We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (610)
Room & Suite (233)
Dining (84)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
River View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
199Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
79Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2,540Reviews
809Photos
16Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,128
  • 730
  • 338
  • 183
  • 161
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We booked a night at the Vermont because it looked beautiful on the website and some of my family members also booked for the same night, when we arrived we couldn’t park because the car park was full a few Vermont branded cars taking up much needed spaces, check in was fine
Read more
Response from Vermonthotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Vermont Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review and candid feedback which we appreciate, and we apologise if you have not enjoyed your time with is this is not something we hear often. The restaurant seats 70 at a time and yes breakfast can get extremely busy 9am onwards on a weekend, so reception are right to advise of this so you know that there may be a wait for a table as busy times. Any issues with the room reported at the time would have been dealt with immediately for you, if we could not rectify them we would have change rooms for you. The team have been into the room you stayed in and rectified any issues they have found. We have daily checks on rooms by the team but sometimes things do get missed. I have to disagree with comments relating to cleanliness. This is something that we pride ourselves on, and proven recently through the AA inspection which was passed with no issues at all. If there was anything like you described in your room, then we would have appreciated being made aware of it there and then. Thank you once again and we do apologise if you feel you have been let down by us. We would love the opportunity to rectify this and show you what are regular customers love. If you would consider returning then please contact us directly and we can ensure you are looked after. Kind regards
Read more
Stayed for one night which was probably more than enough. We were sitting in our room on the evening and the door opens! the security latch was on so the door only opened a bit. The misses wasn't happy from the conversation we heard on the other side of the door they were
Read more
Response from Vermonthotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Vermont Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review which we are disappointed to read, apologises that you have been disappointed during your stay, as we did feel this matter was dealt with on check out. The Deputy General Manager explained what had happened during your stay and removed all your mini bar items from your bill as a gesture. A further gesture on a future stay was made also which you seemed satisfied with at the time of departure. Apologies once again and we do hope that you will return as offered.
Read more
We stayed here om 9th feb, first time visiting Newcastle and it definately didnt disappoint! However, after seeing the pictures of the hotel on booking.com, i expected a luxurious bedroom with a fancy bathroom, when really all we had was just as basic as a travelodge. The room
Read more
Response from Vermonthotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Vermont Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. Apologies if you felt let down by the room. The rooms do vary in shape and size and due to being in the City centre, views can be limited. Robes are offered in the suites but not in the standard rooms. I will pass on your comments to the concierge team that is great to hear they helped you out during your stay. We do hope that you would consider using us again in the future and please contact us directly and we can ensure that you are very well looked after. Apologies and thank you once again.
Read more
after a 7 hour drive from southampton,was told the restuarant was pre booked 1 week ahead and was full,no room for guest.....the room was cold and in poor repair...i was raving how nice the place was from the pictures on the web ....there was a hole in the bottom of bathroom
Read more
Response from Vermonthotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Vermont Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review and our sincere apologies that you feel you have been let down on this occasion. You stayed over Valentines weekend and the restaurant was fully booked all weekend. We offered everyone that asked us a time slot, granted this may not have fitted your request, and we also offered everyone the chance to eat in the lounge or bar. I am sorry if this was not acceptable to you. Regarding any maintenance issues in the room, if these were brought to our attention we would have dealt with them immediately for you, or changed your room if we could not rectify. The team have now been into the room and dealt with these things. We pride ourselves on good service and ensuring everyone has a comfortable stay and we have clearly failed on this occasion, so again our sincere apologies. We would love for you to return and give us the opportunity to show you what our regular guests have come to love us for. Should you wish to consider this in the future please contact us directly and we will ensure that you are looked after. Thank you again and kind regards.
Read more
We stayed over for one night and this hotel was excellent. The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble, the room was very comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. This was our first trip to Newcastle and after our stay over it won't be our last and we will
Read more
Response from Vermonthotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Vermont Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to Newcastle, and your first of many stays with us, we hope. Your feedback will be past onto all the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Vermont Hotel
The Standard Room at The Vermont Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Vermont Hotel
The Double Bedroom at The Vermont Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Vermont Hotel
The Double Room at The Vermont Hotel
Photo provided by managementThe Vermont Hotel
Executive Castle Suite - Bedroom
Photo provided by managementThe Vermont Hotel
View from The Vermont Hotel
PreviousNext
12345647
I'm sure there is or very easily supplied
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes every room has one in
1 vote
Show all answers
Yes there are!
1 vote
Show all answers
Evening meal or dinner is served from 18.00u GMT.
1 vote
no
0 votes
PreviousNext
1234
"Ask for a room where noise from the Livello bar cannot be heard if you are not a night owl!"
"Get a room away from Livello bar."
"Corner River Suite has dual aspect."
"If you book direct make sure it goes down in writing what sort of room you want"
"try another hotel"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$87 - US$176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
vermont hotel newcastle upon tynevermont newcastle upon tyne
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNewcastle upon Tyne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing