We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

901 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 895: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked a suite, it was beautiful. It was immaculate, beautiful view, the staff were very attentive. I would definitely stay over again! Food was great, alcohol reasonably priced. It is slightly expensive to stay over but so worth the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorja F
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Jorja F Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel du Vin. It is pleasing to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and i am glad you got to experience one of our amazing suites: they truly are special. I will also pass on your kind...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was chosen for its Christmas Day menu and for a place where a family could meet up for the first time in 28 years to celebrate together. I am a wheelchair user so I booked a disabled room, which had plenty of room to manoeuvre. The bathroom had grab rails around the toilet area, but alas the lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Christine T
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Christine T Many thanks for taking the time to send us your detailed feedback following your stay with us over the festive period. Your feedback in regards to the room layout and practicality is of particular use as we are currently completing a review of disabled access rooms throughout the group so i do thank you for that. Whilst...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After six hours in the car it was wonderful to arrive at HdV in Newcastle at 11:30pm to be greeted with a warm friendly smile and a smooth simple check in. The entrance and lobby are as impressive as the staff friendly. Big open and warm with a sense of humour and a twist of French flair. My bedroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IFLovatt
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear IFLovatt Many thanks for sharing your excellent review following your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to read that all elements of your stay were a success and i do hope that we will become your home away from home when visiting the 'Toon'. I will take great pleasure in sharing your review with our fantastic team as...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a fun stay. The room we had was a bit different - with a mezzanine containing a free-standing rolltop bath overlooking the bed. It felt very luxurious bathing up there. Breakfast was delicious, with unusual offerings such as avocado toast with poached eggs and chilli salsa; chia seed pudding with almond milk and mango; and little bags of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoiAli
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear MoiAli Many thanks for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay with us at Hotel du Vin. It is pleasing to read that all elements of your stay were enjoyable, in particular our bedrooms and new breakfast offering. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel du Vin in the near future....

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had high expectations for this hotel, and while nothing was terrible - there was nothing impressive either. Highlights were the reception team on check in and the comfortable lounge where I could get some work done. The standard double room is unexceptional and it's position on the ground floor so close to outdoor seating meant I had to keep the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JCar28
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear JCar28 Many thanks for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay with us. It is regrettable that you found your standard double bedroom unsuitable, being located on the ground floor. Whilst i appreciate that it overlooks our courtyard, during winter months this is seldom used due to the inclement weather. Furthermore, for future reference, please...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Book up afternoon tea for my Wife & her Friend as they had , had bad experience at Browns In Newcastle they had the Champagne afternoon tea £40 for the two of them so good value they have both rave over it since got some brownie point but the photos they showed me were amazing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 774kevin
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear 774kevin Many thanks for taking the time to share your review following your recent afternoon tea with us. It is great to read that it was so well received and we are happy that you have won considerable brownie points! I would also highly recommend our fantastic Sunday Lunch - 4 course for £22.95 - for you next visit...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have previously stayed in sister hotel in Harrogate. This one is a converted industrial building but the corporate decor remains the same. Room had all the facilities you would expect when paying almost £300 per night. It was big enough not to be falling over each other and the bathroom was very big. As with the price of the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jan02ric02
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Jan02ric02 Many thanks for taking the time to share your review following your New Years Eve stay with us at Hotel du Vin. I am pleased that you are a loyal fan of the Hotel du Vin brand and it is great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our room rates that evening were reflective...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here again and the room this time was excellent - despite the heating not working !! The little radiators they provided were perfect replacements. No issues with the room at all and the one I had was circular and spacious and a great nights sleep. This time I ate in the bistro and the food and wine was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon E
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear DrinksfromWales Many thanks for taking the time to share your review following your second stay with us at Hotel du Vin Newcastle. It is excellent to read that your stay on this occasion was such a success and made memorable by attentive service and an excellent bedroom. Naturally we have investigated and rectified the issue with the heating, it...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night as part of a road trip. We arrived late on a Sunday night, even though we had the full address our satnav struggled a bit and we found ourselves driving over the Tyne Bridge before realising that this was the wrong direction. The hotel is located in the old HQ of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen M
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Karen M Many thanks for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay with us at Hotel du Vin. It is great to read that you had such a fantastic stay, made even more memorable by our attentive team. We really do have a group of superstars working at the hotel and i am pleased that...

Lenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is not near the town centre, but we thought that was ok as we could eat in the bistro. However, when we arrived we were told that the restaurant / bistro was closed to guests as they had an external party. Not a nice way to treat hotel guests. They said we could eat in the corridor bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul-in-Lenham
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Paul-in-Lenham Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. It is dissapointing to read that your stay was tarnished on this occassion largely due to the food and beverage facilities running at capacity that evening. With it being in the lead up to Christmas as with most quality restaurants; we do...

439 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (268)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (162)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
Standard Room (19)
Viewed
Suite (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,038 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,010 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,018 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Address: Allan House City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £84 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Hazel Grove, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't overlook the Ouseburn river, you can smell it in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles christinetK9183XM, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a split level room”
 of 5 bubbles MoiAli, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for the optional upgrade offered on email”
 of 5 bubbles DrinksfromWales, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for room with a view to see the tyne bridge, millenium bridge etc”
 of 5 bubbles 443tonir, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay overnight and cannot comment on bedrooms but dining room excellent”
 of 5 bubbles r0ckinr0bin50, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay