We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Traveller (425)
360
Panoramas (21)
Dining (91)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Property amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Quirky Hotels
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
79Somewhat walkable
Grade: 79 out of 100
21Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
14Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,188Reviews
630Photos
16Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 730
  • 305
  • 98
  • 37
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We recently stayed in a Standard room here, that was anything but Standard! Greeted with a warm and friendly Tyneside welcome, the room, bar service and food was faultless. Even though fully booked, service was speedy at both the bar for evening snacks (highly recommend the
Read more
Response from ChrisThompsonHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Kathryn, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent superb stay with us here at Hotel du Vin Newcastle. We really appreciate the kind comments and must agree the Croque Monsieur is definitely worth trying! We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes Chris Thompson General Manager
Read more
A lovely venue, with great customer service (Thank you Elliot) but I was very disappointed in the set 3 course menu, I ended up ordering things I knew I wouldn’t enjoy, and leaving most of it. However, for the less fussy customer, the food is beautifully prepared, and of high
Read more
Response from ChrisThompsonHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Tanya, Thank you for the feedback, it was great to read you loved the hotel and the service provided by Elliott! I’m sorry the set menu wasn’t to your taste, we do change this menu seasonally and due to change in April. I am pleased that this has not put you off returning and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Warm regards Chris Thompson General Manager
Read more
My party went to Hotel du Vin for an afternoon tea booked months in advance to be completely "nut free" as part of a hen weekend. However, upon our food arriving it soon became apparent (thankfully) that some of the baked goods contained nuts. The allergy sufferer, who was in
Read more
Response from ChrisThompsonHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Helen, Thank you for the feedback. We take allergen and dietary requests seriously and provide regular training to the team on allergens. We review each menu to ensure the team have the most up to date information to be able to advise our guests. I have tried to investigate this further with the team but we are unable to locate a booking so I would be grateful if you could contact me direct on chris.thompson@hotelduvin.com with your contact details so I can call to discuss your comments and investigate further with my team. Kind regards Chris Thompson General Manager
Read more
We stayed for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary in a deluxe room. The room was beautiful with everything you'd expect from the website. The roll top Bath and monsoon shower were lovely and the layout worked well as it was the first hotel we'd stayed in with an open bathroom.
Read more
Response from ChrisThompsonHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 2011NHirst, Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your anniversary. I was delighted to hear you had such a great experience enjoying your deluxe room and taking advantage of the great breakfast offering in our bistro. Newcastle is a great place to explore with an amazing food and drink scene so it’s graat you made use of our location to visit some of these places too. Best wishes Chris Thompson General Manager
Read more
+3
Had a great stay at this fabulous hotel situated in an up and coming trendy part of Newcastle. Easy walking distance to the Quayside, city centre and Ouseburn. We stayed in the Torres room which has stunning views of the Tyne and Millenium bridges. The staff in the hotel could
Read more
Response from ChrisThompsonHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Joanne, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent Friday night stay with us. Your comments are really appreciated and have been shared with the team. We are delighted you enjoyed your room and it’s wonderful views! We are sorry you couldn’t stay longer and hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards Chris Thompson General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementHotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Suite
Photo provided by managementHotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Meeting room
Photo provided by managementHotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Guest room
Photo provided by managementHotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Meeting room
Photo provided by managementHotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Guest room
PreviousNext
12345648
I would presume but not me
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi Dean, Thanks for the enquiry! We do have some rooms with there own terraces as opposed to balconies. If you call the hotel direct the team on reception would be able to give you the best information regarding the room types and rates for the dates you need. Hope to welcome you soon. Chris
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi Claire, Yes all of our deluxe rooms have the free standing baths! We look forward to welcoming you soon! Kind regards Chris
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi. Suggest you call the hotel on 0191 389 8628. The staff are very friendly and helpful
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234
"Do not trust this hotel if you have allergies."
"Check with hotel if you require a lift as one of the blocks only has stairs"
"The 3 rooms I've stayed in all face inwards into the courtyard, not sure if some of the other rooms have city and river views"
"Rooms nearest the river are great."
"lovely decked balcony vaulted ceiling view overlooked courtyard great to have a cup of tea outside in the morning sunshine."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$99 - US$208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel du vin and bistro newcastledu vin hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNewcastle upon Tyne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing