff are friendly. A couple of negatives: it seems to be a hot hotel. Even with radiators
Read more
Response from guildfordhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your review and kind comments, the changeable weather has certainly provided a few challenges recently, not quite 'Four Seasons in One Day' but not far off! We do though have electric fans and heaters for those bedrooms without air conditioning.
Read more
From kids running up and down the stairs to men in football shirts shouting in the corridors, this was not a restful hotel visit. The people upstairs sounded as if they were coming through the ceiling. We were unlucky enough to be right next to a staircase so it sounded like a
Read more
Response from guildfordhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks Sarah, despite the fact that your comments made less than pleasant reading I am grateful to you for taking the time to leave a review. The hotel hosted a charity event at the weekend and there was indeed some boisterous behaviour, we made every effort to locate guests uninvolved with the event in the rear of the hotel, unfortunately as you booked through a third party website we had no way of knowing if you were staying independently or as part of the event group. Had you made us aware upon check-in or at any time during your stay, we would have made every effort to relocate you to a quieter part of the hotel. The noise you heard at 1.00am was the event equipment being loaded onto a van, again had we been alerted to this disturbance at the time our night management team would have dealt with the matter immediately. The event raised a great deal of money for charity but I can appreciate that this might be of little consequence to you and I offer my apologies for the disturbance.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Tissue or toilet paper sealing window
Photo provided by managementMandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Bedroom
PreviousNext
12345619
What time is breakfast served at the weekends?
from 07:30-10:30 I would still suggest ask the reception for any newest updates
1 vote
The parking at the hotel seems to be very limited. Just a few spaces in the front. They do have a car park at the back with a barrier, which I think is for staff and disabled. Perhaps you could ask if you could park there. Alternatively there is the Pay & Display Car Park opposite, but not sure what the costs are for an all day ticket.
1 vote
Show all answers
Can they accommodate an early check in?
"Try to book a room with a double bed (even if you are solo)"
"Up grade as rooms at top of hotel are luxurious"
"Avoid Single rooms, very small in my experience."
"Suite other rooms small also no double glazing"
"Don't get the basement rooms"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mandolay hotel guildford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGuildford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing