Guildford Manor
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Guildford Manor

Traveller (360)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#9 of 11 hotels in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Set in acres of parkland with superb spa, health and fitness facilities, the Guildford Manor Hotel has just competed an extensive refurbishment and relaunch. The all new Guildford Manor Hotel is a well placed for Guildford, including the research park and university, Woking and the M25. We have 50 comfortable en suite rooms , many with fine views. Our redesigned and re-styled bar and restaurant and spacious lounge provide areas for relaxation with superb views over our garden areas. Substantial on site free parking and a choice of function rooms with Wi-Fi throughout make the Manor an ideal for all weddings, conferences and events. Come and enjoy a relaxing time in our pool and enjoy our new hydro-therapy jaccuzi and sauna and steam room. We are close to the Newlands Corner beauty spot, one of the highlights of the Surrey Hills. Another beauty spot, Silent Pool, and its famous gin distillery are just a mile from the hotel and picture postcard Shere a mile further The Manor is a perfect location for a wedding or event. Indoor or outdoor weddings in our beautiful ballroom or in our summer pavilion or conferences for up to 200 guests. Ample free parking, superfast wi-fi, excellent food and a chance to workout in our LifeFitness gym and weight room or relax in the comfort of our spa.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Azerbaijani, Farsi, Georgian and 3 more

Location

Newlands Corner, Guildford GU4 8SE England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 37 out of 100
37
Heathrow Airport
16.3 mi
See all flights
Gatwick Airport
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles379 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Guildford Manor Hotel blends modern and traditional elements, creating an atmosphere that has been met with mixed reactions regarding its charm and coziness. While some guests commend the clean and comfortable rooms, others express discontent with their small, outdated conditions. Noise disturbances are a common complaint, potentially disrupting sleep. The service has its highs and lows, with staff being friendly yet occasionally slow. The spa amenities, including an outdoor jacuzzi, are highlights, despite some maintenance issues. Set in a beautiful location with praised grounds, the hotel faces criticism for not delivering sufficient value for money.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Eclectic
Rooms
Cramped
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Relaxing

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
379Reviews0Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 188
  • 64
  • 39
  • 37
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ellen B wrote a review Aug 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Driving into the hotel, the grounds were beautiful and there was plenty of free parking, a good start!

When we walked into the hotel itself, whilst not that aesthetically pleasing to look at on the outside I thought the inside was classy with a touch of grandeur and very clean.

We had paid for the twilight package, arrived early and were seated straight away in the restaurant, where we had a lovely cup of coffee. The cakes/sandwiches were delicious.

After tea we went on to have our massages which were very relaxing, and the ladies did an amazing job, easily the best massage I've had to date.

We were then able to enjoy the rest of the facilities and then went on to have dinner in their restaurant.

Notes for improvement!!

1) Have rules of 'etiquette' , so that customers know how to behave, after a large family came in and treated the facilities like a local swimming pool and their private villa and not observing the quiet, peaceful, relaxing environment which should be a Spa.
2) Do not allow food/drink around the outside hot tub as said family had so much food and drink, there were bowls and bottles everywhere, with one bottle broken, the family throwing food and the potential of food going into the hot tub and the general 'taking over' of the whole area making it uncomfortable for others.
3) Referring back to 'etiquette' make sure the main pool is observed as said family took the life ring and were swimming/messing around with it in the pool.
4) Your online menu needs to be addressed as it is far more extensive than the actual menu in the restaurant and was therefore disappointing.
5) I find it offensive when a restaurant adds a 'service charge' (and at 12.5%) automatically. Let me remind you this is a 'tip' and not a 'charge'. I was also cross to find that the receipt was folded in half to hide the service charge. I asked for it to be taken off, and it was, but had it not been included on my receipt the staff would have got a cash tip. The staff incidentally were very good and helpful, but could do with a new, classier uniform.
6) The steak!! listed as 'grilled beef fillet' on the menu! I paid £26 for a piece of rubbery meat that was tough, tasteless and tiny. I should have clarified what cut of beef this was before ordering. The peppercorn sauce was very thin. The mushroom I had trouble cooking and the new potatoes which I requested instead of chips did not have the parsley and butter that I was expecting. Furthermore, the 'new potatoes' had that shrivelled look which you see when they have been reheated. The lady on the table behind also had a steak and I could hear her complain (at least she had a steak knife and I did not). The ladies next to us were also complaining about their food. We did however enjoy a really lovely bottle of wine!

Finally, we had a really nice day out but the hotel I believe is only 3 star but could be a 5 star if they addressed some important issues.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: we only went for a spa day
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chrissyflossuk wrote a review Apr 2023
London, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for a one-night spa break and found the facilities good, especially the jacuzzies (they have both indoor and outdoor jacuzzies.) Free drinking water was available, which was very welcome, and the sauna and steam rooms were small but clean and relaxing.

It is a shame that there was no specific welcome and guide to the facilities on arrival: you're left to find everything for yourself really. We ended up asking the lady at the spa reception area what was available and where everything was.

The buttons to turn on the bubbles on the outside jacuzzi are not obvious, they are on the side just as you enter. Press those to activate the jacuzzi: don't do what we did and wait in still water for 40 minutes in case the bubbles to magically turn on! There is a sign saying that the bubbles are on a timer but they weren't during our visit.

In our opinion, the walk-in entrance to this hotel is not clearly signposted. We took a chance as to where the entrance and reception area was. Reception is from a small window in a large corridor.

Speaking of reception, our check in experience to our room was less than ideal. We waited for longer than we would have liked to for our room to be ready, despite having arrived on time for check in. The staff had to be prompted into telling us what was going on, rather than being proactive. I was personally unimpressed with the customer service at this hotel.

When we got to the room, the guide book quoted out of date information as to the cost of the towels and bathrobes. We also found the shower tricky to operate.

The room was generally clean but I found cobwebs in the ceiling recesses, and I would have liked the windows to have been wiped down (the cills were spotless but there was debris on the PVC.) Typically for large hotels, the room walls were thin: we had a room in the loft and could hear a couple "enjoying themselves" next door. Thankfully we also had a TV in the room (which we turned up!)

Breakfast was average for me (I didn't have the cooked elements though.) No natural yoghurt was provided, only flavoured yoghurts. We also ended up sitting under faulty spotlights in the dining area, which flashed annoyingly. We ended up asking staff to turn the lights off in that area. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlie W, Guest Services / Front Office at Guildford Manor
Responded 9 Apr 2023
Dear Chrissyflossuk, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your most recent stay. We are disappointed to see that your stay was not up to the standard we expect our guests to receive. We will take your comments on board and look to improve on these areas in the future. If you would like to discuss anything further, please feel free to contact us directly. We do hope that you will give our hotel another chance.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Maya wrote a review Oct 2022
Dunstable, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights for a wedding. We checked in a day early to enjoy the spa which was well worth it. The pool was very large and warm, the indoor jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were clean and in good order. The steam room and sauna could be slightly hotter. The highlight was definitely the outdoor vitality pool (essentially a huge jacuzzi). Take your own slippers, you do not need to wear robes and towels are provided in the rooms.

Our room was big enough with a small wardrobe and table, 2 plug in heaters and an iron. The bathroom was very large with a good waterfall shower and toiletries. The towels were changed everyday if required.

Negatives - aside from the very small wardrobe, there was nowhere to leave clothes e.g. a chair or hanging rack. This would make a huge difference. The shower pan was too shallow, meaning water overflowed out during a shower. The shower screen was also not wide enough, again leading to water soaking the floor. There didn’t seem to be an extractor fan in the bathroom, so the condensation prevented anything from drying. There was nowhere to leave towels to dry. Would also be nice to have a ‘do not disturb’ card for the door, as we had a late night celebrating a wedding at the hotel and were woken up the next day by housekeeping.

We didn’t eat breakfast or dinner in the hotel so cannot comment. We ate dinner at the Italian next door (Carlos) to the hotel due to the lateness of our arrival time, and would thoroughly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Lots of parking available. Bring your own slippers (and robes if you want) for the spa.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlie W, Guest Services / Front Office at Guildford Manor
Responded 22 Oct 2022
Dear Mxyo, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your most recent stay, we greatly appreciate the positive comments left for our property and will definitely take your comments under consideration for further improvement of our service.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tourist551234 wrote a review Nov 2022
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were initially greeted by a Receptionist who assumed we were part of a wedding party, ( we weren’t.) We were pointed in the direction of our room, ( upstairs, no lift,) and no assistance offered. We were given a shabby room with the most bizarre creche-style elephant border all around the walls which Reception staff claimed to be unaware of and couldn’t explain. The main problem in the room was a complete lack of any hooks, hanging rails or towel rails. We informed Reception that there was a hole in the bathroom door where a hook should be. We enjoyed use of the pools, indoors and out, and the grounds at GM are very nice. However we then had to sleep in a room with wet towels and swim wear hanging off wardrobes doors and windows in an effort to dry them. We were told no other rooms were available and resorted to trying to dry swimming costumes with a hairdryer. When I asked about the possibility of an ‘airer’ or clothes horse in order to hang our towels, Staff at reception had a discussion about what such items were before saying they didn’t have any; no alternatives or suggestions offered. On arrival we were repeatedly disturbed by the slamming of a broken door. We were told this could not be left open as it was a fire safety door.. before staff promptly pegged it open for the duration of our stay. We were not made aware of any of the spa facilities at all during our stay. The gymn was not mentioned and no treatments were promoted or advertised. Housekeeping was ‘hit & miss’ We weren’t left any bottled water until Day 2. Bath mat removed but not replaced, toilet roll not replenished, bed not made.. but we did get teabags. Charged a deposit for spa ‘robes’ and towels which turned out to be womens’ dressing gowns which were shabby, old and torn. ( Receptionist looked bemused when my husband refused a short fluffy pink gown she had provided for him.) Spa towels were too thin to be absorbent or of any real use. This hotel has the potential to be a real retreat: unfortunately it isn’t at the moment. Our two day stay was far from relaxing and certainly no ‘wow’ factors to recommend. Staff in the bar were friendly but we were kept waiting for our drinks ( in an empty bar,) and not offered an opportunity to pay as staff assumed ( wrongly) that we were there for dinner. Two different occasions, two different staff members and neither produced a gin and tonic, as requested. Breakfast was a hap hazard affair with shortages of food and guests scrabbling around to find adequate plates and cutlery. There seems to be ongoing maintenance/ improvements to lovely outdoor areas but unfortunately the same cannot be said for inside. Staff do not seem concerned about your stay and customer care/service is poor. Our room was of an unacceptable standard and certainly not value for the money we paid, and not the relaxing getaway we planned for .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Check for elephant borders before accepting your room.. or choose a different hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlie W, Guest Services / Front Office at Guildford Manor
Responded 6 Nov 2022
Dear Tourist551234, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your most recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the décor of the room that you stayed in. This has recently been addressed and a new wallpaper setting has been ordered to more match the style of the room. Unfortunately, our hotel does not have a concierge service, but we are more than happy to assist with luggage should there be need of this. I will forward your comments about the lack of hooks in the bathroom to the relevant department but it should be noted that there are towel rails in the bathrooms of our property so you can hang wet items of clothing up. Thank you for your comments regarding the lack of information with regards to use of facilities and treatment availability, it happened that we had no treatment availability as all four of our treatment rooms were in use. I will pass your comments about the lack of attention when servicing your room for the housekeeping manager. While our rooms are serviced, if you are staying for more than one night, there is not a full turndown service offered. They will mostly replenish the tea and coffee facilities in the room. I will ensure that your comments regarding lack of service in both the bar area and with regards to the quality of the robes and towels are addressed and we will look to improve service throughout the departments and ensure further training for our new staff members are put in place.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daisy C wrote a review Oct 2022
Budapest, Hungary
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a disappointing stay.

Our room had very strange decor and the walls were dirty. I’m not sure why we had children elephant animal print wallpaper! The aircon unit was noisy and although they tried to fix it, it remained noisy all night.

Weirdly, there was no towel rail or hook anywhere in the room. This meant we had to leave our swimming stuff and all our towels in a pile in the bathroom. This was a shame.

The room was noisy and had thin walls. We were woken up by next door’s alarm. We also heard a very noisy couple very much ‘enjoying’ themselves in a nearby room.

The outdoor hot tub was in a lovely setting, but clearly someone needed to sweep the leaves from around it. The tub also had lots of hair in it.

The pool, however, was quite nice. The steam room was okay. The sauna was cold.

We had to pay £25pp to hire a robe (£8 cleaning fee, the rest of the deposit returned). I would say don’t bother. They were so small they barely wrapped around us and the sleeves came up to our elbows. They were also made up of a weird material that stuck to wet skin.

The service in the restaurant was good and the food was very tasty. However, a lot of food had an additional supplement required if you had booked the room with dinner included. This meant half the menu required additional payment. Also, veggie options were limited to one risotto for main and one courgette starter.

We booked on secret escapes hoping for a luxury, relaxing trip. It was everything but. We would not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlie W, Guest Services / Front Office at Guildford Manor
Responded 4 Nov 2022
Dear Daisy C, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your most recent stay. Please allow me to apologise for the setting of the room you stayed in, we have recently had new wallpaper in to replace that strip, so it is more in line with the rest of the décor in the room. Thank you for bringing up the comment about there being no where to hang up your wet swimming attire. We do have heated towel rails in our bedrooms, but I will investigate this further. I am glad that you enjoyed the outdoor Jacuzzi and the pool. I will speak with the Spa team regarding the comments about the cleanliness, I thank you for bringing this to our attention. I am glad to see that you found the service and the food good in the restaurant and will inform the chef of the lack of veggie food on the menu. If you do decide you’d like to stay again, we would love the opportunity to redeem ourselves. Please contact us directly.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
saz wrote a review Sept 2022
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A couples spa retreat was anything but enjoyed! The only saving grace was the hotel room which was clean and spacious. We stayed here for two nights. The first day started well, greeted by a ‘robotic’ receptionist- spa was operational, swimming pool was extremely cloudy, so with my partner being an operational manager at a spa, he advised that we shouldn’t go in. The evening meal was ok but not much to choose from, a very sparse menu. We decided off the back of this to ask about the a la carte menu, which was advertised online. We were told by reception the next day to enquire with the restaurant staff the next evening. The next day we attended breakfast, which was very good and had options for cooked or healthy. We visited the gym, which was ok if you only want a quick session, but don’t expect anything special! The inside jacuzzi was full of dirt floating around, again we left the pool as it was again cloudy. The sauna was cold and not operational, but remained open? Looks like no one checks this on a regular basis, the steam room smelt of ammonia. It would be interesting to see if any pool tests are conducted at site - for PH and chlorine levels. The outside jacuzzi was the best part of the spa experience. Do not hire towels or robes, they are of very poor quality and cost an arm and a leg to hire! I’d suggest bring your own! We attended the restaurant to enquire about our evening meal and if we could order from the a la carte advertised online. We were basically told that it would be the same menu as the night before, and that the a la carte menu did not exist and if we didn’t like what was on offer to go to the Italian down the road!! We decided to venture to a local pub which had by far a much better atmosphere than the dark dim restaurant where staff seemed very uninterested in their daily duties and making visitors feel welcome. The Italian, by the way, looks like a glass conservatory, never the less, we did not go there so can’t comment any further.

When we checked out, the robotic receptionist took our key and said bye! No questions of how was your stay everything ok? So we felt compelled not to say anything as we couldn’t wait to leave!

Such a shame, we had very high expectations of this venue, but unless staff and management change then it will remain very unatmospheric and bog standard. We will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graham E wrote a review Sept 2023
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked 2 nights Spa break. Requested one of their best rooms (Superior) as it was to be a surprise for my partner.
On arrival we were allocated room 19 and asked to pay £100 ‘deposit’ for robes and towels!
Room 19 was a very small room, hardly any cupboard space, a safe already locked and a windows that couldn’t be opened. The bed was a small double and only a blind against the window, which looked out over the public grounds (privacy meant pulling the blind down while dressing/undressing). There was a distinct smell of stale smoke in the room and the decor showed signs of requiring upgrading.

After complaining, we were moved to room 36 as being ‘one of our best’ suffice to say, it wasn’t much better!

Restaurant food was acceptable, but certain dishes (soup for instance) was packet or tinned… Drinks are very expensive- Diet Coke @ £4 a small bottle!

Overall our experience was poor, the property requires refurbishment in the majority of spaces. Banisters we’re filthy and sticky throughout!

Management need to take stock and sort it out!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian B, General Manager at Guildford Manor
Responded 29 Oct 2023
Dear Helicopter40t, Thank you for leaving us this 2-bubble review and although it is disheartening to read we will take the feedback onboard and act accordingly where needed. The £100.00 preauthorisation, £50.00 per person, is required as mentioned in all of our confirmations; this can be used towards food and drinks whilst at the hotel and anything that is not used is realised upon check out. I apologise for the way you feel about the room in which you stayed in, room 19, but we have tried to ensure all of our rooms are big enough to accommodate all of our guests. Our maintenance manager has looked at these windows and is unable to find any issue with them opening and closing; if you are to come and visit us again please do not hesitate to speak with our wonderful reception team who can get one of the team to attend the room. I am pleased to see that you found the restaurant food to be acceptable but I will pass the comments onto our head chef and his team; I can also assure that our soup is made fresh daily as I myself have seen them making it but your feedback regarding your taste of the soup has been taken onboard. Our soft drinks are priced at £3.00 each other than Original Coke, Diet Coke and Coke Zero however our Diet Coke is priced at £3.50 for a glass bottle and this is common in most place now unfortunately. Our hotel was only refurbished a few years ago but I will speak with our housekeeping manager regarding the comments you have made about the banisters. I do hope that you will come back in the near future and have a better stay with us. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
janx62 wrote a review Feb 2024
Southampton, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Receptionist if you are deaf you will not be able to lip read or hear her. I couldn’t understand here
I asked if they could arrange for a take out breakfast answer no.
The room white marks on the carpet. Chair in corner with loose legs no nets at windows so for privacy the blind had to be shut so no daylight in the room.
Restaurant staff unprofessional talking loudly to each other across the restaurant. The thought of bees round a honey pot comes to my mind with these two restaurant waiters nearly asking for ladies phone numbers.
Not listening to dietary needs I requested my steak med with NO black pepper what do ever they still put pepper on it and there was so much garlic it ruined the steak. I waited over 10 minutes from my when my main plate was taken to waiting for a dessert menu there was no water brought to my table where others had. In the end I went up to the bar and sternly spoke to both waiters and told them that I was not going to pay a 12% service charge regardless of what you ordered in there!
The spa got my towel off the receptionist who needs to speak up went to the spa found a lodger unrolled my towel which was a size of a postage stamp and not a very fluffy towel neither! The indoor pool area was nice and relaxing however the jacuzzi wasn’t working the outside area the tiles outside I found a disaster to walk on when wet all the way to the outside jacuzzi pool however an elderly gentleman go out of the pool grabbed to handrail to steady himself out of the pool the whole handrail moved back and forwards on it’s fixings obviously not been checked and also of poor design!
This trip was for me to have a break from travelling 100miles round trip a day to the construction site I am managing at the moment to relax before going to work the next morning. I found this place unhelpful
Not relaxing one bit ! If you want a girlie night where you want to get plastered with drink and have two waiter staff trying to collect phone numbers and be bees around the honey pot then this is for you! Most definitely not for anyone else
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid this place not relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guildford Manor Hotel, General Manager at Guildford Manor
Responded 12 Feb 2024
Dear janx62, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Providing exceptional service to our guests is one of our top priorities as such we will be looking into this further. All your feedback is valuable to us in improving our service, we hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards GMH Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mario f wrote a review Jul 2022
Inverness, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel Spa/Resort has been improved since our last visit back in 2015 but the staff should have been ditched along with the old decor. Staff were hard to find and management never on hand.

The hotel has been remodelled and looks very pleasing to the eye. It’s an old building so getting around is a bit difficult to navigate and having no lift doesn’t help. There is no slope to the entrance so isn’t disable friendly, this is also true for the spa and pools.

Rooms. The rooms are small side but are clean and comfortable and are supplied with ironing board, hair dryer and tea making facilities. The bathroom is modem and clean but the shower leaks.

Food. Bit of hit and miss. Last night risotto was more like soup and breakfast was cold, and missing items took a while to appear. Continental breakfast consisted of cereal and yogurt. Juice glasses were hard to reach and a way from the drink urns. Don’t ask about the scrabbled eggs, it looked more like porridge. Vegan breakfast seem to be charged at an additional cost of£15.

Staff. I actually feel sorry for them. They seem to be working hard. There doesn’t seem to be any management around and therefore they aren’t receiving any direction. Headless chickens come to mind.

Spa. Area for improvement. Good shower for the steam and sauna. Needs water bucket for the sauna which could be a little hotter. Also towels are provided at reception and you need a £1 coin for the locker. No notice anywhere, lucky there was a member of staff at hand to ask.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Using the spa; Go to reception to collect a towel and take a pound coin. Skip breakfast.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ellie wrote a review Oct 2022
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my friend visited for a birthday get away, after visiting many spas this one is not the best.
Check in is at 3pm, afternoon tea between 3-5. My friend was automatically booked a massage at 4pm, which meant it was a very rushed experience of getting there, eating and getting to the massage on time. I asked the receptionist about this but she said there’s nothing she could do. I just felt like this could be more organised so the customer has more of a relaxing experience. Afternoon tea was nice, shame it was rushed but overall was nice and peaceful.

The best bit of the whole experience was the massage from Alison and the outdoor vitality pool.
The indoor spa was not very nice, the hot tub was not to a hot enough temperature, the worst bit was the steam room, it had a very funny smell, I couldn’t quite work out what would make it smell so bad. The sauna and pool was nice though. Shame about the hot tub not being hot.

The bedroom was spacious but lacked cleanliness, the chairs were stained, sheets and towels had stains on, the bathroom was mucky with no hand soap??? Even after asking for hand soap, they gave me a tiny bar of soap, which to me isn’t very hygienic. I didn’t feel that the hotel was luxurious, the carpets stained throughout and just a dodgy atmosphere. Also every time you needed a fresh towel after a shower or spa use you had to walk to reception and trade them in..

In the pool area there was no fresh water or options to order drinks, we were told by others that you could order drinks etc to the vitality pool but no one ever came. We didn’t drink or eat at the restaurant as nothing seemed appetising on the menu so we went out into Guildford for dinner. But breakfast in the morning was lovely! We were up early so we could have breakfast and enjoy time in the vitality outdoor pool, which was so worth it!

Overall it was an okay stay, the views are lush as was the massage!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charlie W, Guest Services / Front Office at Guildford Manor
Responded 10 Oct 2022
Hello elliep556, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for bringing the issues regarding the Hot Tub and the Steam Room to our attention. I will pass this information on to the Spa Manager and get this issue resolved as soon as possible. We apologise that you felt rushed through the Afternoon Tea, it may be that we were limited with our treatment times for that day and the 16:00 slot was the only time we had available. I will also bring the comments about the cleanliness of the room to the attention of the housekeeping manager, we have a fairly new team in the housekeeping department and this will help us improve our service moving forward. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the vitality pool and that the massage with Alison has received high praise, I will forward these positive comments on to her. We hope you will return again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Aysha319 wrote a tip 10 Jun
Windsor, United Kingdom14 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Would recommend going during the week as weekends will most likely have weddings happening"
Read full review
Anna wrote a tip 8 Jun
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Prebook Spa treatments and bring earplugs for the Peacock!"
Read full review
sammyk wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is not a wellbeing hotel on a Saturday the staff told me when I arrived. IT's FULL ON IBIZA POOL PARTY if u wanted it or not 🤷‍♀️"
Read full review
Gayna B wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take a walk around the grounds, they are lovely."
Read full review
Louise E wrote a tip Apr 2024
7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware of the £7 robe hire charge that we wasn’t aware of & the £50pp security payment that you have to pay but is refunded to you after "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Guildford area.
PRICE RANGE
£69 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
manor house hotel guildford, manor house hotel and spa, manor hotel guildford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSurreyGuildford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GUILDFORD MANOR - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Guildford Manor
Which popular attractions are close to Guildford Manor?
Nearby attractions include Paradox Parlours - Guildford (2.9 miles), The Spike Heritage Centre (2.3 miles), and Guildford Castle (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Guildford Manor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Guildford Manor?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Guildford Manor?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Guildford Manor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Guildford Manor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fresco DeliKafessen, Raviz, and The Long Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Guildford Manor?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Guildford Manor offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Guildford Manor?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, Romanian, Hungarian, Georgian, Azerbaijani, and Farsi.
Are there any historical sites close to Guildford Manor?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Guildford Castle (3.0 miles), Hatchlands Park NT (1.8 miles), and Loseley Park (4.7 miles).
Is Guildford Manor accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Guildford HotelsGuildford Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GuildfordHotels near Guildford Manor
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire