We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,008 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 996: English reviews
Start your review of Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very clean rooms and hotel, staff was very pleasant, breakfast was really good, walking distance from the airport and the metro, even had cheep beer and a pool table not sure what more you need thanks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Dave W, Thanks for your positive feedback, we are so pleased the hotel met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future Kindest regards, Dean Routledge Operations Manager

kelso
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

enquired about booking 4 rooms in jan 2018 for a night before we fly and im disgusted its went up an extra £100,unbelieveable . I know inflation rises up a bit but not this much,its just awful. whats worse i was booking 4 rooms so no discount either .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KelsoPoppet
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

KelsoPoppet, Thanks for your feedback, we are very sorry that you were quoted a higher rate than usual. It may have been the rates for Jan 2018 have not been amended yet. I appreciate you calling me back after my private message and I am so pleased you were happy with the revised prices I offered. I look forward to...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is spacious, clean and tidy hotel at Newcastle Airport. It was a lovely place to be and offer value for money , most especially if you want to catch an early morning flight or need a rest rest after a long haul flight

 Report
Helpful?
Thank princeiseoluwa
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear princeiseoluwa, Thanks for your comments, we are so pleased the hotel met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you soon Kind regards, Dean Routledge Operations Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for the evening on business and the hotel needs a good renovation. The rooms are old and the hotel itself is dated and in desperate need of repair and some TLC. The hotel itself is alright especially if your staying for a flight, but please don't expect a lot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greenplane
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear greenplane, Thanks for your feedback, we do appreciate your comments and use feedback to assist with future changes. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Dean Routledge Operations Manager

Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean with comfortable beds. Good deal on three course dinner. Plumbing in need of refurbishment but on the whole serves the purpose for an overnight stay. Short walk to airport and reasonable rates for car parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margot M
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Margot M, Thank you for your comments, we appreciate the time taken and look forward to welcoming you again soon Kind regards, Dean Routledge Operations Manager

Cleator, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

this is one of the best britannia hotels wehave stayed in,not only are the staff polite and efficient,they tend to your every needs, the hotel is very clean and the food is well prepared, it is hard to find fault with this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickles118
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear mickles118, Thank you for your lovely comments, these will be passed onto the team We look forward to welcoming you again soon Kind regards, Dean Routledge Operations Manager

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

we stayed here Saturday overnight. stayed here before would never use if it wasnt convenient for airport. staff behind bar as usual good. Breakfast next morning. it was freezing. the food was cold and microwaved. However, when a large party left the girls began to clean the tables. i couldnt believe my eyes. they were pouring the left over milk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Martin C, Thank you for your comments, we appreciate being contacted and informed however, the duty manager wasn't informed at the time as he or she could have taken action immediately. I can assure you as stated in my reply this isn't indicative of our service or part of our standards. I have received contact from Environmental health following...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed there from Saturday to Sunday, the room was for GBP65, which is a bit pricey for this "quality". Room was clean, bed comfortable and I appreciate bath in the bathroom! Nevertheless, TV was terrible - around 10 channels and really poor quality (even can't watch it). Big advantage of this hotel is its location, which is really near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 93kv
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear 93kv, Thanks for your feedback, we are sorry you had issues with your TV. All bedrooms now have freeview channels too, should there be issues with service a member of the team will be happy to look into and resolve this upon reporting. We endeavour to respond quickly to all emails and I haven't received a customer service email...

Lake District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived at the hotel and after parking towards the back struggled to find the front door. There were no signs to help guide you in the dark. Check in was quick and we made our way to our room. As we opened the hotel room door there was a very funny smell but on first inspection the room seemed clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cara A
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear Cara A, Thanks for your feedback, we are so sorry you had issues whilst at the hotel, as you can appreciate maintenance issues do occur from time to time and our team will endeavour to make sure another room is sought quickly, then our maintenance team can carry out any necessary works. Once again please accept my sincere apologies,...

Durham
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here 14th January with onsite parking. Paid £10 each for a meal pre booked. Checked in and reception was freezing. Room dated but ok. Shower at 5.30 at night barely warm. Went for the meal. I can only describe it as school dinners. Garlic mushroom starter microwaved mushrooms in some barely warm milky fluid. The restaurant had no heating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mandyegg2k
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review

Dear mandyegg2k, We are so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, your comments have been discussed with the management team so action can be taken to avoid this happening again. Please accept our sincere apologies Kind regards, Dean Routledge Operations Manager

194 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (158)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2.8 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#33 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
790 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel
BEST WESTERN Gibside Hotel
#35 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Newcastle Airport Hotel is situated next to Newcastle International Airport and is within easy walking distance of the terminal, only 7 miles from Newcastle City Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

Address: | Ponteland, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £32 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“busy hotel book early”
 of 5 bubbles mickles118, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles caraa838, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the hotel. Sleep on the runway for less noise.”
 of 5 bubbles mandyegg2k, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles philr395, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on the ground floor and slept with the window open (facing the car park) but all was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles nang123, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5