We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Plough and Harrow Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Plough and Harrow Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

703 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 699: English reviews
Start your review of Plough and Harrow Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a lovely day celebrating the wedding of two friends. The whole day was seamless and all the staff were so friendly and welcoming. Came down for breakfast in the morning very tired and Paulette & Rose could not have been a better start to the day. So accommodating, friendly and just genuinely lovely people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph S
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Really pleased you had a nice time and will pass your comments on to the team

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great night with some fantastic actors who kept in character throughout the event. Enjoyable three course meal - plenty of good quality food. Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Stayed over in a comfortable room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much and hope to see you at some of our other events throughout the year

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Daughter/son law went with voucher I bought. They were not impressed. Food poor. Surroundings shabby. Staff were not that helpful. Didn' stay long. Needs complete refurb.They said would never go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jane c
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry but dont know how you can write a review without being here

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly I must say I'm usually a great fan of the P&H. I got married there in 2012, been to numerous functions and afternoon teas too. Great offers. Today my hubby booked us up for the 2 for 1 offer for their "Seasonal Afternoon tea". I usually have their "traditional" one. When we arrived, all very pleasant as usual, spotless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write and I will look into your comments

Oldbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Afternoon tea was nice. Polite friendly staff. Reasonable - but only as we had a two-for-one deal. The only thing that lets this beautifully decorated place down are the toilets - the Ladies room stinks of stale urine and the decor need updating completely - was very surprised.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you and will look into your comments

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night with my girlfriend and the rooms are excellent, clean, amazing beds and great bathroom. DO NOT ORDER THE STEAK!! In fact I would say avoid the dinner here and go elsewhere, breakfast was fine. Would I stay again? yes!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian T
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a room in the main building. The bedroom was tired, paper coming off the wall but apart from a loose tap the bathroom was nice and brand new. Very thin walls. Sadly overnight our car got broken into and there is no CCTV

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing and am sorry that your car was targeted

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been here a number of times for Sunday lunch, also stayed at the hotel, always have good experiences, Sunday lunch is well cooked, did a murder mystery evening which was fun and well organised, had afternoon tea which is really good, stayed in hotel which is nice but basic and also visited the non residents bar where you can have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rubyroored
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future

bristol
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The murder mystery was enjoyable with a very good cast. We had a suite and the standard was very good. The staff were all friendly & helpful. I have food allergies and the meal provided at the Murder Mystery event fully met my requirements.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davelake
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and I am very pleased you had a nice time

England
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night for a wedding, the wedding its self was lovely and the food was great! Our room was a long work through cold and dark corridors, if you have walking difficulties make sure your room is close to reception as ours was right at the other side! Our room was freezing and had a very strange odur...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WonderWorlddream
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Than you for writing and will look into your comments

171 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
841 reviews
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#99 of 117 in Birmingham
419 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#57 of 117 in Birmingham
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 45 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with elegant & intimate lounges, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the garden. In recent years the hotel has become a very popular wedding reception venue in the city & also offers happy couple the chance to get married & hold the reception in the same place. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: £52 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Plough and Harrow Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Plough and Harrow Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid this hotel at all costs.”
 of 5 bubbles louieville, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms aren't the best, but price reflects this”
 of 5 bubbles 152jacquelineb, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“From the two I saw none of them are good”
 of 5 bubbles N9482WOdavidw, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else, especially if a wedding is in progress. Expect rooms at front of hotel to be very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles C8271GKsarahc, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go else where”
 of 5 bubbles kelandchez, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5