We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adelphi Guest House

Traveller (188)
Room & Suite (80)
Dining (41)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
You will be warmly welcomed by owners Sue and Simon who aim to make your stay a friendly, comfortable home from home experience. The award winning breakfasts, made from quality, locally sourced produce prove very popular as do the home baked cakes. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in period style, reflecting the age of the property and the bedding is pure cotton of the finest quality. Great attention is given to detail, offering that little something different. We are situated opposite the lovely Fir Gardens and are only a few minutes walk from town centre shopping, Shakespeare's Birthplace, The Royal Shakespeare, Swan, and Courtyard Theatres. Anne Hathaway's cottage is also within walking distance of the house.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
99Great for walkers
Grade: 99 out of 100
79Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
40Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
559Reviews
220Photos
1Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 515
  • 37
  • 4
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had the warmest of welcomes with tea and cake (I highly recommend the Congleton ginger bread). The rooms are super cozy, comfortable and clean. My only complaint was that I only stayed for one night.
Read more
Well located for all the must see places in Stratford upon Avon. Within walking distance of Shakespear's birthplace, The RSC theatres, Trinity church, and Anne Hathaway's cottage. Our ground floor room was spacious and very cosy and our hosts went the extra mile to make our
Read more
Response from Sue C, Owner at Adelphi Guest House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you . We agree the Location of the Adelphi is ideal for exploring Stratford and close to the centre. It is nice to know you were comfortable in the ground floor room. In the summer the patio is very popular and a great sun trap. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and also the sweet treats in the hall. We hop you return soon. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Read more
Stayed at the Adelphi Guest House with our Sister and Brother-in-Law a few weeks ago on their recommendation-they've stayed at the Adelphi before. So glad we did! Simon and Sue are such gracious hosts, they think of every detail, make you feel very welcome and well looked
Read more
Response from Sue C, Owner at Adelphi Guest House
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you. What a compliment that we win hands down on a chain Hotel and we will be seeing you again. We love sharing our house with guest and it is a pleasure when the decorations are admired. We glad you felt looked after . Best wishes Simon and Sue
Read more
To cut down on travelling, we decided to visit the RSC Theatre to see two plays in one day , have dinner and stop overnight. We were recommended to stay at the Adelphi and what a good recommendation it was. We arrived mid morning, were warmly welcomed by hour hosts - Sue and
Read more
Response from sue C, Owner at Adelphi Guest House
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for this review. We are glad the Adelphi lived up to your expectations having been recommended by friends. It is always nice to know guests have slept well and enjoyed breakfast . We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit the RSC. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Read more
We stayed at the Adelphi Guest House just after Christmas in 2016 (sorry for the very late review). The rooms were lovely and Simon and Sue were simply delightful hosts with many excellent suggestions about things to do in the area. We will look to their house first as a place
Read more
Response from Adelphi G, Owner at Adelphi Guest House
Responded 4 Dec 2018
Thank you . Please don't apologies for the review. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes Simon and Sue
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
The 'Rococo' Room
Room 1
Coffee and tea facilities. Sweets and biscuits provided. Great.
Nice rustic feel to the bed room
Nice touches in the bathroom - 2 hot water bottles for winter time
PreviousNext
12345616
This has just come through. I hope you have my reply from the website. Which is I have a double room with en suite at £90 per night. The cost includes breakfast, of which there is a vast choice (please see our website for the menu), luxury toiletries, free Wifi broadband access and a radio alarm clock equipped with an ipod dock. The centre of town with all the historic attractions, shops, restaurants and bars is just a few minutes walk from the house as are the Royal Shakespeare and Swan Theatres. We are also a short 5 – 8 minute walk from the train station. If you would like to proceed with a booking, please supply your mobile telephone number if available, and the following Debit or Credit card details:- the sixteen digit card number, the card expiry date and the three digit security code on the reverse of the card. No charge will be made to the card until the end of your stay here. Payment by debit card will not incur any additional charge but payment by credit card will attract an additional 2% bank charge. Alternatively you may pay by cash. Please also advise us of your approximate arrival time and whether you need a car parking space. We endeavour to have the rooms ready for 11.30am if an early check-in is required. Kind Regards, Sue Please note - Cancellation Policy on Website Adelphi Guest House 39 Grove Road Stratford upon Avon CV37 6PB 01789 204469 01789 777296
1 vote
Show all answers
"There is an equally good bedroom with a double bd on the ground floor"
"No 6. is on the top floor very private and comfortable."
"We enjoyed the garden room and liked having the courtyard space, but you could hear when others got up as was next to the breakfast room."
"We've stayed in Room 1 with its mini courtyard twice. A good place for an evening drink under the stars."
"Room 1 a bit noisy, room 2 lovely."
PreviousNext
12345620
ALSO KNOWN AS
adelphi guest house hotel stratford-upon-avon
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kawartha House
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandStratford-upon-Avon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing