We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,569 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,505: English reviews
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The old style exposed beams of this historic building allow the visitor a glimpse into the England of the Bard. While lacking in the comfort of more modern buildings, the hotel offers the full range of services in quaint surroundings. Great add on to a visit to Shakespeare's birthplace.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesleighbryanbalwin
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lesleighbryanbalwin Thank you very much for your comments - we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes James Lys

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We like Stratford Upon Avon and chose this hotel for the central location. The hotel looks lovely from the outside but we were so disappointed with the interior. Our bedroom was tiny and the walls paper thin we could hear everything from the neighbouring room. They were talking loudly well after midnight not to mention clanging of hangers in wardrobe...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dolvers
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dolvers Thank you for your review and I am very sorry you were so disappointed with your bedroom and our efforts to rectify the situation whilst you were staying. I would appreciate learning more information about your hotel experience - perhaps you could email me directly on h6630-gm@accor.com. Thank you for your kind attention in this matter. Yours sincerely...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

DIGUSTING CUSTOMER SERVICE - THE WORST, AVOID THIS PLACE. - You should be ashamed of yourselves, will formally complain to all certifying bodies relevant here, utterly disgraceful behaviour and that includes your "refused to be named reception clerk".

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glen C
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Glen C I am sorry we were unable to amend your reservation which, as we explained, had conditions attached to it as it was booked at a special price. Happily I note that you have been able to change your arrangements and are now able to come and stay with us on the date originally booked, and I look...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel, central and comfortable. Food really good, excellent breakfast. Our room was 128, and would recommend it, very spacious, looked out over a lovely garden also very quiet. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas, and staff very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John C Thank you for your comments - really appreciated and I hope you both return soon. Have a great Christmas! Regards James Lys

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

The claim that drinks and canapés were provided with the special package was misleading: only 1 drink per head was available for our 4 night stay. Canapés turned out to be only 2 mouthfuls, and had to be ordered. The bar area closed at 1830! The reception and public area and furniture were dusty. As was the stairwell... During our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which was obviously of concern and I am very sorry you were both so disappointed with your hotel experience. I can confirm that I was indeed on holiday when you stayed, nevertheless this should have not impacted at all on your enjoyment at the hotel. I have written to you under separate cover and await...

Swindon
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was the quietest hotel that I have ever had the pleasure of staying in! We were at the end of a corridor in room 312 right at the back, so well away from any banging doors, lifts, or roads. It was warm, clean and comfortable, exactly what we needed. It even had a mini fridge. The only down side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WirleySwindon
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WirleySwindon Thank you for your positive review and good to know 312 is so quiet! Sorry to hear your experience in Marco's wasn't up to normal standard - I'll pass on your feedback - but glad you enjoyed your breakfast! Look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes James Lys

Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a Privilege Double Room in the main building, the carpet was filthy and the surround of the shower door thick with grime, didn't feel very privileged! We have stayed at this hotel a few times over the years and each time it seems to have gone a little more downhill but this year the staff really made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank acarole1945
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear acarole1945 Very sorry to learn of your accident and the poor experience at the hotel. Reading your comments your stay was sometime in June or July - as I was not working at the hotel at the time I would be obliged if you could email me your stay details on h6630-gm@accor.com. I will certainly look into the matter...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for our Anniversary. Loved it. We had a BIG comfy bed. New big bathroom. Tastefully decorated. Loved the creaky and sloping falls. Never saw any ghosts, but glancing at the picture of Elisabeth the 1st in our room, she gave me a regal nod! Location: perfect! In the centre of Stratford upon Avon. An abundunce of beautiful pubs,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weedzz
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Weedzz Thank you for your review - loved the regal nod! Elisabeth looks forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes James Lys

Leicestershire
Reviewed 1 week ago

Things are slowly moving in the right direction. We called in for afternoon tea on a chilly November Sunday. The Quill bar had reopened (see earlier review) and the giant picture of Marco removed from reception and rightly replaced with one of the Bard (see earlier review). But, out of the four fires only one was lit and the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bristol-City-Peter
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bristol-City-Peter Thanks you for your comments and am happy to report that as I write 4 fires are on in the hotel, afternoon teas are being served and the service remains great! Come back and see for yourself again soon! Kind regards James Lys

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well appointed hotel. Lovely old building and with all usual expected facilities of a town centre 4 star hotel. Our room was spacious and comfortable but was across the car park in "The Garrick Building". No offer of assistance with our bags. If you struggle with stairs don't accept a room in this annex, there's no lift! Also, it's not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R#0Pjb8 W
James L, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear R#0Pjb8 W Thank you for you kind comments about the hotel and bedroom. I am sorry you were not offered assistance with your bags, this is usually standard procedure. I hope that despite this issue you'll be returning to us soon. Kid regards James Lys

367 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (348)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (107)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (133)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,926 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £65 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 128 very quiet and comfortable bed.”
 of 5 bubbles W4410HDjohnc, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 312 was up in the attic but there was a lift. About as far away as you could get from the front which meant it was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles WirleySwindon, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“don't bother with the breakfast, save your money and eat at any of the excellent cafes in the area”
 of 5 bubbles acarole1945, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask about the room features before you book”
 of 5 bubbles jeffj352, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had Privilege”
 of 5 bubbles FairlightW, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay