We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Great Barr Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Great Barr Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 319: English reviews
Start your review of Great Barr Hotel
 Click to rate
West Midlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked the Motown Tribute night and attended with family. A great night, tribute act was good and DJ afterwards was good too. We had the three course meal, which we pre-ordered. Food was good too and plenty of it, the only complaint would be the veg could do with being cooked for a few minutes longer (but that's a personal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeanne R
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments, both myself and all of the staff concerned are delighted that you enjoyed your evening, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Mark.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were most disappointed with the service provided. We had booked party planners to decorate the room and provide chair covers and sashes. We arrived on the morning of the event to dress the room to it being laid out completely different to how we had agreed. The chairs provided were like armchairs and far too heavy for an 80th...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julshayes
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments and both myself and the staff are disappointed that on this occasion there were a number of failings with regards to the execution of your event. In hindsight I feel there were issues with how your requirements were noted with regards to chair covers etc as we would have used the banqueting chairs if the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Please do make the effort to stay at this hotel it's really lovely I'm a business traveller, mostly travelling alone and, as a woman, I need to feel safe. This hotel makes me feel just that. The car park is well lit as is reception and check in is fast and friendly. Rooms are very reasonable indeed, you get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your kind comments, both myself and all of the staff here look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Obviously I will pass on all of your comments to the staff concerned. Many thanks, Mark.

Birmingham
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited to celebrate a family birthday on one of their tribute nights and stayed over. The food was pretty good, considering it wan't too expensive. I had salmon for starters and then a chicken pie. Both were quite tasty. The entertainment was also good and fun. The downside is that as a group of 11 we were sat in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bevandjasper
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, both myself and the staff are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the evening to be good value, I will apologise for the position of your table in the room, however the logistics of fitting the tables of varying sizes into a limited space can be a tricky one, I will say that...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this through booking.com, first off the good Breakfast is excellent, better than Premier Inn, who I think are about the best of the budget chain hotels in that regard. The staff were all excellen, helpful and happy to see you. Now the bad I booked a "Superior" single room, the picture on the website has leather sofas, a writing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven r
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your comments, we appreciate your feedback. Apologies for the confusion over your room I will check the details on our site as none of the single rooms have a sofa, they are as you stated. However I will apologise for the state of your room, the musty smell is not a normal one so this will...

WEST MIDS
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A large group of us gathered at the GBH to celebrate a birthday. Our experience overall was very positive; front desk staff were very pleasant and efficient despite a little confusion which was dealt with very well. There is a large carpark so no parking issues. Our rooms were perfectly adequate for a short stay (bathrooms have basic shower wash...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PODGE19
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your comments, both myself and the staff are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. I am concerned that you found there to be no shampoo etc as these are available in the rooms, there are dispensers fixed to the walls in the bathrooms. I...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Myself and my partner stopped at the Great Barr hotel in October 2016 . We didn't book through the hotel directly and managed to get a great price, for what we thought look quite luxurious . There was ample parking and the reception was easy to locate and access . Which is a bonus if you have many bags which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle T
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your comments, both myself and all of the staff here at the hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Regards, Mark.

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Went to a retirement party around 20 of us. It was a Abba tribute. The room was packed and it seemed somewhat overcrowded hardly room to move freely between chairs and tables. Starter I ordered salmon which was lovely. Mains I ordered pork which came with potatoes and veg. The pork was over cooked and extremely dry. The potatoes were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon L
Mark A, General Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Many thanks for posting your comments and highlighting your concerns to me. Obviously I was aware of these issues prior to your comments, as I did do what I could on the evening with regards to the guests that you mentioned in your review, however as I am sure you can appreciate it is a fine line in...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

I held my 40th Party here Jan 2017, What a great evening the food was amazing a vast improvement on previous parties I have attended. The staff working were great from the Bar staff to the restaurant staff wow yet again great, polite and on the ball, nothing was too much trouble. The refurbished bar looks the bees knees welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank webb77
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your comments, both myself and the staff are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday party here at the hotel. Pleased that the rum punch was a hit also. We look forward to seeing you again at the hotel soon. Regards, Mark.

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Didn't read any reviews prior to booking, perhaps best I didn't, because I personally had no major problems with the hotel. My room was clean. Best thing about the place - the absolutely outstanding breakfast, one of the best Full Englishes I've ever had, not only compares to other 3 star hotels but even better than some 4 I've been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theo N
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, both myself and the staff are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast also and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in this area. Regards, Mark.

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Park Hotel
#94 of 116 in Birmingham
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#56 of 116 in Birmingham
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Address: Newton Road Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: £55 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great Barr Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
cardiff
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Great Barr Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“WIFI in all rooms - the code is on your checking in slip!”
 of 5 bubbles JennyT775, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Accessibility if you can't do stairs”
 of 5 bubbles bevandjasper, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“avoid the single rooms if possible”
 of 5 bubbles stevenrM2256MP, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“look round for deals on the internet”
 of 5 bubbles 331daniellet, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a room that was subject of flooding earlier they have a better finish”
 of 5 bubbles Soothsayerman, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5