We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

County Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
County Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

922 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 901: English reviews
Start your review of County Hotel
 Click to rate
Stockton-on-Tees
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed at the County Hotel whilst in Newcastle to see Cirque du Soleil. The hotel is located right in the centre opposite the train station, so is perfect for the bars and restaurants in the local area. Upon arrival, the hotel looks grand when you walk through the door. At only £80 for the night, we thought we had hit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markmichaela
cardiff, Wales
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Have just spent a lovely weekend here. Location is great for shops, bars and restaurants. Also very easy to get to by train, metro or taxi. The room was very comfortable and clean. Slept really well. Breakfast was excellent. A great selection of freshly cooked food and very friendly, helpful staff. Would recommend a stay here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bous129
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to stay. Opposite the railway station. Easy walk to Grey Street, bars and restaurants. Very comfortable though small room. Quick to check in and out. Will definitely use again. Did not have breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruth k
Anna W, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ruth K, Thank you very much for your kind review. I hope on your next visit you choose to have breakfast with us as well so we can impress you more throughout your stay. Kind Regards, Anna Wadcock

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good value but bedrooms desperately tired. Floors creak so you can hear comings and goings from room above. Staff all very nice and friendly. Breakfast is very good. And banquet dinner was enjoyable too. When bar is busy more staff needed especially as that's where your espresso machine is. Hate queuing for drinks in a hotel especially as hotels should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neilpimpernel57
Anna W, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Neilpimpernel57, Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our bar is on our refurbish list to do this year. Once it has been expanded then we will be able to have more staff to allow better and swifter service. Table service is available during the day and evening, so I will look...

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Central location. Easy access to the majority of key city points. Well connected with metro, buss and trains. Good breakfast. Perfect service. Average room standard. A little bit old fashion of the furniture and bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomaszzabkalenar2017
Anna W, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Tomaszzabkalenar2017, Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for that lovely piece of feedback regarding our staff. Our rooms are due a refurbishment this year as part of the new company's renovations. I hope you will come back and visit us again. Kind Regards, Anna...

Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just had a two night stay not what I was hoping for . No fridge in rooms terrible parking Would be a good place to stay if catching a train . Lifts were tiny and the slowest Iv come across anywhere . Floors were squeaky Breakfast was good Not somewhere I would stay again . Seems a bit of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne L
Anna W, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Leanne L, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion. We do not have fridges in the bedrooms, but should you want one, you can contact reception either when you are here or prior to your stay to request one. Our carpark holds 19 vehicles and is often filled...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed two nights. Large comfy bed and quiet room. Staff pleasant and Saturday night meal tasty with competent waiting on staff. The conference room heating was a little hit and miss but acceptable for the duration of the weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyCoe1960
Anna W, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Andycoe1960, Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found us warm and comfortable. I do apologise about the heating in the meeting rooms. Our porter, Joe, is always happy to assist with any issues in these rooms. I hope you will join us on your next stay, Kind Regards, Anna...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival we were allocated a 'small double' which was a bit too small. The very helpful receptionist found us another more suitable room. The room and the bathroom were a bit dated but exceptionally clean and comfortable. The staff at the hotel were all very efficient and also very welcoming. The breakfast was superb, again restaurant staff were excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
Anna W, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jan T, Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were able to find you an alternative room. We will always be as accommodating as possible where we can. It was a pleasure to have you during your stay, you are most welcome, and thank you for...

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were going into the city for dinner when we suddenly decided to have a sleep-over! We were both off work the next day so why not? There was a listing on Booking.com but we decided to call the hotel direct and see what they had on offer; we ended up with a fabulous room overlooking the Central Station. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MorpethBabs
Anna W, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Hi MorpethBabs, Thank you so much for such a lovely review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, and that you were able to take full advantage of all we had to offer. I look forward to your next visit to the city, and your next impromptu sleepover! Kind Regards, Anna Wadcock

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel and really close to the station too! The staff were really friendly- something which you don't often get in hotels (and when you do, it doesn't always feel genuine). The room I was in was quite small, large enough for me though! Everything worked, tea, coffee and toiletries were replenished. Good wifi! I was able to stream Netflix...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vickilicks
Anna W, General Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Vickilicks, Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. With regards to your evening meal, I do apologise if it was not to your liking. If you would like to supply me with some more details I can certainly look into this for you. Kind Regards, Anna Wadcock

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,714 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#19 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located across from Grand Central Station, the County Hotel is perfect for shopping, sporting and cultural events, and visiting the world-famous Hadrian's Wall. A magnificent Grade II Listed Victorian, the hotel is the ideal base for shopping, concerts and other cultural events, with attractions from Roman remains to the legendary St James' Park within a short drive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about County Hotel

Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DF, England (Formerly Mercure Newcastle County Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £52 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — County Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel, Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
County Hotel By Thistle Newcastle
County Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from County Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from County Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High floor less noise”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for Centra Station view”
 of 5 bubbles MorpethBabs, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“5th floor lovely and peaceful, and all floor accessible by lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles susanhG646ZB, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“5th floor :-)”
 of 5 bubbles 360eddieg, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask the staff what you want, they will give the right answer”
 of 5 bubbles brianrowe33, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5