Hotel du Vin Newcastle
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel du Vin Newcastle

Traveller (1091)
Panorama of the Deluxe Room at the Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
360
Panoramas (21)
Room & Suite (397)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£105
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£105
No fees just great deals
£92
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 boutique hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Newcastle upon Tyne, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

While staying at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, visitors can check out Ouseburn Farm (0.2 mi) and The Tyne Bridge (0.7 mi), some of Newcastle upon Tyne's top attractions.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including 24 hour front desk, room service, and baggage storage. Guests of Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle are also welcome to enjoy a lounge, located on site. For travellers arriving by car, there is paid private parking available on-site.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the steakhouses, including Miller & Carter Steakhouse, Branches Jesmond, and Tomahawk Steakhouse, all of which are a short distance from Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle.

If you’re looking for something to do, The Quayside (0.5 mi), Victoria Tunnel (0.2 mi), and Newcastle Castle (0.8 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle.

Enjoy your stay in Newcastle upon Tyne!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Allan House City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 80 out of 100
80
Newcastle Airport
Durham Tees Valley Airport
32.3 mi
See all flights
1,908Review25Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,354
  • 352
  • 121
  • 50
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
lambownumber5 wrote a review Dec 2019
Sheffield, United Kingdom1,044 contribution265 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Despite staying away on a frequent basis I was pretty unfamiliar with this chain of hotels and was interested to see what they had to offer for the steep £120 a night during a busy period with relatively few other options in the city.

On arrival the first thing that was noticeable was the professionalism of the staff and the impressively illuminated central courtyard that the hotel is built around which is amazing by night and in the summer I'm sure, but not particularly functional in the depths of winter although there are fire pits to entice the hardiest of Geordies out.

Upon entering the room a few cursory inspections revealed that the hotel is run by the same chain as Malmaison. The rooms however are more traditional and have a French theme going on. I was staying in room labelled as Toques & Galoshes* which meant nothing to me thanks to me downing tools and going on strike in G.C.S.E French after being unfairly placed in one of the remedial setts full of lobotomised morons, vagabonds and the criminally insane. The room was traditionally furnished and boasted a decent amount of amenities such as a safe and coffee pod machine. The mini bar and snack shelf are an absolute temptation brimming with decadent options which will destroy you resolve and bank balance. The other touch I like is the inclusion of a small, complementary bottle of milk in the fridge which ensures you can make a half decent cuppa instead of that horrific UHT stuff. I'm not normally fussy on beds but I must say the mattress was noticeably firm and comfy and provided for a great nights sleep. This is likely to be the Campest/ least hetro-sexual comment I will ever make on here but the toiletries are all high quality and remaining loyal to the French theme, are supplied by L'Occitane.

Breakfast was decent (apart from the Avocado which I've subsequently and categorically decided that I'm not a fan of) and it was the first time I've enjoyed the mushrooms that accompany a hotel breakfast in a long time, I'm not sure what they did with them but they were good.

Finally location is a bit out of town (30 minute walk) and the area is work in progress but is being regenerated day by day and has it's own charms and interesting venues/ pubs if you search them out, such as they Tyne Bar & Free Trade Bar. Parking is handy at £10 a night an you can leave your car there during the day if you've got business to attend to in town.

*Boots & Coats: Thank god for Google
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrewshielredfern, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Newcastle
Responded 1 Jan 2020
Happy New Year. Thank you for your review. All our rooms are named after winery’s across the world. I believe you would have been staying in Torques et Clochers. I’m pleased overall you had a wonderful stay and hopefully we can welcome you back to the group soon. Regards Andy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ANDY K wrote a review Jan 2020
Mirfield, United Kingdom2,148 contributions657 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for the first time for 9 years recently and was pleased to stay that the hotel was as good as before. We arrived early but our room was ready and we were able to park up comfortably and the charge was £10 which is reasonable.
Our welcome at reception was good and we had upgraded to a superior room and was give Willi Opitz which was lovely room on two floors with the standalone bath and walk-in shower on the second floor.
The room was well appointed and the bed very comfortable and we enjoyed a good nights sleep.
We ate at the bistro but I will write a separate review on that as I do not wish to taint a review of a very good hotel stay.
We did not have breakfast as for the same money or less you can take a gentle stroll to the Quayside and find some excellent places such as Violets.
It is only a 20 minute stroll into the city and we like to location as it is quite but with plenty of good pubs and bars within easy walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrewshielredfern, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Newcastle
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Thank you for your review. Pleased the hotel is feel as good as before. Please email me directly if I can help with a bistro requests. andrew.shiel-redfern@hotelduvin.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bigjimBirmingham wrote a review Dec 2020
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom17 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here in August as we decided to travel around the UK rather than head abroad as we normally do. I have stayed here several times before, and have reviewed it in 2014, however with Covid 19 causing us all problems I am reviewing it again. As always with this hotel, everything from check in to check out was perfect. We arrived well before the check in time of 3pm and were greeted by Andy the GM, who informed us that our suite was not yet ready, but he would happily look after our luggage, while we went shopping. We returned at 1.30pm and were informed it was nearly ready, so we had a quick drink at the bar and were in our room at 1.50pm, to find it spotlessly clean and sanitised, there was a personalised instruction letter detailing actions that had been taken due to covid and advice what to do going forward. My wife had been nervous about using hotels during these troubling times, but she was completely at ease here. We had dinner out so I cannot comment on dinner in the hotel, but breakfast was exceptional, social distancing and a one way system in operation, obviously the continental buffet was not in use, but you just informed the waiter behind the counter what you wanted and it was brought to the table, where our order for cooked breakfast was then take. We stayed in other HDV during our trip, but none of them compared to the standard and organisation of breakfast here. We would like to thank Andy and all his team for a superb stay, it is the best Hotel in Newcastle by a country mile.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Suites are worth the extra money
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Shiel-Redfern, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Newcastle
Responded 28 Dec 2020
Good morning What a wonderful review. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review. I’m delighted we could help and made your stay a memorable one. Look forward to see you again. Andy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liberace wrote a review Sept 2020
United Kingdom190 contributions185 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve stayed at Hotel Du Vin properties before and really liked them. Sadly, the Newcastle property was a bit below par. On arrival I was asked if I’d had the call about the air con (I hadn’t). I now know it’s been broken for some time so no reason not to have reached me ahead of arrival. They gave me a 25% discount but it would’ve been nice to have a choice rather than waiting until I was in the reception.
It was made clear that no housekeeping would take place - due to Covid. Due to Covid, I had to book breakfast for both mornings in advance. Due to Covid, I had to scan a barcode to get a menu and collect my own tea, toast, cereal, etc and order cooked meal from my table. Due to Covid, you have to register every time you use the restaurant - even though they have your details because you’ve booked your meal in advance - due to Covid.
It struck me that no other hotels I’ve stayed at since lockdown was lifted have refused to provide housekeeping so this is a decision by this hotel chain. It means that your bed isn’t made, your towels aren’t refreshed, your tea/coffee not topped up. It saves them money. Just as it does having fewer waiting staff in the restaurant for breakfast. I’m wise to this now, and won’t support such companies that use Covid as a cover for lowering standards whilst claiming to be a cut above.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Shiel-Redfern, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Newcastle
Responded 10 Sept 2020
Thank you for your review... 1) Rooms are not done for stays less than three nights so you know nobody has been in your room so it’s your own private environment that’s not been accessed by anyone else. If you want you room serviced we will happily do this for you. 2) Breakfast is now a tray set up so guests are not sharing the buffet table and we are keeping the country table as Covid secure as possible as it’s being used by one staff member only presenting the food to you. 3) Track and trace is a legal requirement. We have external guests who use bistro and bar and as guests stay for multiple reasons we use track and trace every time you use an element of the hotel. This way we can pin point guests that need to be contacted that have stayed / dined or just had drinks. 4) Menus are now QR codes as this is the most hygienic and efficient way to do this. Single use paper menus are available if needed. I can assure you nothing we have done is about ‘saving money’. EVERYTHING We have done is about staff and customer safety. Regards Andy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SafariCal wrote a review Feb 2020
Newcastle, United Kingdom65 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked into the Thiery Lombard Suite for the evening and had booked dinner, bed and breakfast, planning to make the most of the Hotel and to have a romantic evening.

From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming and directed us to our room. When we entered it was everything we had hoped for, with twin roll top baths and twin drench showers, as well as a seating area with plasma tv and a larger than super Kingsize bed with another plasma tv. It was the perfect room to spend a romantic Valentines night in, just stunning. We enjoyed a bottle of champagne while we relaxed and got ready for dinner, the perfect start to our evening.

We went down to dinner early and had a pre-dinner glass of wine in the bar, in a secluded little alcove which was a great start to our evening. We then walked around the corner to the restaurant and were shown to our table by our waiter and met Louise, the duty manager, who is so lovely.

The restaurant staff couldn't have been more helpful and attentive. We ordered a lovely bottle of HdV Bordeaux and some water for the table while we were looking at the menu, and settled on the Liver parfait for starter followed by the Fillet steak.

While we were waiting for our starter, the gentleman on the table beside us had his starter delivered - Tiger Prawns, and we instantly wished we had ordered the prawns, as they looked amazing. Our Liver Parfait was really nice, but we will definitely order the tiger prawns next time.

The fillet steak however was fantastic, and cooked to perfection, we will definitely order it again. I don't know what they do to their tomatoes, but they are the tastiest, sweetest we'd ever had.

We didn't have any dessert as we were too full after the first two courses, but we enjoyed the rest of the wine and had a good chat with Louise, who's worked there for 7 years. She is a lovely chatty person and really made us feel welcome. The rest of the staff were fantastic as well and really made our evening special.

After dinner we decided to go back to our room and relax with a bottle of wine, giving us a chance to enjoy our fantastic room for the evening.

The bed was huge, so big that you can stretch out and hardly touch each other (not good lol), but was very comfortable. We had a great nights sleep.

We woke in the morning feeling so refreshed. The drench showers really woke us up before we got dressed and went down for breakfast, which was fantastic. A great selection of hot and cold breakfasts washed down with great tasting coffee and fresh juice. Once again the staff were great and service superb.

All in all we had a fantastic stay over Valentines Weekend, and would recommend the hotel to couples looking for a little bit of romance or luxury whilst staying in Newcastle.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The standard rooms look great, but the suites are just fantastic.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrewshielredfern, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Newcastle
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear SafariCal. What a lovely review. So nice you could take one of our suites for a special night in the hotel. I will make sure Louise and the F&B team know about your visit to the Bistro. Have a lovely week. Regards Andy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sunshine84 wrote a review Jul 2020
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at hotel du Vin Newcastle last weekend with my husband as it was on our list of things we wanted to do post lockdown. I had reservations about staying away, on what it would be like now and also if the experience would be impacted.

It was evident from checkin that the hotel had thought through how to make guests feel welcome but also safe. The hotel had all the steps in place including hand sanitising stations, screens and PPE for staff but even with all this it didn’t feel overwhelming or negatively impact the experience.

We had a drink and the general manager introduced himself and talked through some of the measures they had in the hotel but more importantly just made us feel at ease and that it was important to enjoy our night away! The room was spotless and we decided to book into the bistro in the evening. We both enjoyed steak and a lovely bottle of red!

All in all I wanted to thank the staff at the hotel, and the general manager for making our first night away post lockdown a positive experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Shiel-Redfern, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Newcastle
Responded 21 Jul 2020
Good afternoon. Thank you for a lovely review. I’m delighted you had a wonderful stay in the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards Andy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BLEH1 wrote a review Jul 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom11 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a deluxe room for my 10th wedding anniversary. I have stayed twice in the past and this hotel is a favourite of mine. I love the quirky building, the luxurious feel of the rooms and the friendly staff.
However a couple of issues on this visit.
Firstly the new Covid rules are excellent around the communal areas. Lots of hand sanitizing stations, excellent signage and staff wearing masks.
However the room clearly had NOT been cleaned. There was glitter all over the floor and roll top bath!!!! The bath also had black marks all over it, I suspect it was eye liner from the previous guest. There was dust on the bedside lamps and on the wardrobe, I would expect better from such a quality hotel, especially given the current pandemic.
In my room the bath was in the room, a lovely quirky touch I thought . I love the decor in the hotel with quality fixtures and fittings. When I’ve stayed in the past there has been complimentary Ren products in the bathroom which were a lovely little treat, however these have now been replaced with bottles that are fixed to the bathroom wall. This makes having a bath difficult due to it being in the corner of the bedroom ! I had to get a handful of shower gel from the bathroom and run back into the room to have a bath which isn’t ideal! I feel like this was a money saving idea which I wouldn’t expect in such a high quality hotel.
I think in the deluxe rooms with the bath being inside the room they should go back to the travel size shower gel. I know this may seem petty but the little luxurious touches are what makes hotel du vin so special.
I feel disappointed that what was my favourite hotel seems to have gone downhill a little and it kind of took the shine off my night away to celebrate my wedding anniversary.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Shiel-Redfern, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Newcastle
Responded 31 Jul 2020
Good morning If you care to contact me we can pick this up and discuss. Please ask for Andrew Shiel-Redfern in the hotel. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lyndsey Lou wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
2 nights in executive suite.

It was a nice break for us but for the money we paid we expected things to be a bit better and organised

Booking: we originally booked for 1 night but then decided to extend it to 2 nights. There wasn’t an option on our online confirmation to change the booking so we went back on the website and booked for the following night. I called the hotel the next day and they said they could see the 2 bookings and confirmed that it would be treated as one booking.

Arrived at the hotel. The receptionist confirmed the 2 nights, breakfast and late check out and we paid upon check in.

The following day after going for a walk we returned to the hotel and couldn’t get in our room. We had to go back to reception where they explained the key was only valid for 1 day and gave us a new one.

On the morning of check out we received a call from reception at 11:10 asking when we were leaving the room. I explained we had paid for late check out (12:00). He said he could not see that on the booking, so again we had to explain that we had extended our booking and had paid for it on check in. We were confused how we were told the 2 bookings had been combined, and paid for it all as one booking but it wasn’t being treated as one for keys and check out. Very annoying.

Food: room service menu stated All Day Menu - available Monday-Thursday, Friday - Saturday until 7pm. (We stayed on Monday and Tuesday night). Called up around 4pm to order room service. Was told they weren’t serving food until after 6 which is totally different to the menu times. In fairness to the person we called he called us back and did offer to make something for us, but when we told him what we wanted he said that part of our request wasn’t possible as they did not have it despite it being on the menu. We decided to just leave it and ordered a Deliveroo instead.

Breakfast was quite nice and delivered to our room very quickly. Unfortunately the breakfast tray with dirty dishes etc from our first morning stayed outside our door all day and was not collected until the early hours of Tuesday morning (around 4am as it woke us up).

Room:
Very nice. The twin roll top baths were lovely! A definite highlight to our trip

The towels weren’t changed while we were there and the bed wasn’t made during our stay. Something we would have expected to be done daily.

The room needs a bit more of a clean. We were surprised at the dust in the room, particularly the telephone which was dirty when you lifted the receiver.

The hairdryer needs replacing as it clearly overheats....the outside plastic on the hairdryer was warped and partially melted.

Overall we had a nice time but that was more down to our own plans and spending time relaxing; for £359 we expected things to be a bit better in terms of service, cleanliness etc. We have stayed in cheaper hotels and the rooms have been cleaner and service better. It’s a shame as it’s those little details that can make a big difference to someone’s stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Shiel-Redfern, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Newcastle
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Hello. If you want to contact me directly it would probably be easier. andrew.shiel-redfern@hotelduvin.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tizzy Salisbury wrote a review Sept 2020
Sunderland, United Kingdom15 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything about this hotel is sophisticated! Myself and my partner stayed on a Wednesday night just for a little getaway and we were not disappointed. Our room was magnificent, with a double shower and free standing bath - both with perfect hot water as soon as you turn on the tap. Our room was circular and focused around a huge bed which was fabulously comfortable and provided an excellent night sleep. The hotel is close enough to the quayside to walk however it rained heavily for our visit so we got an Uber for £4 which was ideal. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was delicious. We will definitely be returning again soon. 10/10
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Shiel-Redfern, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Newcastle
Responded 25 Sept 2020
Thank you for your review. You had a great room, It’s one of my favourites. Pleased you had a lovely little mid week escape. Thank you again and hopefully see you soon. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard I wrote a review Jan 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom6 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I recently spent a weekend in Newcastle and stayed at the Hotel du Vin. The hotel itself looks amazing and the staff greeting you at reception are welcoming and open, really making you feel at home.

We had a fabulous room, over looning the Tyne. Staff were very attentive and offered advice on what to do and where to go when guiding us to our room.

We ate twice in the hotel, breakfast and a dinner. The breakfast was brilliant, lots of variation for the two of us, and delicious. Dinner was even better, a superb menu and accompanying wine list which was presented by the knowledgeable staff.

We didnt want to leave and will be back as soon as we can!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrewshielredfern, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Newcastle
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Good morning Thank you for your review and your kind words. Delighted you had a lovely time with us and enjoyed all elements of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Andy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
naddie1 asked a question Feb 2022
Motherwell, United Kingdom382 contributions105 helpful votes
Is the o2 in walk distance for the hotel please. Thanks
Answer from scoobymc
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom76 contributions16 helpful votes
O2 Academy is around a half hour walk, quite pleasant if you go along the quayside then up Dean Street
Answer from Andrew
Ponteland, United Kingdom28 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi Katie The Suite is called Dominio de Valdipusa. Regards
Answer from Andrew
Ponteland, United Kingdom28 contributions6 helpful votes
Both our suites and our signature suite have two baths. Regards
Gordon White asked a question Mar 2021
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom1 contribution
Do the rooms have bt sports
Answer from Andrew
Ponteland, United Kingdom28 contributions6 helpful votes
Apologies only just seeing these. No rooms have Sky Sports but not BT. Regards
Shaun M wrote a tip 25 May
Hartlepool, United Kingdom105 contributions39 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Car park £15 per night!"
Read full review
Lois T wrote a tip 24 May
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Highly recommend the Shipyard room for a private event."
Read full review
J R wrote a tip 21 May
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom6 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not a lot of parking spaces "
Read full review
Madeleine R wrote a tip Apr 2024
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom59 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go if you’re looking for veggie or vegan options."
Read full review
Odyssey52084561132 wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early so you don't miss out!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newcastle upon Tyne area.
PRICE RANGE
£81 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel du vin and bistro newcastle, du vin hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearNewcastle upon Tyne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL DU VIN NEWCASTLE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel du Vin Newcastle
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel du Vin Newcastle?
Nearby attractions include Victoria Tunnel (0.01 miles), Gateshead Millenium Bridge (0.2 miles), and Ouseburn Farm (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel du Vin Newcastle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel du Vin Newcastle?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel du Vin Newcastle?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel du Vin Newcastle?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel du Vin Newcastle?
Conveniently located restaurants include Miso Newcastle, Cook House, and Kiln.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel du Vin Newcastle?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel du Vin Newcastle?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Victoria Tunnel (0.01 miles), Newcastle Cathedral (0.8 miles), and Quayside (0.5 miles).
Does Hotel du Vin Newcastle have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Hotel du Vin Newcastle accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Newcastle upon Tyne HotelsNewcastle upon Tyne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Newcastle upon TyneHotels near Hotel du Vin Newcastle
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire